WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Need WiFi connection.  (Read 19996 times)

Offline labeas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 266
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #30 on: February 13, 2017, 02:05:42 AM »
Notaion:--------
-> : Keyin to system
== : resulting output from system
=> : extra observations/ideas related to above in/out function
<...> : not verbatim/pasted text

]]What are commands to test & use WiFi ?

]]So far `ping <IPs>` fails.
...

] Yes the Wifi icon?  click on it

Of course I did that: it opens a <sudo labeled TextFrame> which
disapears when a char is keyed into it.

]r as explained eirlier..
]
]ode: [Select]
]sudo wifi.sh
]from a command prompt

-> sudo wifi.sh == <no device found>
=> must go back to M$ to see if WiFi <router> is still <enabled>.

 It goes <off> regularly; not under my control.
 I stopped on the way at 32-bit-Debian7 very slow USBstik, and
when I got to M$: its WiFi is/was working.

] then select from a suitable access point.
---------------------------
PS. I posted the following on NNTP:--
Re. 64-bit wily: I'm can't d/l [& install] with my.
 [very slow USBstik based] debian7 which is 32-bit; and the TinyCore64
 where I want it installed has no inet-connection yet.

 If I had the 64-bit binaries, I could perhaps just copy them to TC,
 like I've migrated 32-bit wily to several installations.

 Does Debian make the binaries available?


Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14516
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #31 on: February 13, 2017, 02:21:21 AM »
Did you remember to load the appropriate firmware before you loaded the wifi extension?

You should see something analogous to this in dmesg if things are working:
Code: [Select]
$ dmesg | tail -30
...
Intel(R) Wireless WiFi driver for Linux
Copyright(c) 2003- 2015 Intel Corporation
iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: enabling device (0000 -> 0002)
iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: Direct firmware load for iwlwifi-7260-15.ucode failed with error -2
iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: Falling back to user helper
iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: loaded firmware version 15.227938.0 op_mode iwlmvm
iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: Detected Intel(R) Dual Band Wireless AC 7260, REV=0x144
iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: L1 Enabled - LTR Enabled
ieee80211 phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'iwl-mvm-rs'
wlan0: authenticate with a0:55:4f:66:d5:18
wlan0: send auth to a0:55:4f:66:d5:18 (try 1/3)
wlan0: authenticated
wlan0: associate with a0:55:4f:66:d5:18 (try 1/3)
wlan0: RX AssocResp from a0:55:4f:66:d5:18 (capab=0x411 status=0 aid=3)
wlan0: associated

..and:
Code: [Select]
$ iwconfig

wlan0     IEEE 802.11abgn  ESSID:"box" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.447 GHz  Access Point: A0:55:4F:66:D5:18   
          Bit Rate=11 Mb/s   Tx-Power=22 dBm   
          Retry short limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Power Management:on
          Link Quality=54/70  Signal level=-56 dBm 
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:3   Missed beacon:0

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14516
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #32 on: February 13, 2017, 02:35:07 AM »
It would also be good if you could paste the output of "tce-status -i"

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1702
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #33 on: February 13, 2017, 03:03:22 AM »
Preferably using
[ code ]your text here
[ /code ]
tags (without the spaces), instead of ==> etc. for better readability.
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #34 on: February 13, 2017, 11:18:04 AM »
Notaion:--------
-> : Keyin to system
== : resulting output from system
=> : extra observations/ideas related to above in/out function
<...> : not verbatim/pasted text
...
I'm sorry, I'm not used to this fancy notation..

I did decipher from your last post, this
Quote
sudo wifi.sh 
no device found

When the the driver finds the correct firmware you should see the results of scanning access points at the command line
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ sudo wifi.sh
Found wifi device wlan0
Standby for scan of available networks...

Select Wifi Network

    ESSID                         Enc   Qual    Channel Type           
 1. coop                           on    70       4     WPA
 2. coop-5G                        on    70      44     WPA
 3. HP-Print-65-LaserJet Pro MFP           on    64       4     WPA
 4. coop-5G                        on    63       0     WPA
 5. MyCharterWiFi34-2G             on    58       1     WPA
 6. Vortex-Prime                   on    51       3     WPA
 7. MySpectrumWiFia4-2G            on    48       1     WPA
 8. Jeffdlightman-Guest            on    44      11     WPA
 9. RedSpruce-guest               off    43       2     
10. Jeffdlightman                  on    43      11     WPA
11. RedSpruce                      on    42       2     WPA
12. cark Guest Network             on    41      11     WPA
13. cark                           on    41      11     WPA
14. Vortex-Prime-5G                on    41       0     WPA

Enter selection ( 1 - 32 ) or (q)uit, (n)ext, (p)revious: :



