WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Need WiFi connection.  (Read 20152 times)

Offline labeas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 266
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #15 on: February 05, 2017, 01:05:09 AM »
> the Tree looks excessively deep means:
The depth of the Dir-tree, has many nodes to <pass through> to reach
the deepest leaf. eg.
 /home/dog/ears/flea/eyes/molecule/atom/electron/color/LEAF

is the <pattern> that I remember seeing ?

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11213
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #16 on: February 05, 2017, 07:38:42 AM »
Hi labeas
Quote
BTW. the tree/S look excessively deep.
Here is the tree file for 7.x/x86_64/tcz/wifi.tcz:
Code: [Select]
wifi.tcz
   wireless_tools.tcz
      wireless-4.2.7-tinycore64.tcz
      libiw.tcz
   wpa_supplicant.tcz
      openssl.tcz
      libnl.tcz
      wireless_tools.tcz
         wireless-4.2.7-tinycore64.tcz
         libiw.tcz
wireless_tools.tcz  shows up 2 times because both  wifi.tcz  and  wpa_supplicant.tcz  depend on it. Since  wireless_tools.tcz
shows up 2 times, its dependencies will also show up 2 times.
« Last Edit: February 05, 2017, 04:15:15 PM by Rich »

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #17 on: February 05, 2017, 02:49:53 PM »
And in addition to those extension dependacies, you'll also need:

" firmware-rtlwifi.tcz "  extension loaded onboot

:)

Offline labeas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 266
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #18 on: February 06, 2017, 04:44:56 AM »
]]Ok Please install
]Code: [Select]
]firmware-rtlwifi.tcz <-try:http://tinycorelinux.net/7.x/x86_64/tcz/firmware-rtlwifi.tcz
]wireless-4.2.9-tinycore64.tcz
]wifi.tcz
]
]then use wifi to connect

==> M$ Fetched above 3 files to TCusb:\4tcz
==> Find & read instructions: HOW2 install
=> FAQ:HOW2 install assumes a live inet connection for existing/running TC;
 which is *NOT* the case for a user needing to install WiFi for TC,
 because no direct inet is available YET under TC.

Try to imagine how2, if your only inet connection was a M$:WiFi,
and you needed to fetch the files under M$,
and then copy them to the TCbootStik,
and then reboot to TC,
and then install the M$-fetched *.tcz
*NOT* by the <klik instruction> which assumes the *.tcz will be fetched
by TC and handed to the <tcz installer utility>.

NB. I have installed ONLY the original <CD: iso> and some of my own
utility scripts: to USBstik/usrlocal/sbin

Also `which gcc` ==nX I.e. I can't compile [yet].
But am looking forward to compile/install a x64 version of
the killer utility: wily.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14535
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #19 on: February 06, 2017, 05:05:18 AM »
]]Ok Please install
]Code: [Select]
]firmware-rtlwifi.tcz <-try:http://tinycorelinux.net/7.x/x86_64/tcz/firmware-rtlwifi.tcz
]wireless-4.2.9-tinycore64.tcz
]wifi.tcz
]
]then use wifi to connect

==> M$ Fetched above 3 files to TCusb:\4tcz
As stated earlier, you need to download:

firmware-rtlwifi.tcz, firmware-rtlwifi.tcz.dep, firmware-rtlwifi.tcz.md5.txt
wireless-4.2.9-tinycore64.tcz, wireless-4.2.9-tinycore64.tcz.dep, wireless-4.2.9-tinycore64.tcz.md5.txt
wifi.tcz, wifi.tcz.dep, wifi.tcz.md5.txt

..as well as any dependency extensions as listed by the relevant tree file - note also that some extensions may not have a *.tcz.dep file.

Quote
NB. I have installed ONLY the original <CD: iso> and some of my own
utility scripts: to USBstik/usrlocal/sbin
Did you try the coreplus iso (it has some of the wifi extensions in the iso)?

Quote
Also `which gcc` ==nX I.e. I can't compile [yet].
You need the compiletc extension and its (many) deps, so get wifi working first :P

Offline labeas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 266
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #20 on: February 10, 2017, 02:28:17 AM »
The <bottom bar> has now got the WiFi Icon, but I can't find any
commands to test/use WiFi under Linux, without having googled.
It's looking good.
======================
Ok Please install

Code: [Select]

firmware-rtlwifi.tcz    =ok
wireless-4.2.9-tinycore64.tcz   =ok
wifi.tcz   =ok

then use wifi to connect
=====================================
==> Check Got 3 files above:   =OK
 
Try:
-> tce-load -i ./firmware-rtlwifi.tcz =OK
-> tce-load -i ./wireless-4.2.9-tinycore64.tcz =OK
-> tce-load -i ./wifi.tcz =OK

->  dmesg | tail ==
FAT-fs (sda2): Volume was not properly unmounted. Some data may be corrupt. Please run fsck.
r8169 0000:01:00.1: Direct firmware load for rtl_nic/rtl8411-2.fw failed with error -2
r8169 0000:01:00.1: Falling back to user helper
r8169 0000:01:00.1 eth0: unable to load firmware patch rtl_nic/rtl8411-2.fw (-11)
r8169 0000:01:00.1 eth0: link down
rtl8723be: Using firmware rtlwifi/rtl8723befw.bin
rtl8723be 0000:02:00.0: Direct firmware load for rtlwifi/rtl8723befw.bin failed with error -2
rtl8723be 0000:02:00.0: Falling back to user helper
ieee80211 phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'rtl_rc'
rtlwifi: rtlwifi: wireless switch is on

