WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: New install... How to launch TC desktop GUI?  (Read 1519 times)

Offline njs

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 25
New install... How to launch TC desktop GUI?
« on: September 26, 2017, 11:28:39 PM »
I just installed on Pi Zero and followed instructions in README but I don't see anywhere how to start the desktop GUI.

Appreciate it of someone would point me in the right direction...

Thanks in advance.

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1642
Re: New install... How to launch TC desktop GUI?
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2017, 02:18:05 AM »
If the  TC.tcz  extension is loaded onboot, the desktop starts automatically.
Otherwise load the extension manually and type  startx .
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline njs

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: New install... How to launch TC desktop GUI?
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2017, 05:59:47 AM »
Thanks.   So the following command?

Code: [Select]
tce-load -i TC.tcz
This returns "TC.tcz not found!" so I guess TC.tcz was not included in the  install or is not in the path.  Where would I find it?

BTW, I can't use "tce-load -wi TC.tcz" until I get wifi working (Pi Zero has no ethernet)


Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1642
Re: New install... How to launch TC desktop GUI?
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2017, 07:27:18 AM »
If you have another linux box available which is connected to the internet and is able to mount your SD card, you can download an extension and all of it's deps directly into the  /tce/optional  directory on your SD cards second partition.
Code: [Select]
cd /path/to/your/sd-card-2nd-partition/tce/optional
for i in $(wget -O - http://tinycorelinux.net/9.x/armv7/tcz/TC.tcz.tree) ; do wget http://tinycorelinux.net/9.x/armv7/tcz/$i ; wget http://tinycorelinux.net/9.x/armv7/tcz/$i.dep ; wget  http://tinycorelinux.net/9.x/armv7/tcz/$i.md5.txt ; done

Note: I don't have a RPi-Zero and I'm not sure if you need the armv6 or armv7 repo so please change the URL if needed.
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline corezoo

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: New install... How to launch TC desktop GUI?
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2017, 04:37:07 PM »
You may want to manually download and install just the WIFI tcz's and once the WIFI is working use the command line app to download the TC.tzc.
It would be less manual installing.

Offline PDP-8

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
Re: New install... How to launch TC desktop GUI?
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2018, 09:21:06 PM »
I just picked up a pi zero to complete the collection of a Pi2 and Pi3!  But...

I wanted to use the usb ethernet adapter I have.

Started from a bare image install.  Had to manually download the net-usb-4.9.22-piCore.tcz (V6 version mind you for the zero) and went through the laborious  process of adding it to /tce/optional, and adding it to the onboot.lst file from another usb drive from another machine...

So far so good, usb-ethernet is now up and I was able to tce-load -wi TC.tcz.

But no gui joy after several reboots and looking at the filesystem.  startx doesn't work.  TC.tcz not found.

Guess what - REMOVING the usb stick I used to manually copy the files (/dev/sda) and rebooting automatically launched the gui.

I thought it might have been the power supply, but a 2.5a supply has had no problems with my passive hub, keyboard, mouse, and a usb stick needed to manually copy that file.

I don't know if this is true or not (since I'm not going to try and repeat it), but it seems that the addition of a /dev/sda upon first reboot of piCore after installing TC.tcz got it confused?
cat -v Considered Harmful  -- Rob Pike

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1642
Re: New install... How to launch TC desktop GUI?
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2018, 02:17:56 AM »
Tiny Core tries to find a  /tce  directory on attached devices and uses the first one found.
So if there is one on your USB stick, but without extensions etc., it would be like booting with  base norestore  boot codes.

You might try adding the  tce=  boot code to your commandline.txt.
This prevents any searching and might even speed up the boot process.
Code: [Select]
tce=LABEL="<YOUR_DRIVE_LABEL_HERE>"
Code: [Select]
tce=LABEL="TC9-SD"
You would need to give the partition a label first. Not sure if it has one by default.

Or maybe this would work too:
Code: [Select]
tce=mmc0blk2
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)