WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Insecure Connection  (Read 826 times)

Offline archerbob

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Insecure Connection
« on: January 19, 2018, 10:40:00 PM »
Tinycore using Firefox 56.0.2 (32 bit) has developed a problem for me when browsing the Internet, with a lot of website including google.com not being accessible as they are insecure, showing me page saying:

Your connection is not secure

The owner of www.google.com has configured their website improperly. To protect your information from being stolen, Firefox has not connected to this website.

This site uses HTTP Strict Transport Security (HSTS) to specify that Firefox may only connect to it securely. As a result, it is not possible to add an exception for this certificate.

Learn moreā€¦

Report errors like this to help Mozilla identify and block malicious sites

Offline archerbob

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Insecure Connection
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2018, 11:31:37 PM »
I tried installing opera and still cannot surf the web, this forum is the only website I can get to.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10103
Re: Insecure Connection
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2018, 11:46:21 PM »
is the ca-certificates extension loaded?

Offline archerbob

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Insecure Connection
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2018, 12:25:29 AM »
is the ca-certificates extension loaded?

How do I know?

I clicked System Tools - Apps - Apps - Cloud (Remote) - Browse and searched ca-certificates, clicked on and clicked go and it comes up in yellow as OK.  Is that what you mean?

I looked at /usr/local/etc/ca-certificates.conf and it has the following in it (is it missing information?)

# This file lists certificates that you wish to use or to ignore to be
# installed in /usr/local/etc/ssl/certs using update-ca-certificates
#
# Certificates should be installed under /usr/local/share/ca-certificates
# and files with extension '.crt' are recognized as available certs
#
# line begins with # is comment.
# line begins with ! is certificate filename to be deselected.
#
# mozilla/AddTrust_External_Root.crt

« Last Edit: January 20, 2018, 12:30:27 AM by archerbob »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10103
Re: Insecure Connection
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2018, 12:45:52 AM »
"tce-status -i | grep extension_name" will show if an extension is loaded.

Offline archerbob

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Insecure Connection
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2018, 12:54:30 AM »
Into terminal I put:

tce-status -i | grep ca-certificates

and it responds with:

ca-certificates.


I've been using dogpile search engine to look for answers and a suggestion of date and time has come up, how do I check/set my time and date?

It just occurred to me to put time or date into terminal, it tells me my system is using 2017-10-3 and it's currently Dec 4 03:40:54 UTC 2017, which is well totally wrong, how do I correct this?

I just installed ntpclient.tcz in the hope of it fixing the time/date, how do I use it to configure the time/date?
« Last Edit: January 20, 2018, 01:10:25 AM by archerbob »

Offline archerbob

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Insecure Connection
« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2018, 01:49:29 AM »
It is fixed... I found a tutorial that explained to make a file in ~/.X.d called ntpclient_startup and make it executable with the following script in the file:

#!/bin/sh
sudo ntpclient -s -c 1 -h ntp.internode.on.net


Upon reboot and checking date in terminal everything is correct, I can access all websites again.  The only error left is when I put the time command into terminal and it still gives the incorrect information, not that it matters it seems.

Thank-you Juanito for your help
« Last Edit: January 20, 2018, 01:51:52 AM by archerbob »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10103
Re: Insecure Connection
« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2018, 02:50:45 AM »
Are the date/time correct after this:
Code: [Select]
$ sudo getTime.sh