WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: BCM43228 Not showing up.  (Read 1105 times)

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2532
Re: BCM43228 Not showing up.
« Reply #15 on: June 16, 2017, 01:14:00 PM »
Quote
If it fails is there a way to see why it failed?
Since all output of wifi.sh -a  was redirected to " /tmp/wifi.log " then I'd start by looking there
Code: [Select]
/usr/local/bin/wifi.sh -a 2>&1 > /tmp/wifi.logthe " > " redirects output and overwrites any previous output to wherever specified, otherwise output goes to the terminal

You should always check dmesg for hint's
At the command line enter
Code: [Select]
dmesg

Offline patrikg

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
Re: BCM43228 Not showing up.
« Reply #16 on: June 16, 2017, 01:18:16 PM »
And why not just add > that will append to the file.

Code: (bash) [Select]
/usr/local/bin/wifi.sh -a 2>&1 >> /tmp/wifi.log

Offline evertvaningen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: BCM43228 Not showing up.
« Reply #17 on: June 16, 2017, 01:33:01 PM »
Quote
If it fails is there a way to see why it failed?
Since all output of wifi.sh -a  was redirected to " /tmp/wifi.log " then I'd start by looking there
Code: [Select]
/usr/local/bin/wifi.sh -a 2>&1 > /tmp/wifi.logthe " > " redirects output and overwrites any previous output to wherever specified, otherwise output goes to the terminal

You should always check dmesg for hint's
At the command line enter
Code: [Select]
dmesg

Wifi.log
Found wifi device eth1
Standby for scan of available network...
Set to try a few times to obtain a lease.
Attempting auto connection with Chateau
.....

As for dmesg, I dont know what I'm looking for.

wl: loading out-of-tree module taints kernel.
wl: module license 'Mixed/Proprietary' taints kernel.
Disabling lock debugging due to kernel taint
eth1: Broadcom BCM4359 802.11 Hybrid Wireless Controller 6.30.223.271 (r587334)
longhaul: Option "enable" not set - Aborting


Hmm.. interesting

WARNING: CPU: 1 PID: 6 at net/wireless/sme.c:738 0xf8b80c91
Modules linked in: cpufreq_userspace cpufreq_conservative cpufreq_powersave wl(PO) ns558 gameport snd_hda_codec_via snd_hda_codec_generic snd_hda_intel snd_hda_codec snd_hda_core snd_hwdep snd_pcm snd_timer snd soundcore cfg80211 ppdev parport_pc parport ac fjes squashfs loop broadcom bcm_phy_lib tg3 pcspkr acpi_cpufreq ptp pps_core serio_raw
CPU: 1 PID: 6 Comm: kworker/u4:0 Tainted: P           O    4.8.17-tinycore #2017
Hardware name: Hewlett-Packard HP t510 Thin Client/158Ch, BIOS 786R11 v1.03 04/18/2012
Workqueue: cfg80211 0xf8b67028
 00000097 c02ef4e6 00000000 00000000 c013e345 00000009 000002e2 f3ef4800
 00000000 f5c79ecc f561de0c c013e3c4 00000009 00000000 00000000 f8b80c91
 f5570000 014a0cc0 f561de2c 9ff20001 42d438c2 00000000 00000000 f561de00
Call Trace:
 [<c02ef4e6>] ? 0xc02ef4e6
 [<c013e345>] ? 0xc013e345
 [<c013e3c4>] ? 0xc013e3c4
 [<f8b80c91>] ? 0xf8b80c91
 [<f8b6a66f>] ? 0xf8b6a66f
 [<f8b6a751>] ? 0xf8b6a751
 [<f8b6703b>] ? 0xf8b6703b
 [<c014d1eb>] ? 0xc014d1eb
 [<c014d690>] ? 0xc014d690
 [<c014d4f1>] ? 0xc014d4f1
 [<c01505b9>] ? 0xc01505b9
 [<c058e3ae>] ? 0xc058e3ae
 [<c015053d>] ? 0xc015053d
---[ end trace 8075d8f84ecca1ea ]---
« Last Edit: June 16, 2017, 01:46:43 PM by evertvaningen »

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2532
Re: BCM43228 Not showing up.
« Reply #18 on: June 16, 2017, 02:14:20 PM »
And why not just add > that will append to the file.

Code: (bash) [Select]
/usr/local/bin/wifi.sh -a 2>&1 >> /tmp/wifi.log
Hi Patrick,
I think the intent was to write once, since the error would be the same each event and only repeat itself..

