WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: TCZ Repo Broken  (Read 594 times)

Offline TomyTurbos

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
TCZ Repo Broken
« on: March 15, 2017, 01:44:58 PM »
I'm sorry to be terse but this is very aggravating and also likely to chase away new users.  Ergo, it should be fixed on a 'do-not-pass-Go, do-not collect-$200' basis.

The main website links to a subdomain 'packages' which simply says 'coming soon'.  The embedded address points to somewhere else.  And neither of them work.

I wound up downloading the whole shebang via FTP from ibiblio because, well... There weren't many other options for an old fart like me.

I really love the concept behind this project and want to make use of what it offers but the inability to fulfill one of its most essential elements (load extensions via the cloud) is almost unbearable, even to former users of {Operating-System-From Redmond-WA-Redacted [coughW3.1cough]}.

For the sake of humankind, please fix this.

TIA

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4225
Re: TCZ Repo Broken
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2017, 01:59:57 PM »
The repo is not broken.
Use "apps" or "tce" to browse and install apps.

Offline TomyTurbos

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: TCZ Repo Broken
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2017, 02:29:15 PM »
Appbrowser in 7.2 points to a location that does not exist/does not answer.

I'm not a space-age Whiz Kid but I know when doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results won't.

The default address is embedded somewhere in the CPIO files (opt/ I think).  It is an unnecessary hassle to correct this time and again just to get a connection to work (which is the case here).  I'm not asking anyone to stupid TC down to the level of mainstream OS's; I am pointing out a built-in mistake which is frustrating at best.

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4225
Re: TCZ Repo Broken
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2017, 02:37:05 PM »
Apps uses the file /opt/tcemirror to record the mirror you have selected.
If you installed the mirrors extension, you can select a new mirror in apps.
If not, edit tcemirror and set it to http://repo.tinycorelinux.net/ and install the mirrors extension.
If you are not doing a backup, you are not saving your mirror selection.

Another way to reset your tcemirror is to delete the "firstrun" file in your tce directory.
« Last Edit: March 15, 2017, 03:02:48 PM by gerald_clark »

Offline TomyTurbos

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: TCZ Repo Broken
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2017, 03:04:10 PM »
Gerald, thank you for the quick responses.

I think perhaps you are missing the point though.  The default location to download extensions does not exist.  This is embedded in the CPIO.

I can see no manner in which telling a new user that the location must be edited (on every re-boot) can be considered as 'friendly', because it ISN'T.  It would be better to just take that part out and let them enter it manually.

At least, this is true when the person is trying to figure out what is needed to get TC to work when they don't have a wired connection and have a Broadcom chipset in their NetBook...

It may sound like I am whining but in reality I am telling everyone a) that there is a problem (the links don't work!) and b) asking that someone with a greater understanding than my own fix it, while c) describing the problem, its nature and its solution.

Much as I hate to say it, from what I can tell, Roberts is the one who made the error.  This is either due to typography or that the location simply does not exist on a server anywhere.

I am only the messenger here, so please don't shoot me.

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4225
Re: TCZ Repo Broken
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2017, 03:25:11 PM »
What version are you trying to run?  The current version ( 7.2 ) has no repo problem.
Please read the book: http://tinycorelinux.net/book.html.
It is NOT necessary to fix the repo definition on every boot.
If you don't have an RJ45 network connection and only have wireless, use the coreplus iso.
If your WiFi is not supported by coreplus, you will have to identify your WiFi hardware for further help.
Core is a toolkit, not a ready to run repo.
If you want to just boot and use, another distro would be a better choice.

Offline TomyTurbos

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: TCZ Repo Broken
« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2017, 04:16:38 PM »
OK.

I am trying to get this to run on a Dell Mini 1010.
I am using TC 7.2
I have all three versions (but have not yet tried 'core' because the GUI versions are supposed to be easier...)
I have the fixes for Broadcom on this machine made already and can ping Public DNS (8.8.8.8) as well as my local Router without issue.
This is where it goes sideways.

'Apps' wants to talk to "repo.tinycorelinux.net", which DOES NOT EXIST.
This address is coded into the File System.  It is located in opt.

The problem is not what I am doing. 
The problem is built into the current release. 
The problem needs to be fixed.

TIA

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4225
Re: TCZ Repo Broken
« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2017, 04:35:25 PM »
repo.tinycorelinux.net DOES exist.
You probably are not using a working DNS server.
Check that /etc/resolv.conf contains a working DNS server like the line
nameserver 8.8.8.8

It appears to be non-responsive now, so delete the firstrun file and get a new repo.
When you run backup, it will be saved.

----- update -----
I just tried the http://repo.tinycorelinux.net/ repo, and it is working now.
« Last Edit: March 15, 2017, 04:48:54 PM by gerald_clark »

Offline TomyTurbos

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: TCZ Repo Broken
« Reply #8 on: March 15, 2017, 05:24:04 PM »
'repo' exists but is of no use to the App Browser since it redirects to the Home Page.aaaaaaaaaaaaaa
{does not perform as advertised}

I hope you know I am not trying to be a PITA.  If this worked as described you would never have heard from me.

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4225
Re: TCZ Repo Broken
« Reply #9 on: March 15, 2017, 06:05:05 PM »
The entry in tcemirror is just the base of the repo. Other subdirectories are added based on version and machine hardware.
I just tested it, and the repo works with the app browser.
If it does not work for you, it is a network configuration error, or a temporary mirror access problem, not a software problem.
It appears that the mirror is having intermittent problems today, so just pick a different one.

Offline wksilva

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: TCZ Repo Broken BAD tcl8.6.tcz
« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2017, 11:26:41 AM »
The package tcl8.6.tcz  (x86_64) is broken:

Fazendo download dos TCZs de http://tinycorelinux.net/8.x/x86_64/tcz
#################### 100.0% 0.0 kBps DONE   

Read tcl8.6.tcz. Target 100.0% complete.     
verifying download...checksum matches OK
used 2342912 local, fetched 0

tcl8.6.tcz: FAILED
md5sum: WARNING: 1 computed checksum did NOT match

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2436
Re: TCZ Repo Broken
« Reply #11 on: May 10, 2017, 02:36:09 PM »
Maybe it's just an intermittent issue with the tc7. x86_64 repo??  However..

However, the issue with tc8.6.tcz located within the TC-7 repo appears to be that md5sum does not match the current tcl8.6 extension.
If the extension was copied over to TC8 x86_64 repo then maybe thats a clue..?

Code: [Select]
md5sum tcl8.6.tcz
b1245ac4e1c4d4600e8a6a243c973b0a  tcl8.6.tcz

yet the downloaded tcl8.6.tcz md5 file reports
Code: [Select]
474b03c494c80c889da89dd926f8ba4d  tcl8.6.tcz

While this causes APPS and tc-load -w to fail, the extension appears to have been downloaded and is complete

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ tce-load -i tcl8.6.tcz
tzdata.tcz: OK
tcl8.6.tcz: OK
tc@box:~$


Note: I haven't added TC8 x86_64 to this system yet so can't load the extension but if you download the extension from the tc8 x86_64 repo the same md5sum issue still exists.  Looks like only the md5.txt file needs updating
 
« Last Edit: May 10, 2017, 02:55:37 PM by coreplayer2 »

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5300
Re: TCZ Repo Broken
« Reply #12 on: May 10, 2017, 04:24:03 PM »
Hi wksilva
That has already been reported once before:
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,20775.msg131304.html#msg131304

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9252
Re: TCZ Repo Broken
« Reply #13 on: May 11, 2017, 12:02:22 AM »
md5sum regenerated on the server - thanks for reporting this.