=?=> NEW
->  df
Filesystem                Size      Used Available Use% Mounted on
rootfs                    1.6G     31.8M      1.6G   2% /
tmpfs                   933.7M         0    933.7M   0% /dev/shm
/dev/sdb1                 7.4G    624.4M      6.8G   8% /mnt/sdb1
/dev/loop0               48.0K     48.0K         0 100% /tmp/tcloop/libgpg-error
/dev/loop1              256.0K    256.0K         0 100% /tmp/tcloop/libgcrypt
/dev/loop2              128.0K    128.0K         0 100% /tmp/tcloop/libssh2
/dev/loop3              384.0K    384.0K         0 100% /tmp/tcloop/slang
/dev/loop4                1.2M      1.2M         0 100% /tmp/tcloop/mc
/dev/loop5              352.0K    352.0K         0 100% /tmp/tcloop/firmware-rtlwifi
/dev/loop6                3.0M      3.0M         0 100% /tmp/tcloop/wireless-4.2.9-tinycore64
/dev/loop7                8.0K      8.0K         0 100% /tmp/tcloop/wifi

=> root@box:/home/tc# wget http://dailymaverick.co.za
wget: bad address 'dailymaverick.co.za'
root@box:/home/tc# wget "http://dailymaverick.co.za"
wget: bad address 'dailymaverick.co.za'

!! OMG => WiFi Icon has been added to <bottom bar> !!
But how to use WiFi ? Try <Install gpm>
=> BottomBar>:Apps -> <Picker> => <couldn't load mirror list ? Maybe network issue>
->  which ping == /bin/ping
=> found an IP; but several `ping <IP>` fails.

==> RAM: /etc/resolv.conf   0  Jul  4  201 <-empty: needs IPs
 ? will need to be re-filled by Setup ??

== Thanks.

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #21 on: February 10, 2017, 02:33:35 AM »
Did you connect to an access point?

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #22 on: February 10, 2017, 02:35:23 AM »
Honestly i have no clue what is meant by
==>
<-
etc etc.., sorry

it just makes the request for assistance confusing
« Last Edit: February 10, 2017, 02:41:36 AM by coreplayer2 »

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #23 on: February 10, 2017, 02:37:16 AM »
First you need to add only
Code: [Select]
firmware-rtlwifi.tcz
wifi.tcz

to the onboot.lst

then you'd never have to load via tce-load -i


Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #24 on: February 10, 2017, 02:41:15 AM »
Code: [Select]
dmesg | tail
FAT-fs (sda2): Volume was not properly unmounted. Some data may be corrupt. Please run fsck.
r8169 0000:01:00.1: Direct firmware load for rtl_nic/rtl8411-2.fw failed with error -2
r8169 0000:01:00.1: Falling back to user helper
r8169 0000:01:00.1 eth0: unable to load firmware patch rtl_nic/rtl8411-2.fw (-11)
r8169 0000:01:00.1 eth0: link down
rtl8723be: Using firmware rtlwifi/rtl8723befw.bin
rtl8723be 0000:02:00.0: Direct firmware load for rtlwifi/rtl8723befw.bin failed with error -2
rtl8723be 0000:02:00.0: Falling back to user helper
ieee80211 phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'rtl_rc'
rtlwifi: rtlwifi: wireless switch is on

I believe nothing wrong here

At this point you need to connect to an access point, run the wifi extension
or
Code: [Select]
sudo wifi.shvia commandline


Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11213
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #25 on: February 10, 2017, 06:52:31 AM »
Hi coreplayer2
Honestly i have no clue what is meant by
==>
<-
etc etc.., sorry

it just makes the request for assistance confusing
Oh good, I was beginning to think maybe it was some new lingo all the kids were using that I was just too old to understand. ::)

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #26 on: February 10, 2017, 02:50:47 PM »
Rich, for a moment I thought I was going blind..


Meanwhile
select the WiFi icon
or run
Code: [Select]
sudo wifi.shfrom the command line

Offline labeas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 266
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #27 on: February 11, 2017, 02:46:24 AM »
Are my posts being blocked?

This is the 3rd notification that WiFi is apparently installed now.
Based on Bottom-line ICON & dmesg.
Thanks for help.

What are commands to test & use WiFi ?

So far `ping <IPs>` fails.

Thanks.

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #28 on: February 11, 2017, 04:02:21 AM »
Quote
...Based on Bottom-line ICON & dmesg.

What are commands to test & use WiFi ?

So far `ping <IPs>` fails.
...
Yes the Wifi icon?  click on it

Or as explained eirlier..
Code: [Select]
sudo wifi.shfrom a command prompt

then select from a suitable access point.

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Need WiFi connection.
« Reply #29 on: February 12, 2017, 08:07:46 PM »
Hi labeas

I copied this from your other thread

Quote
PS. I'm still googling to know how to use the apparently
installed & working WiFi.

Here's the thing, reading your posts it's not clear if you've managed to use wifi extension to connect with an access point.

When all extensions are loaded and you've successfully connected to an access point there's little else you can do in terms of testing.

After loading extensions and you're still having issue, you can run
Code: [Select]
ifconfig
iwconfig
dmesg | tail 20

to check for anomalies

The wifi connection script is not self launching (by default, though you can change that) therefore you must initiate running the wifi connection script
which activates the wifi interface,  scans for access points, requests an IP and passes the SSID and password.
select the Wifi icon, Or run
Code: [Select]
sudo wifi.sh
follow the prompts to connect with the access point of your choice. 
DHCP is enabled by default

:)
« Last Edit: February 12, 2017, 08:18:27 PM by coreplayer2 »