WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: [REQUEST] nouveau module  (Read 3739 times)

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
[REQUEST] nouveau module
« on: July 25, 2018, 02:28:26 PM »
Hi
Maybe stable enough now?
Thank you
dCore user

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9661
Re: [REQUEST] nouveau module
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2018, 05:29:02 PM »
I am curious, are you using the nouveau module successfully with another distro, like Ubuntu?

I don't have an Nvidia card at present so I have no experience with nouveau.

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: [REQUEST] nouveau module
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2018, 05:52:46 PM »
Just booted the live usb of ubuntu 18.04.1 and I see it's using the "nouveau" module:
Code: [Select]
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
snd_hda_codec_realtek    94208  1
snd_hda_codec_generic    73728  1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
edac_mce_amd           28672  0
kvm_amd                86016  0
kvm                   593920  1 kvm_amd
snd_hda_intel          40960  3
snd_hda_codec         126976  3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_core           81920  4 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_realtek
irqbypass              16384  1 kvm
snd_hwdep              20480  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                98304  3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_core
snd_seq_midi           16384  0
snd_seq_midi_event     16384  1 snd_seq_midi
snd_rawmidi            32768  1 snd_seq_midi
k8temp                 16384  0
snd_seq                65536  2 snd_seq_midi_event,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_device         16384  3 snd_seq,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_midi
snd_timer              32768  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
input_leds             16384  0
joydev                 24576  0
snd                    81920  16 snd_hda_intel,snd_hwdep,snd_seq,snd_hda_codec,snd_timer,snd_rawmidi,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_seq_device,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_pcm
soundcore              16384  1 snd
shpchp                 36864  0
mac_hid                16384  0
sch_fq_codel           20480  2
parport_pc             36864  0
ppdev                  20480  0
lp                     20480  0
parport                49152  3 lp,parport_pc,ppdev
ip_tables              28672  0
x_tables               40960  1 ip_tables
autofs4                40960  2
overlay                77824  1
nls_utf8               16384  1
isofs                  45056  1
dm_mirror              24576  0
dm_region_hash         20480  1 dm_mirror
dm_log                 20480  2 dm_mirror,dm_region_hash
uas                    24576  0
usb_storage            69632  2 uas
hid_generic            16384  0
usbhid                 49152  0
hid                   118784  2 hid_generic,usbhid
nouveau              1716224  3
mxm_wmi                16384  1 nouveau
wmi                    24576  2 mxm_wmi,nouveau
video                  45056  1 nouveau
i2c_algo_bit           16384  1 nouveau
ttm                   106496  1 nouveau
drm_kms_helper        172032  1 nouveau
syscopyarea            16384  1 drm_kms_helper
sysfillrect            16384  1 drm_kms_helper
sysimgblt              16384  1 drm_kms_helper
fb_sys_fops            16384  1 drm_kms_helper
drm                   401408  6 nouveau,ttm,drm_kms_helper
pata_acpi              16384  0
sata_nv                32768  0
forcedeth              69632  0
i2c_nforce2            16384  0
pata_amd               20480  0
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$
infact I can extend the desktop using both monitor and tv.

PS. I Met this evening a girl from Atlanta here in Florence (Italy) and told her to look for you and say hallo from me when she'll be back  to US
dCore user

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: [REQUEST] nouveau module
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2018, 05:10:40 AM »
Hi
In tc9 x86 there is the nouveau module, but not in the 64 bit
dCore user

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: [REQUEST] nouveau module
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2018, 05:38:54 AM »
Hi
No I'm wrong in tc9 there is no nouveau module
dCore user

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9661
Re: [REQUEST] nouveau module
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2018, 08:17:34 AM »
Hi.  A few days ago I bought an Evga Geforce 210, quite an upgrade from my onboard i915.  Without nouveau it would only do 1024x768 which was my standard with the old squarish monitors but it's not ideal with the new wide ones.  I also booted the Ubuntu live desktop, and nouveau was in use and working fine.

When rebuilding the kernel for dCore-bionic64 I built the nouveau module.  I have been using it today without any issues, works nicely.  It allows my setup to have a resoultion of up to 1920x1080, and at my preferred 1440x900 glxgears reports 950 frames per second. 

The package is nouveau-4.14.10-tinycore64.  Be sure to use a new copy of dCore-bionic64.gz and vmlinuz-bionic64, as well as re-import any SCEs that contain kernel modules.  It is working well enough for me to upload it for testing purposes.


Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: [REQUEST] nouveau module
« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2018, 09:16:51 AM »
Hi Jason
Thank you very much for this.
Would have been nice if you have announced the intention of building it, it had saved half of this afternoon try to build the proprietary Nvidia.
I'll try later the module when I'll be back home
dCore user

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9661
Re: [REQUEST] nouveau module
« Reply #7 on: August 01, 2018, 10:45:25 AM »
Hi.  I was going to build it and test on my own before making a mention of it, in the case it was not going to be stable or usable enough to post it. 


Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: [REQUEST] nouveau module
« Reply #8 on: August 01, 2018, 01:16:36 PM »
Hi
tested the new module but doesn't works here:
Code: [Select]
jls@pc1:~$ version
dCore-bionic64:2018.08.01.07.23
jls@pc1:~$ sudo modprobe nouveau
modprobe: can't load module video (kernel/drivers/acpi/video.ko): unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter
jls@pc1:~$
from dmesg:
Code: [Select]
[  171.569682] video: Unknown symbol backlight_device_unregister (err 0)
[  171.569693] video: Unknown symbol backlight_force_update (err 0)
[  171.569717] video: Unknown symbol backlight_register_notifier (err 0)
[  171.569751] video: Unknown symbol backlight_device_get_by_type (err 0)
[  171.569770] video: Unknown symbol backlight_device_register (err 0)
[  171.569779] video: Unknown symbol backlight_unregister_notifier (err 0)
[  171.582436] video: Unknown symbol backlight_device_unregister (err 0)
[  171.582447] video: Unknown symbol backlight_force_update (err 0)
[  171.582473] video: Unknown symbol backlight_register_notifier (err 0)
[  171.582510] video: Unknown symbol backlight_device_get_by_type (err 0)
[  171.582531] video: Unknown symbol backlight_device_register (err 0)
[  171.582540] video: Unknown symbol backlight_unregister_notifier (err 0)


dCore user

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9661
Re: [REQUEST] nouveau module
« Reply #9 on: August 01, 2018, 01:36:55 PM »
Hi.  That is an earlier build of dCore-bionic64 than the one you reported an error with in the other thread.  Hold off testing until I can verify the latest RC.  Thanks.

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: [REQUEST] nouveau module
« Reply #10 on: August 01, 2018, 02:54:37 PM »
Hi
Code: [Select]
jls@pc1:~$ version
dCore-bionic64:2018.08.01.16.55
jls@pc1:~$ version -r
System using dCore-bionic64:2018.08.01.16.55, the latest release candidate.
still have the same errors described in the first post
dCore user

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: [REQUEST] nouveau module
« Reply #11 on: August 01, 2018, 03:13:49 PM »
Hi
In the meantime I've managed to build nvidia-340.106-4.14.10-tinycore64.sce
dCore user

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9661
Re: [REQUEST] nouveau module
« Reply #12 on: August 01, 2018, 03:15:56 PM »
All is working well here with the latest dCore-bionic64 RC:

Code: [Select]
jason@box:~$ lsmod | grep nouveau
nouveau              1134592  4
drm_kms_helper         90112  1 nouveau
ttm                    57344  1 nouveau
drm                   233472  7 nouveau,ttm,drm_kms_helper
agpgart                28672  5 intel_agp,intel_gtt,nouveau,ttm,drm
i2c_algo_bit           12288  1 nouveau
mxm_wmi                12288  1 nouveau
wmi                    16384  4 wmi_bmof,mxm_wmi,nouveau,hp_wmi
video                  32768  1 nouveau
jason@box:~$ version
dCore-bionic64:2018.08.01.16.55

jason@box:~$ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1440 x 900, maximum 8192 x 8192
DVI-I-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
VGA-1 connected 1440x900+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 477mm x 268mm
   1920x1080     60.00 +
   1680x1050     59.95 
   1600x900      60.00 
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02 
   1440x900      59.89*
   1280x800      59.81 
   1152x864      75.00 
   1280x720      60.00 
   1024x768      75.03    70.07    60.00 
   832x624       74.55 
   800x600       72.19    75.00    60.32    56.25 
   640x480       75.00    72.81    66.67    59.94 
   720x400       70.08 
jason@box:~$

Are there any existing SCEs that may contain kernel modules you are loading that have not been updated since to the kernel upgrade in dCore-bionic64?  That is the first possible issue.  Thanks. 


Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: [REQUEST] nouveau module
« Reply #13 on: August 01, 2018, 03:23:14 PM »
doing sce-update -a......

PS I'm using the kernel in the RC area, am I right?
dCore user

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9661
Re: [REQUEST] nouveau module
« Reply #14 on: August 01, 2018, 03:24:23 PM »
There may be an issue with sce-update that is seen by this.  Just re-import any SCEs that will be loaded for now.  I will look into sce-update later.