WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: No Exit - dCorePlus-Stretch  (Read 841 times)

Offline PDP-8

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
No Exit - dCorePlus-Stretch
« on: April 06, 2018, 11:30:35 PM »
Noticed that when trying exit using the fltk/flwm utilities, instead of bringing up an Exit dialog box, it just kills X and drops me to the commandline.

Of course I can do my exit options at the cli, but thought it weird that it all seems to go away.

I've got another observation for 64 bit dcoreplus-stretch64..  Maybe a generalized dCore subforum? :)

To be sure, thanks for dCore in the first place!  No shooting the messenger. :)
cat -v Considered Harmful  -- Rob Pike

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9533
Re: No Exit - dCorePlus-Stretch
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2018, 07:26:00 AM »
It is missing the gui exit app, I will add in and it will be available on the next upload session. 

Offline PDP-8

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
Re: No Exit - dCorePlus-Stretch
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2018, 02:19:33 PM »
Right on - thank you!  Again, not a showstopper....
cat -v Considered Harmful  -- Rob Pike

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9533
Re: No Exit - dCorePlus-Stretch
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2018, 07:18:40 PM »
The fltk exit app is present in all dCorePlus images.  This seems  to affect the newer x86 dCorePlus ports with flwm_topside, namely dCorePlus-stretch and dCorePlus-xenial.  The exit menu works in all dCorePlus x86 ports as expected with other window managers/desktop environments.  Not sure what is causing it, but I will look further.

Offline volkerp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: No Exit - dCorePlus-Stretch
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2018, 01:05:49 PM »
In dCore-stretch with flwm:

/usr/local/bin/exittc works as expected.

Clicking on Exit in the SystemTools submenu works as expected.

If wbar is installed: Clicking on the Exit button works as expected.

In each of these cases the exit menu appears. However, after clicking on Exit in the main menu no exit menu appears and "Exit to prompt" is executed immediately. If then the system is shut down with f.i. "sudo poweroff" and no manual backup has been made before, data loss cannot be excluded.







Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9533
Re: No Exit - dCorePlus-Stretch
« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2018, 08:37:54 AM »
It should be good now, flwm and flwm_topside have been updated.  Please re-import and test.

Offline volkerp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: No Exit - dCorePlus-Stretch
« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2018, 10:07:37 AM »
Tested. Everything is good now. Thank you very much, Jason W. :)

Offline PDP-8

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
Re: No Exit - dCorePlus-Stretch
« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2018, 10:14:08 PM »
Jason - thank you, that works fine.

Been away for awhile, good to be back.
cat -v Considered Harmful  -- Rob Pike