It looks suspiciously like the driver is loaded before the firmware, so please do in this order:  firmware first, driver last
1. place all wireless and required dep. and firmware extensions in  /tce/optional   (assuming TCL is installed on a USB and is the x86_64 version which I believe it is, otherwise adjust as necessary)
2. reboot
3. tce-load -i firmware-rtlwifi.tcz
4. tce-load -i wifi.tcz

Along with wifi.tcz should see these dep's loaded also
Code: [Select]
wireless_tools.tcz
wireless-4.2.9-tinycore64.tcz
libiw.tcz
wpa_supplicant.tcz
openssl.tcz
libnl.tcz

Then run
Code: [Select]
sudo wifi.sh
If you receive the same "device not found" message as before, then post the output of
Code: [Select]
dmesg | tail -20

« Last Edit: February 13, 2017, 11:30:58 AM by coreplayer2 »

Offline labeas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 266
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #35 on: February 14, 2017, 01:41:22 AM »
I find the Forum thread-format confusing:
 for a NOT permanently-on-line user.

What about the several *.ko files mentioned.
Must I also install them, to get the <live Icon WiFi> to see the signal?
---------------------------
I'm writing this partly to exercise/prove LinuxNativeOberon,
which runs nicely under TC64, from VT-mode, in a Framebuffer.

With LNO I'm able to clean-up my forum-thread.
Sorry to have to say: the arty/grafiti format of the forum
makes it less functional than NNTPs of the 90s.

The ETHO/wily family allows the user to:
 have multiple text frames accessible together on the screen;
 mouse driven - at the extreme can be used without keybrd;
 no need to look-away from the screen to find the X-key;
 User created menus of Commands are just <moused>
   also to include parameter/s;
 ETHO change color & font to give extra dimension/association
   to complexly related text-pieces in several TextFrames,
   by merely wipe-text & <dab in sample> of required color/font;
and much more.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14516
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #36 on: February 14, 2017, 02:18:15 AM »
It's a little difficult to help you solve your problem because, even though several users have suggested things to try, you have not reported back the results clearly.

To repeat what several users have already suggested:

1. Re-boot without loading anything "onboot"
2. Load the firmware-rtlwifi extension.
3. Load the wifi extension
4. Double-check that the wireless_tools, wireless-4.2.9-tinycore64, libiw, wpa_supplicant, openssl and libnl extensions are also loaded.
5. Execute the "sudo wifi.sh" command from a terminal window.
6. Report what you see in the terminal window.
7. Report the results of "dmesg | tail -20"
8. Reports the results of "iwconfig"

Once you have clearly reported back on the results of the above, it will be a lot easier to help you.

Offline labeas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 266
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #37 on: February 16, 2017, 07:39:37 PM »
 There are multiple & changing opinions about the procedure to
install WiFi. That's why you need `wily` or even LNO to color
the different opinions, to distinguish the different opinions.

Instead of the ad-hok method: a sequntial/piped operation
is best diagnosed by confirming Sequentially. Eg for a 3G dongle:
* confirm plugged USB device is detected
* confirm it's seen as a CDROM
* confirm that it switched to be a <modem>
* confirm that it's mounted to the <modem device>
...etc.

Importantly: it's pointless to consider stage N if stage N-1 has not
 yet been confirmed.

The new opinion, in this thread is that the sequence of loading the
 *.tcz is significant?

]1. Re-boot without loading anything "onboot"
No! I need `mc` to control & log the testing process.

]2. Load the firmware-rtlwifi extension.
]3. Load the wifi extension
]4. Double-check that the wireless_tools, wireless-4.2.9-tinycore64,
 libiw, wpa_supplicant, openssl and libnl extensions are also loaded.
]5. Execute the "sudo wifi.sh" command from a terminal window.
]6. Report what you see in the terminal window.
]7. Report the results of "dmesg | tail -20"
]8. Reports the results of "iwconfig"
================= Tests done ===================

]4.Confirm loaded: wireless_tools, wireless-4.2.9-tinycore64, libiw,
 wpa_supplicant, openssl libnl
 
->  less `which /mnt/sdb1/Setup` ==
echo "Now load WiFi extentions ? See ICON"
tce-load -i /mnt/sdb1/tce/optional/firmware-rtlwifi.tcz
tce-load -i /mnt/sdb1/tce/optional/wireless-4.2.9-tinycore64.tcz
tce-load -i /mnt/sdb1/tce/optional/wifi.tcz
=> The forum record shows: the above 3 *.tcz ONLY to be loaded ?!

]5. Execute the "sudo wifi.sh" command from a terminal window.
-> sudo wifi.sh == delay & "No wifi devices found!"
=> Previously a TextFrame opened, which dissapeared when any char
 was keyed-in.
 
