WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: 32 bit is broke  (Read 315 times)

Offline wuzamarine

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
32 bit is broke
« on: October 29, 2017, 02:33:20 AM »
I cannot install 32bit on a 64bit system.

https://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=85189&p=405180#p405180

Found a bug.

Where do I submit bur reports to?

Online Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5470
Re: 32 bit is broke
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2017, 05:17:27 AM »
Hi wuzamarine
You can submit it here. If it's deemed to be a bug this thread will be moved to the Bugs forum. State what you did, what the
results were, and why you think it's a bug.

Offline wuzamarine

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 32 bit is broke
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2017, 02:43:03 AM »
Tiny goes into a kernel panic when trying to install 32bit Tiny on to a 64bit system.
The URL posted has a complete log dump.
The way it crashes is exactly like what you get when you try to stuff a 64bit OS on to a 32bit system, but its the other way around.

Note:  I also tried to install the 32 bit image on to a VM server called Limbo, on my rooted phone. It crashed epically there, so I moved on to VirtualBox to try and get better logging and testing abilities. Got the same issue with VirtualBox as Limbo.

I get the same behavior with all 32bit versions of Tiny, include Core and CorePlus.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9607
Re: 32 bit is broke
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2017, 04:27:39 AM »
I just used a 64-bit win10 host VirtualBox-5.2.0r118431 to boot the CorePlus-8.2.iso and then used tc-install-GUI to install Core-8.2 to the vm hard drive.

Everything worked as expected.
« Last Edit: October 30, 2017, 05:28:15 AM by Juanito »

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9611
Re: 32 bit is broke
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2017, 11:08:45 AM »
Yes, likely a virtualbox bug. Another similar bug was solved by changing the template type to "linux 3.0" from "linux 2.6" or similar.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline hiro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1073
Re: 32 bit is broke
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2017, 02:43:09 PM »
you should ask the limbo developers why it doesn't work. limbo seems to be based on qemu.
vbox is known to introduce random breakages every now and then. I personally stopped using it because of that. vmware player or kvm/qemu seems more stable.

Offline andyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 485
Re: 32 bit is broke
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2017, 07:17:42 PM »
My dev VM is on VMware ESXi and is dual boot 32 and 64 bit. Both work fine.

Offline wuzamarine

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 32 bit is broke
« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2017, 12:19:00 AM »
you should ask the limbo developers why it doesn't work. limbo seems to be based on qemu.
vbox is known to introduce random breakages every now and then. I personally stopped using it because of that. vmware player or kvm/qemu seems more stable.

Its broken with both Limbo and VirtualBox.
I have been working with mainly VirtualBox because debugging on a phone is not easy.
Its just odd that they 'both broke'.

I am using Linux and not Windows.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9607
Re: 32 bit is broke
« Reply #8 on: October 31, 2017, 01:45:50 AM »
If you're using linux, wouldn't it be better to use qemu?

Offline hiro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1073
Re: 32 bit is broke
« Reply #9 on: October 31, 2017, 02:00:27 AM »
I have been working with mainly VirtualBox because debugging on a phone is not easy.
Its just odd that they 'both broke'.

I am using Linux and not Windows.
It's odd on a certain humanitarian level that so much software is broken, but everybody knows that.

Offline wuzamarine

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 32 bit is broke
« Reply #10 on: November 05, 2017, 08:44:12 AM »
If you're using linux, wouldn't it be better to use qemu?

Probably. I'm just lazy and never worked with qemu.
Sigh, I suppose its time to try.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9607
Re: 32 bit is broke
« Reply #11 on: November 05, 2017, 09:18:10 AM »