WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: gpm under VTs half-dead?  (Read 450 times)

Offline labeas

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
gpm under VTs half-dead?
« on: June 02, 2017, 03:28:38 AM »
I usually have a dozen or more VTs; many running mc.
For the VTs, I installed gpm; which does Copy/Paste ok, but fails to
<move the cursor> as it's suposed to do and does under <X/Fbuf>.
So, eg. in <X/Fbuf> if you've got 3 x mc in a desktop: the mouse can
move the focus between the 3 and between the 2-panlels of each and
also to the single entry in any of the 6 panels. Which is much better
than having to step-via-the-keybrd?

Related: mc & gpm have been closely associated since the old-days,
for powerfull file-management without X11.
There used to be <root-gpm> which provided a popup-menu, which would
help navigating the several VT's, which are difficult/impossible to
ID, since they have no labels. So if you're doing a job [like tracing
where/how TC's restore/backup works], which entails 3 non-consecutive
VTs: A,B,C; stepping between the 3-VTs is a problem.

PS. I've only now, for the 1st time looked at /etc/inittab
which explains why only 1 VT is enabled.

What I've been doing is:
   sudo su
   openvt <-repeatedly: for each extra VT
But that makes the chain of VT's to <grow in the opposite direction>;
so that left-arrow steps to the next VT; and F3 is the currently last
VT, and F2 steps to <X/Fbuf>.

Who knows about <gpm-root> and why gpm under VT doesn't <focus via the
moved cursor>?

== TIA

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9282
Re: gpm under VTs half-dead?
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2017, 05:07:57 AM »
which version of corepure64 are you using - 8.x?

Are you using the corepure64 gpm extension or gpm from somewhere else?

The gpm extension contains gpm-root

Have you started the gpm init.d script?

Offline labeas

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
Re: gpm under VTs half-dead?
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2017, 01:21:09 AM »
]   which version of corepure64 are you using - 8.x?
I only tasted V8; reluctant to change from a working system: V7.

]   Are you using the corepure64 gpm extension or gpm from somewhere else?
gpm.tcz            126976

]   The gpm extension contains gpm-root
tc@box:~$ which gpm-root
/usr/local/bin/gpm-root  !!! Wooooooooooooo!!
I was certain that I'd tested that repeatedly.
There are too many balls-up-in-the-air !!

]   Have you started the gpm init.d script?
Never directly.
mc shows that my /etc/init.d DirTree has no "gpm" string.

THANKS; I must now, rush off to test gpm-root!
-----------
According to the <man>, the Menu is to be in /etc/gpm-root.conf
but I noticed:
 gpm-root[26835]: *** err
 gpm-root[26835]: stat (/usr/local/etc/gpm-root.conf) failed
which suggested that gpm-root was looking for
  /usr/local/etc/gpm-root.conf


So I copied an old proven menu there, but this is typical of problems
 which I've only had with TC:
root@box:/home/tc# ls -l /usr/local/etc/gpm-root.conf
ls: /usr/local/etc/gpm-root.conf: No such file or directory
root@box:/home/tc# ls -l /usr/local/etc/gpm*
total 8
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root          1756 Nov 25  2016 gpm-root.conf
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root           227 Feb 13 12:41 gpm.conf
===========> let me run: /usr/local/etc/gpm.conf
I notice that my <Slakware: /etc/gpm.conf> is not executable; which is
expected, since it's not a shell script. But apparently interpreted by
gpm-root.
--------
root@box:/home/tc# ls /etc/init.d
busybox-aliases  rc.shutdown      services         tc-config        tc-restore.sh
dhcp.sh          rcS              settime.sh       tc-functions     tc_noscan.lst
-----
Of course a lot has happened/been-changed since this session booted.
It's very expensive to reboot to investigate just one of the many problems.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9282
Re: gpm under VTs half-dead?
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2017, 01:28:52 AM »
]   Have you started the gpm init.d script?
Never directly.
mc shows that my /etc/init.d DirTree has no "gpm" string.
If you checked gpm.tcz.list, you'd see it was in /usr/local/etc/init.d

Offline labeas

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
Re: gpm under VTs half-dead?
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2017, 04:58:38 PM »
> which version of corepure64 are you using - 8.x?
---
After spending 6 hours on my 2nd attempt to "upgrade" to Versn8
using the already fetched files, and combining the effort with
installing my selection of *.tcz via the recommended method,
I've confirmed that my WiFi doesn't work under my Ver 8.

A major reason for using TC is the WiFi capability.

