WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: VMware tools/Open VM tools problem (x86_64 port)  (Read 1523 times)

Offline zacchi4k

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: VMware tools/Open VM tools problem (x86_64 port)
« Reply #15 on: October 31, 2016, 12:57:08 AM »
You shouldn't have had to create any files. They should already have been there. You only needed to add one line to .profile and one line to .xsession.

STILL doesn't work. Here are my .profile and .xsession, if it can help:



Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1398
Re: VMware tools/Open VM tools problem (x86_64 port)
« Reply #16 on: October 31, 2016, 01:31:20 AM »
In  ~/.profile  , do this:
Code: [Select]
*snip*

[ $(which vmware-checkvm) ] && [ vmware-checkvm ] && [ -d /mnt/hgfs ] && vmhgfs-fuse /mnt/hgfs

TERMTYPE=`/usr/bin/tty`
[ ${TERMTYPE:5:3} == "tty" ] && (
[ ! -f /etc/sysconfig/Xserver ] ||
[ -f /etc/sysconfig/text ] ||
[ -e /tmp/.X11-unix/X0 ] ||
startx
)

Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline zacchi4k

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: VMware tools/Open VM tools problem (x86_64 port)
« Reply #17 on: October 31, 2016, 02:02:13 AM »
In  ~/.profile  , do this:
Code: [Select]
*snip*

[ $(which vmware-checkvm) ] && [ vmware-checkvm ] && [ -d /mnt/hgfs ] && vmhgfs-fuse /mnt/hgfs

TERMTYPE=`/usr/bin/tty`
[ ${TERMTYPE:5:3} == "tty" ] && (
[ ! -f /etc/sysconfig/Xserver ] ||
[ -f /etc/sysconfig/text ] ||
[ -e /tmp/.X11-unix/X0 ] ||
startx
)


NOPE

I noticed that, after installing OVMT and modifying .profile, this happens on boot:

Offline andyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 382
Re: VMware tools/Open VM tools problem (x86_64 port)
« Reply #18 on: October 31, 2016, 12:01:30 PM »
You can ignore that error. After all this, are vmtoolsd and vmware-user running, and is /mnt/hgfs mounted? Does the desktop resize when you drag (and hold until it does, an important quirk you will find) the corner of the window?

Offline macropode

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: VMware tools/Open VM tools problem (x86_64 port)
« Reply #19 on: November 01, 2016, 01:02:45 AM »
Sorry, I'm Russian so I can not specify the problem. On VirtualBox, here comes this error at boot.

Online Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9071
Re: VMware tools/Open VM tools problem (x86_64 port)
« Reply #20 on: November 01, 2016, 01:32:53 AM »
What version of corepure64?

How did you install corepure64 in the vm, from the iso?