WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: wpa_supplicant with static ip  (Read 198 times)

Offline halma

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
wpa_supplicant with static ip
« on: September 15, 2018, 03:10:29 PM »
hi,

i want connect my raspberry to the AccessPoint, i have configured this with wpa_supplicant.
but how can i configure/setup wpa_supplicant with to use an static IP Adress for the raspberry (wlan0) ?
1 + 2 = 6  cause  10 - 6 = 78 ;-) lol

Offline hiro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1096
Re: wpa_supplicant with static ip
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2018, 03:38:17 AM »
wpa_supplicant is not IP layer. you will want to learn to use ifconfig or iproute2 to add an ip address to your interface.

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1680
Re: wpa_supplicant with static ip
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2018, 04:13:01 AM »
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline Greg Erskine

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: wpa_supplicant with static ip
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2018, 05:07:07 AM »
hi,

i want connect my raspberry to the AccessPoint, i have configured this with wpa_supplicant.
but how can i configure/setup wpa_supplicant with to use an static IP Adress for the raspberry (wlan0) ?

IMHO the best way is to map your MAC address to an IP address in your router. This way you can manage all your static IPs in one location and backup your router configuration.

Offline halma

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
Re: wpa_supplicant with static ip
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2018, 03:12:45 PM »
thanks to all for the help.

i manage it with "ifconfig" to set an static IP for the WLAN0 device.
1 + 2 = 6  cause  10 - 6 = 78 ;-) lol