WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Where is ar  (Read 514 times)

Offline roger@languageONE.com.au

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Where is ar
« on: October 04, 2017, 06:35:09 PM »
Sorry if this has been asked before but searching on "ar" gets a whole heap of, well, just about everything

I am looking for ar (manage archives) and it is usually in binutils but cannot find it in PureCore
Is it part of any tcz ??

Thanks

Online Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5470
Re: Where is ar
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2017, 07:48:16 PM »
Hi roger@languageONE.com.au
I think  eu-ar  in  elfutils.tcz  might do what you want.

Online Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5470
Re: Where is ar
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2017, 08:02:27 PM »
Hi roger@languageONE.com.au
Another possibility might be  gcc-ar  in  gcc.tcz.

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9611
Re: Where is ar
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2017, 11:56:12 PM »
The busybox ar is included in the base?
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9607
Re: Where is ar
« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2017, 12:50:07 AM »
Code: [Select]
$ tce-load -i binutils
binutils.tcz: OK
$ which ar
/usr/local/bin/ar

Note that binutils ar cannot be a symlink so the startup scripts unpacks /usr/local/share/binutils/files/files.tar.gz, which contains ar, into the root file system.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9607
Re: Where is ar
« Reply #5 on: October 05, 2017, 12:58:50 AM »
adjusted binutils dep file, since ar requires flex

adjusted binutils list file, since ar, nm and ranlib are contained in files.tar.gz

Offline andyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 485
Re: Where is ar
« Reply #6 on: October 05, 2017, 02:47:55 AM »
I thought we fixed this already? http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,21086.0.html But I noticed that I don't have a dependency file for binutils. I run tce-update and binutils isn't updated so I don't get an updated dependency file. Shouldn't tce-update check for updated dependency files even if the tcz isn't changed? It seems not.

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1587
Re: Where is ar
« Reply #7 on: October 05, 2017, 04:06:47 AM »
Apps -> Maintenance -> Dependencies and Deletions -> Update .dep files.
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1587
Re: Where is ar
« Reply #8 on: October 05, 2017, 04:09:02 AM »
Or
Code: [Select]
tce-audit updatedeps
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline andyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 485
Re: Where is ar
« Reply #9 on: October 05, 2017, 09:04:00 AM »
Is there one right way to update everything (short of rsync), or is this a multi-step process by design?

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9611
Re: Where is ar
« Reply #10 on: October 05, 2017, 09:39:38 AM »
It's a separate step in case you made custom edits to .dep files, etc.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline andyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 485
Re: Where is ar
« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2017, 01:14:44 PM »
In that case, is there a way to blacklist certain extensions from being updated?

Offline roger@languageONE.com.au

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: Where is ar
« Reply #12 on: October 05, 2017, 02:15:27 PM »
Found that. Thank you guys. However

When I run ar I receive the message "Cannot open shared libraries..libfl.so.2"
Any clues ?

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1587
Re: Where is ar
« Reply #13 on: October 05, 2017, 02:21:26 PM »
@andyj
You could remove the  .md5.txt  file of an extensions you don't want to get updated, but that makes subsequent extensions fail to download if the extension you want to protect is a dependency of one that is to be downloaded. Because the  .tcz  is already there but cannot be verified to be OK.

I use to have a directory  /tce/optional/custom , containing my personal and costomized extensions, symlinked one directory up. If one gets "updated", I can fix it by re-symlinking it.

A real blacklist feature would be handy though.

@roger@languageONE.com.au
You need  flex.tcz . You dont have the new  .dep  file yet.
Run
Code: [Select]
tce-audit updatedeps
tce-audit fetchmissing
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline andyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 485
Re: Where is ar
« Reply #14 on: October 07, 2017, 06:11:01 AM »
This does an update in place, so good thing I saved my .dep edits before I started. This begs the question, why is there more than one way to update our extensions and why don't they behave consistently (one in place, one to an "upgrade" directory)?