WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Python3.6 IDLE access help  (Read 2995 times)

Offline FerociousRPi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Python3.6 IDLE access help
« on: August 14, 2018, 02:04:23 PM »
Hello all,

Running TC on Raspberry Zero W. I'm trying to lunch IDLE from terminal but not having any luck. I did read something about a GUI way of accessing put can't locate info. Installed Python3.6.tcz, Python3.6-dev.tcz, Python3.6-doc.tcz. I'm trying to get IDLE to work and run into issues: "At the Python shell prompt type:

>>>import idlelib.idle"

"Your python might not be configured with Tk. **", file=sys.__stdrr__)
NameError: name 'sys' is not defined
>>>

Get similar error with:
$ python3.6 -m idlelib

I did see these two posts:
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php?topic=21575.0
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php?topic=18961.0

Can someone point me to the right direction with IDLE and how I can achieve this within MC?

Thanks in advance!

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11178
Re: Python3.6 IDLE access help
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2018, 06:26:37 PM »
Hi FerociousRPi
Did you install  tk.tcz?

Offline FerociousRPi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Python3.6 IDLE access help
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2018, 05:24:40 AM »
Hello Rich,

I did try to install as per kmhill post
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,21575.msg135035.html#msg135035

Thanks for your correction and apologies, I didn't look close enough. On the first try idle complained that tk wasn't installed, which is an easy fix with tce-load -i tk

When I type $ tce-load -i tk I get tk.tcz not found!

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11178
Re: Python3.6 IDLE access help
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2018, 05:52:04 AM »
Hi FerociousRPi
That's because you haven't downloaded it. Try:
Code: [Select]
tce-load -w -i tk

Offline FerociousRPi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Python3.6 IDLE access help
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2018, 06:06:53 AM »
Thanks Rich, will make note for future install of tk.tcz.  :)

Installed tk.tcz via the the Apps manager. I able to start idlelib.idle at the python prompt but get the following error (see attached pic) and can't proceed...

Subprocess Startup Error
IDLE's subprocess didn't make connection. Either IDLE can't start a subprocess or personal firewall software is blocking the connection".



Any ideas please?  :-\


Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11178
Re: Python3.6 IDLE access help
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2018, 07:04:46 AM »
Hi FerociousRPi
I'm not familiar with  Python,  but Googling that error message suggests a possible filename conflict, like a filename that
is also a reserved word. Or a filename in your local directory that has the same name as a Python supplied file.

Offline Nathan_SR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
    • Quick-Save-Live
Re: Python3.6 IDLE access help
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2018, 07:32:01 AM »

Also, please try :

sudo -E python3.6

and then the import as usual

If it gets resolved, probably it required the higher root privileges.
« Last Edit: August 15, 2018, 07:42:15 AM by Nathan_SR »

Offline Pats

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 322
Re: Python3.6 IDLE access help
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2018, 08:08:49 AM »
When I was using Python ,  Tcl/TK etc , most errors were due to missing or mis-matched libs versions , missing symlinks , some typo or insufficient priveleges or memory over-flows ! :)

Offline FerociousRPi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Python3.6 IDLE access help
« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2018, 11:44:55 AM »
Thanks in advance too all!  :)

@Rich
Searching online I did read a comment about uninstalled and removing the dir then reinstalling python.

@Nathan_SR
That worked! Guess I'll have to do that every time.

@Pats
Will look into that too.