WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: JOE text editor  (Read 333 times)

Offline PDP-8

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
JOE text editor
« on: March 31, 2017, 01:26:19 AM »
Any chance of adding Joe's Own Editor?

I still have muscle-memory using the wordstar keybinding which messes up my vi stuff pretty often. :)

http://joe-editor.sourceforge.net/

Which leads me to the next one ...

Offline andyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 405
Re: JOE text editor
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2017, 04:20:49 AM »

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5275
Re: JOE text editor
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2017, 05:15:12 AM »
Hi PDP-8
When making an extension request you should include the architecture you are running on (X86, 86_64, ARM).

Offline Lee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 636
    • My Core wiki user page
Re: JOE text editor
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2017, 06:45:58 AM »
@ andyj:  nice.

@ PDP-8 & Rich: for instance there's a joe.tcz in the 4.x/x86 extension repo, though I guess 4.x may seem a little "retro" nowadays, too.    :)

For amusement purposes only, I just ran jstar (joe, in WordStar mode) on Cygwin on 64 bit M$ Win7.  Somehow, the WordStar experience just isn't the same without an ADM-3A.

32 bit core4.7.7, Xprogs, Xorg-7.6, wbar, jwm  |  - Testing -
PPR, data persistence through filetool.sh          |  32 bit core 8.0 alpha 1
USB Flash drive, one partition, ext2, grub4dos  | Otherwise similar

Offline PDP-8

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: JOE text editor
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2017, 01:15:48 PM »
Ah thanks guys - I've been using picore so much that I forgot to check the TC repo.

But, yes I'd love to see the joe editor for PiCore.

Main reason:  *columnar* editing features.

I knew friends/coworkers who bought spreadsheets solely for this function.  Back in the day it was 123.  Years later I still see people buying office-suites just to use excel to modify columnar data.  Talk about bloat. :)

The right way I suppose was to cobble up some awk scripts, but only us greybeards were into that.

But, the ability to do columnar editing *in situ* has proven invaluable to me at times.  Hence my need for dosbox just to run the VDE editor.

Back then, the editors with the ability to be put into columnar editing modes was a very simple means for me to create and maintain ascii-based user newsletters and such with columnar data features.

If you are a cli-guy, once you see columnar editing - well - mind BLOWN. :)

Offline andyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 405
Re: JOE text editor
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2017, 01:52:01 PM »
Kwrite and Kate have a block mode. But blocks and multi-column for newspaper (there's a few left) layout are not the same thing, so I'm still a little unsure what you're really after. Personally I prefered WordPerfect 5 over Wordstar, Edit/1000 (on the HP-1000) and whatever that editor on VMS was called. At least they didn't make the engineering students use punch cards like they did the business majors. We got to use DecWriters.  8)

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5275
Re: JOE text editor
« Reply #6 on: March 31, 2017, 08:35:47 PM »
Hi Lee
Somehow, the WordStar experience just isn't the same without an ADM-3A.
Yeah, I finally got rid of my ADM-3A about 6 years ago. Built like a tank and bulletproof in use. Hated to toss it but I couldn't
justify keeping it around anymore.

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2379
Re: JOE text editor
« Reply #7 on: March 31, 2017, 10:17:57 PM »

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4207
Re: JOE text editor
« Reply #8 on: April 01, 2017, 09:09:01 AM »
When I worked at the "Altair Computer Center" I built a couple ADM-3A from kits.  Big PC board, lots of ICs to solder.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9161
Re: JOE text editor
« Reply #9 on: April 05, 2017, 05:33:25 AM »
posted to tc-8.x x86 repo