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2532
Re: BCM43228 Not showing up.
« Reply #19 on: June 16, 2017, 02:40:38 PM »
Quote
As for dmesg, I dont know what I'm looking for.
You can scroll to the end of the screen for the connection errors

Ok try to get the last 10 or 20 lines (or 50 lines if needed)
Code: [Select]
dmesg | tail -10
Also use Misalf's suggestion to change eth0 to wlan0

Also check to see if any conflicting modules are loaded accidentally:
Code: [Select]
lsmod | grep "brcmsmac\|ssb\|wl\|b43\|bcma"
Also post the output of
Code: [Select]
lspci -vnn -d 14e4:
Then post the outputs so we can help.

Please enclose the output in code tags to make it easier to read thanks
select the text and click the insert code button above.


FYI  http://linuxwireless.org/en/users/Drivers/b43/

« Last Edit: June 16, 2017, 03:06:29 PM by coreplayer2 »

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2532
Re: BCM43228 Not showing up.
« Reply #20 on: June 16, 2017, 03:17:15 PM »
the wl drivers appear to be the latest, but you can always try the b43 (if it supports your card) and latest firmware to see if that makes a difference..

Offline patrikg

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
Re: BCM43228 Not showing up.
« Reply #21 on: June 16, 2017, 10:43:42 PM »
OK, my bad. Sorry for confusing.

Offline evertvaningen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: BCM43228 Not showing up.
« Reply #22 on: June 17, 2017, 05:41:30 AM »
tc@box:~$ dmesg | tail -20
snd_hda_codec_via hdaudioC0D0:      Mic=0x1a
wl: loading out-of-tree module taints kernel.
wl: module license 'Mixed/Proprietary' taints kernel.
Disabling lock debugging due to kernel taint
eth1: Broadcom BCM4359 802.11 Hybrid Wireless Controller 6.30.223.271 (r587334)
floppy0: no floppy controllers found
work still pending
usb 4-2: new low-speed USB device number 2 using uhci_hcd
input: Logitech USB Optical Mouse as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:10.2/usb4/4-2/4-2:1.0/0003:046D:C077.0001/input/input7
hid-generic 0003:046D:C077.0001: input,hidraw0: USB HID v1.11 Mouse [Logitech USB Optical Mouse] on usb-0000:00:10.2-2/input0
longhaul: Option "enable" not set - Aborting
floppy0: no floppy controllers found
tg3 0000:05:00.0 eth0: Link is down
floppy0: no floppy controllers found
work still pending
usb 4-1: new low-speed USB device number 3 using uhci_hcd
input: Trust Keyboard as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:10.2/usb4/4-1/4-1:1.0/0003:145F:0176.0002/input/input8
hid-generic 0003:145F:0176.0002: input,hidraw1: USB HID v1.11 Keyboard [Trust Keyboard] on usb-0000:00:10.2-1/input0
input: Trust Keyboard as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:10.2/usb4/4-1/4-1:1.1/0003:145F:0176.0003/input/input9
hid-generic 0003:145F:0176.0003: input,hidraw2: USB HID v1.11 Device [Trust Keyboard] on usb-0000:00:10.2-1/input1

tc@box:~$ lsmod | grep "brcmsmac\|ssb\|wl\|b43\|bcma"
wl                   6025216  0
cfg80211              139264  1 wl

tc@box:~$ lspci -vnn -d 14e4:
02:00.0 Class [0280]: Device [14e4:4359]
   Subsystem: Device [103c:182c]
   Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 34
   Memory at fdffc000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
   Capabilities: <access denied>
   Kernel driver in use: wl

05:00.0 Class [0200]: Device [14e4:1692] (rev 01)
   Subsystem: Device [14e4:9692]
   Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 35
   Memory at febf0000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
   Capabilities: <access denied>
   Kernel driver in use: tg3

Quote
/opt/bootlocal.sh

# Rename wifi eth* to wlan*.
IFNUM=0
for i in /sys/class/net/eth* ; do
   if [ -d $i/wireless ]; then
      [ -e /sys/class/net/wlan${IFNUM} ] && IFNUM=$((IFNUM+1))
      nameif wlan${IFNUM} $(cat $i/address)
      IFNUM=$((IFNUM+1))
   fi
done
wifi.sh -a &

I'll try that later. I guess eth* = eth1 and wlan* = wlan0
« Last Edit: June 17, 2017, 05:44:35 AM by evertvaningen »

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1587
Re: BCM43228 Not showing up.
« Reply #23 on: June 17, 2017, 06:15:39 AM »
I guess eth* = eth1 and wlan* = wlan0
In your case, yes.
The asterisk is a placeholder for any character, so all ethernet devices from 0 to 9 will be checked if they are actually wifi devices and renamed accordingly to wlanX, where X is the next free number (well, kind of. There could be another loop added to make the numbering more reliable but that shouldn't matter for you now).
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1587
Re: BCM43228 Not showing up.
« Reply #24 on: June 17, 2017, 06:28:05 AM »
BTW, you may want to use code tags when you post the output of commands to make it easier to read
[ code ]blah blah[ /code ]
(without the spaces inside the brackets).
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)