WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: X does not start  (Read 234 times)

Offline fow0ryl

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 10
X does not start
« on: August 20, 2017, 02:14:55 AM »
Hello,

I'm looking for a linux system to run rdesktop or freerdp on a HP5735. Only a 800MHz Geode CPU, 1 GB Flash, 1 GB RAM.
I have found a video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B_nCG0r74PU and I decided to start with TinyCore.

I have downloaded the Coreplus ISO and startet the installation within virtualbox. Quite easy.

Next step was to move the iso to my tftp server and to add a entry to the grub menu startet at PXE boot. No problem so far.
When starting the HP Thin Client it starts with PXE Netboot. Selecting the Coreplus ISO from the PXE menu starts loading.
The TinyCoe Menue shows up. But regardless wich entry I choose I get only a command line.

Looking into the FAQ gives
Quote
At the first boot prompt type:
tinycore xsetup

Hm, can't find a "first boot prompt" ?!

But there is a hint to "TAB to edit"
Ok, I tried that and found this when typing TAB
Code: [Select]
/boot/vmlinuz initrd=/boot/core.gz loglevel=3 desktop=flwm_topsideI have added "xsetup" to this line, but nothing happens.

Typing "startx" at the command prompt gives just an "not found".

How to get X work?

Henning


Offline polikuo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 219
Re: X does not start
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2017, 05:35:13 AM »
CorePlus has a X sever (Xvesa) included.
Since "startx" can not be found, meaning your system did not load correctly.
Try appending the bootcode "waitusb=5" for the default entry.

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4243
Re: X does not start
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2017, 05:51:04 AM »
If you want to PXE boot core, you need to follow the instructions in the wiki.
http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/wiki:netbooting

Why not boot a USB image and install on the 5735's flash drive?

Offline fow0ryl

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: X does not start
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2017, 12:08:05 PM »
Hello,

it's a hard way to bring core up on my HP5735 ...

To clarify. My aim for now is to install core on the 1GB flashdrive, no external usb stick, no network boot, no external cd drive, no ....

PXE was just an attempt to get the installation running. But no luck yet. Every other ISO i.e. manjaro linux, gparted runs this way without any problems. Coreplus fails ...

So I decided to bring core to an usb-stick an boot from usb-stick to start installation. I downloaded core2usb and installed Coreplus on the stick. But final I get an non bootable usb-stick. :(

Ok, then I have copied the Coreplus ISO to my E2B stick. Booted the E2B environment, selected Coreplus.
First steps looks like booting via PXE, but then there is some more (yellow) output on the screen.
And wow the GUI is up and running.
Next problem was to find the location of core.gz ...
It was not automatically detected when running tc-install.

Finally I get it installed, but the grafik resolution is ugly, because the monitor want's 1980x1080 and this is not a resolution provided by the vesa list.

Henning

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4243
Re: X does not start
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2017, 12:13:22 PM »
Try Xorg instead of Xvesa.

Offline fow0ryl

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: X does not start
« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2017, 08:42:17 AM »
Hello,

today I tried to get xorg working. But no real luck.

Since the grafic card is a intel mobile series 4 GMA4500MHD (GL40) i have installed some packages. Don't know if all neccessary, or something is still missing.
Code: [Select]
Xorg-7.7
xf86-video-intel
firmware_i915
lxrandr


With xorg installed the german keyboard is gone within X,
And resolution is <= 1024x768 and much less then with vesa.

With xrandr I can switch to 1920x1080 resolution, but the desktop is cluttered.

Xorg -configure doesn't work. Display count mismatch ...
Do I really have to create a xorg.conf by hand from scratch?
Somewhere I have found that the new way is to create a /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-monitor.conf
But what's the TC way?

Henning

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9452
Re: X does not start
« Reply #6 on: September 17, 2017, 08:59:09 AM »
Did you look at /var/log/Xorg.0.log to see which driver X is trying to use?

For example:
Code: [Select]
[    50.604] (==) Matched intel as autoconfigured driver 0
[    50.604] (==) Matched modesetting as autoconfigured driver 1
[    50.604] (==) Matched fbdev as autoconfigured driver 2
[    50.604] (==) Matched vesa as autoconfigured driver 3
[    50.604] (==) Assigned the driver to the xf86ConfigLayout
[    50.604] (II) LoadModule: "intel"
[    50.604] (WW) Warning, couldn't open module intel

[this is because xf86-video-intel is not present]

[    50.604] (II) LoadModule: "modesetting"
[    50.604] (II) Loading /usr/local/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/modesetting_drv.so
[    50.605] (II) Module modesetting: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[    50.605] compiled for 1.19.3, module version = 1.19.3
[    50.605] Module class: X.Org Video Driver
[    50.605] ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 23.0

..and then see which display and resolution X is trying to use:
Code: [Select]
[    50.643] (II) VESA(0): Digital Display Input
[    50.643] (II) VESA(0): 6 bits per channel
[    50.643] (II) VESA(0): Digital interface is DisplayPort
...
[    50.647] (**) VESA(0): *Built-in mode "1366x768"

You can place config snippets, if required, in /usr/local/share/X11/xorg.conf.d
« Last Edit: September 17, 2017, 09:00:47 AM by Juanito »

Offline fow0ryl

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: X does not start
« Reply #7 on: September 17, 2017, 01:48:00 PM »
didn't see anything helpful ..

There is a VGA Port and a Display Port. Since I have no DP cable I use vga. So the used device is VGA1 
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ xrandr -q
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1024 x 768, maximum 32767 x 32767
LVDS1 connected primary 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768      60.00*+
   800x600       60.32    56.25 
   640x480       59.94 
   512x384       60.00 
DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
VGA1 connected 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768      60.00*
   800x600       60.32    56.25 
   848x480       60.00 
   640x480       59.94 
VIRTUAL1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

the log is to big, to paste it here, but the intel driver is loaded an working
and there is no probing for resolitions. default 1024x768 is used.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9452
Re: X does not start
« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2017, 11:25:18 PM »
You could try not loading the xf86-video-intel extension, which would presumeably force X to use the modesetting driver and see what happens.

Otherwise, you may need to use a config snippet to get the resolution you need.