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2453
Re: gpm under VTs half-dead?
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2017, 08:08:16 PM »
I've confirmed that my WiFi doesn't work under my Ver 8.

A major reason for using TC is the WiFi capability.
If wifi works with TC-7.x then I can't imagine wifi not working in TC-8.x, since tc-8.x adds greater wifi compatibility.

Unless we've been through this before..

Which wifi card/usb is it?
lspci from pci-utils.tcz or lsusb from usbutils.tcz to find out

Which module and firmware does the wifi adapter use in tc-7.x ?

What error messages regarding your adapter did you find in " dmesg " ?



Offline labeas

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
Re: gpm under VTs half-dead?
« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2017, 07:19:46 PM »
I can't afford to repeat that whole exercise right now.
Entropy has beat me.

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2453
Re: gpm under VTs half-dead?
« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2017, 07:34:00 PM »
Then you could at least answer these two questions from your current installation so we can look into the issue.

Quote
Which wifi card/usb is it?
lspci from pci-utils.tcz or lsusb from usbutils.tcz to find out

Which module and firmware does the wifi adapter use in tc-7.x

Offline labeas

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
Re: gpm under VTs half-dead?
« Reply #8 on: June 21, 2017, 01:28:10 AM »
Extracts from own installation-script
[can't get proper info HOW2 install apps from USBstik]:-----

echo "INSTALL firmware before drivers"
tce-load -i /mnt/sdb1/tce/optional/firmware-rtlwifi.tcz
echo "Now load WiFi extentions ? See ICON"
tce-load -i /mnt/sdb1/tce/optional/wireless-4.2.9-tinycore64.tcz
tce-load -i /mnt/sdb1/tce/optional/wifi.tcz

echo "Now load WiFi EXTRA extentions"
read -p "Paswrd: Mark11@05  Ready ?"
tce-load -i /mnt/sdb1/tce/optional/libiw.tcz
tce-load -i /mnt/sdb1/tce/optional/wpa_supplicant.tcz
tce-load -i /mnt/sdb1/tce/optional/openssl.tcz
tce-load -i /mnt/sdb1/tce/optional/libnl.tcz
tce-load -i /mnt/sdb1/tce/optional/wireless_tools.tcz
============== some old logs:---
Manufacturer:   Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
Description:    Realtek RTL8723BE Wireless LAN 802.11n PCI-E NIC
Driver version: 2023.10.415.2015
Physical address:       ?AC-E0-10-DF-8D-91
-> lspci ==
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Device 2280 (rev 21)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Device 22b1 (rev 21)
00:0b.0 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Device 22dc (rev 21)
00:13.0 SATA controller: Intel Corporation Device 22a3 (rev 21)
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation Device 22b5 (rev 21)
00:1a.0 Encryption controller: Intel Corporation Device 2298 (rev 21)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Device 2284 (rev 21)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Device 22c8 (rev 21)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Device 22ca (rev 21)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Device 229c (rev 21)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation Device 2292 (rev 21)
01:00.0 Unassigned class [ff00]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. Device 5287 (rev 01)
01:00.1 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 12)
02:00.0 Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. Device b723
--------------------
kernel version for Proven\running WiFiSystem:---
8022773 Oct 26  2016 corepure64.gz
3807184 Oct 26  2016 vmlinuz64
------------------------------------
-> lspci == /bin/sh: lspci: not found <- under present TC64

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9282
Re: gpm under VTs half-dead?
« Reply #9 on: June 21, 2017, 01:47:08 AM »
Load the pciutils extension

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2453
Re: gpm under VTs half-dead?
« Reply #10 on: June 21, 2017, 04:13:23 AM »
labeas,  your "Realtek RTL8723BE Wireless LAN 802.11n PCI-E NIC" WiFi adapter requires

firmware-rtlwifi.tcz
rtlwifi-4.8.17-tinycore64.tcz 
wifi.tcz


NOTE:  rtlwifi-4.8.17-tinycore64 extension is not yet available in the corepure64 repo but has been submitted and will be available within the next 2 to 3 weeks.   rtlwifi-4.8.17-tinycore64.tcz includes updated modules and replaces wireless-4.8.17-tinycore64.tcz.

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2453
Re: gpm under VTs half-dead?
« Reply #11 on: June 21, 2017, 06:31:23 AM »
Quote
[can't get proper info HOW2 install apps from USBstik]:-----
...is all explained in the corebook and
http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/wiki:persistence_for_dummies

Assuming you want to use the tce directory already established on sdb1 (/mnt/sdb1/tce) then you have to assign this directory as your tce extension store by a boot code entry in your boot config file.  From the next boot TC will find and use this directory as it's dedicated extension store.