-> dmesg <relevant lines> == ...
r8169 0000:01:00.1: Direct firmware load for rtl_nic/rtl8411-2.fw failed with error -2
r8169 0000:01:00.1: Falling back to user helper
r8169 0000:01:00.1 eth0: unable to load firmware patch rtl_nic/rtl8411-2.fw (-11)
r8169 0000:01:00.1 eth0: link down
rtl8723be: Using firmware rtlwifi/rtl8723befw.bin
rtl8723be 0000:02:00.0: Direct firmware load for rtlwifi/rtl8723befw.bin failed with error -2
rtl8723be 0000:02:00.0: Falling back to user helper
ieee80211 phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'rtl_rc'
rtlwifi: rtlwifi: wireless switch is on
usb 1-5.4: new high-speed USB device number 7 using xhci_hcd
usb 1-5.4: ep 0x81 - rounding interval to 128 microframes, ep desc says 255 microframes
usb 1-5.4: ep 0x2 - rounding interval to 128 microframes, ep desc says 255 microframes
usb-storage 1-5.4:1.0: USB Mass Storage device detected
scsi host5: usb-storage 1-5.4:1.0

]8. Reports the results of "iwconfig"
-> iwconfig == sh: iwconfig: not found
========================================
If someone knows the SEQUENCE of the installation & switch-on &
connect procedure, they should provide the corresponding sequence
of confirmation-tests.

Thanks.



Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14516
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #38 on: February 16, 2017, 08:39:22 PM »
]4.Confirm loaded: wireless_tools, wireless-4.2.9-tinycore64, libiw,
 wpa_supplicant, openssl libnl
 
->  less `which /mnt/sdb1/Setup` ==
echo "Now load WiFi extentions ? See ICON"
tce-load -i /mnt/sdb1/tce/optional/firmware-rtlwifi.tcz
tce-load -i /mnt/sdb1/tce/optional/wireless-4.2.9-tinycore64.tcz
tce-load -i /mnt/sdb1/tce/optional/wifi.tcz
=> The forum record shows: the above 3 *.tcz ONLY to be loaded ?!

Code: [Select]
$ cat wifi.tcz.dep
wireless_tools.tcz
wpa_supplicant.tcz

$ cat wireless_tools.tcz.dep
wireless-KERNEL.tcz
libiw.tcz

$ cat wpa_supplicant.tcz.dep
openssl.tcz
libnl.tcz
wireless_tools.tcz

As already stated, if the deps of the wifi extension are not loaded, it will not work.

Quote
]8. Reports the results of "iwconfig"
-> iwconfig == sh: iwconfig: not found
This shows that the wireless_tools extension is not loaded.

You can check which extensions are loaded with the command "tce-status -i".

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #39 on: February 18, 2017, 05:38:26 PM »
labeas,  we realize it's frustrating to learn a new system and how it handles program (extension) installations.   So I think it's best we derail your current methodology and suggest you download coreplus.iso then burn it to disk.  That way when you boot it with wifi support selected, you'll know immediately how to load and run the WiFi connection utility.   I believe all required 32bit extensions are supplied in coreplus.iso, however in worst case scenario you might have to download and install only one extension, maybe..?

Learn the 32bit tinycore using coreplus.iso before diving head first into corepure64.

Don't try to complicate the experience by using corepure64, or core64, or even using MC.   Without question, None of these are needed to have a working desktop environment.   I'll be honest, I've never figured out how to use MC.  If you're more comfortable with MC, then go for it..   However, the Terminal is king, learn to use it, please  :)

Know that when you load wifi.tcz and firmware-rtlwifi.tcz automatically at boot using onboot.lst to load extensions, all dependencies listed within  dep files are loaded automatically and in the correct order.   The important issue here is "firmware must be loaded first",  heads up here because there's little or no exception to this rule; "firmware must be loaded before the driver".   Otherwise the driver when it loads will never ever find it's firmware and will not work, end of story!   You'll have to reboot to try again when attempting manual loading.

Almost every extension has a dep file and md5 file, these are not considered optional.  Life will definitely be more relaxing if you download ALL these at the same time.
eg:
Code: [Select]
wifi.tcz
wifi.tcz.dep
wifi.tcz.md5.txt



Manually loading firmware-rtlwifi.tcz and wifi.tcz requires all extensions and their dep file lists (for those that have dep files) as well.  They all need to be installed within mnt/sdb1/tce/optional/  directory. 

When you have all required extensions and their supporting files in place within /tce/optional directory the process of connecting to an access point becomes easy.

We're here to help, just ask
« Last Edit: February 18, 2017, 05:48:17 PM by coreplayer2 »