It's essential to use "Label" or "UUID" with USB thumb drives.
Install and load util-linux.tcz 
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ blkid -s UUID /dev/sdb1
Example:
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ blkid -s UUID /dev/sdb1
/dev/sdb1: UUID="196fcfb2-bd37-495d-b855-41f08201be7d"

open your boot config file and append the command line with your USB uuid (note: I'm guessing the path..)
Code: [Select]
sudo editor /mnt/sdb1/boot/extlinux/extlinux.conf
Add these bootcodes: "waitusb" and "tce" (replacing the uuid's with the uuid of your usb device "blkid -s /dev/sdb1")
waitusb=5:UUID="196fcfb2-bd37-495d-b855-41f08201be7d" tce=UUID="196fcfb2-bd37-495d-b855-41f08201be7d"


Example extlinux.conf file using "UUID" USB identifier:
Code: [Select]
LABEL Corepure64
MENU LABEL Corepure64
TEXT HELP
Boot Corepure64
onbootpure64.lst
ENDTEXT
KERNEL /tce/boot/vmlinuz64
APPEND initrd=/tce/boot/rootfs64.gz,/tce/boot/modules64.gz loglevel=3 waitusb=5:UUID="196fcfb2-bd37-495d-b855-41f08201be7d" tce=UUID="196fcfb2-bd37-495d-b855-41f08201be7d"/tce

Example extlinux.conf file using "LABEL" USB identifier:
Code: [Select]
LABEL Corepure64
MENU LABEL Corepure64
TEXT HELP
Boot Corepure64
onbootpure64.lst
ENDTEXT
KERNEL /tce/boot/vmlinuz64
APPEND initrd=/boot/rootfs64.gz,/boot/modules64.gz loglevel=3 waitusb=5:LABEL="USB16G" noswap tce=LABEL="USB16G"/corepure64/tce opt=LABEL="USB16G" home=LABEL="USB16G"

Example grub.cfg file using "UUID" USB identifier:
Code: [Select]
menuentry "*** TC-8-Corepure64 (on Samsung SSD)" {
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 196fcfb2-bd37-495d-b855-41f08201be7d
linux /linux/vmlinuz64-4817 noswap tz=GMT loglevel=3 waitusb=5:UUID="196fcfb2-bd37-495d-b855-41f08201be7d" tce=UUID="196fcfb2-bd37-495d-b855-41f08201be7d"/tc8-x86_64 opt=UUID="196fcfb2-bd37-495d-b855-41f08201be7d" home=UUID="196fcfb2-bd37-495d-b855-41f08201be7d" lst=onboot_CorePure64.lst mydata=mydataCorePure64
initrd /linux/rootfs64-8.0.gz /linux/modules64-4817.gz

Remember these are just examples so YMMV, also the tce directory doesn't need to be specified (eg: tce=UUID="196fcfb2-bd37-495d-b855-41f08201be7d" ) as TC will search for the tce directory on the specified device (waitusb=5:UUID="196fcfb2-bd37-495d-b855-41f08201be7d") but since you may have more than one tce dir, I'd specify the correct /mnt/sdb1/tce directory  (eg: tce=UUID="196fcfb2-bd37-495d-b855-41f08201be7d"/tce )

good luck
« Last Edit: June 21, 2017, 06:54:35 AM by coreplayer2 »

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2453
Re: gpm under VTs half-dead?
« Reply #12 on: June 25, 2017, 02:53:17 PM »
labeas,  "Realtek RTL8723BE Wireless LAN 802.11n PCI-E NIC" WiFi adapter requires rtlwifi-4.8.17-tinycore64.tcz which should be available today in  TC-8.x x86_64 repo


firmware-rtlwifi.tcz
rtlwifi-4.8.17-tinycore64.tcz
wifi.tcz

loaded in that order should work with your adapter.



NOTE:  rtlwifi-4.8.17-tinycore64.tcz includes updated/fixed modules normally found within wireless-4.8.17-tinycore64.tcz.  So, in future please ensure wireless-4.8.17-tinycore64.tcz is not loaded.   Typically this is accomplished by first downloading OnBoot, then loading/installing rtlwifi-4.8.17-tinycore64.tcz which removes wireless-4.8.17-tinycore64.tcz from wireless_tools.tcz.dep file.  On next reboot tc will load rtlwifi-4.8.17-tinycore64.tcz

« Last Edit: June 25, 2017, 02:57:15 PM by coreplayer2 »