WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: (solved) just can't getFlash10 to pass the youtube test  (Read 5485 times)

Offline 3rail

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
(solved) just can't getFlash10 to pass the youtube test
« on: June 19, 2009, 05:18:05 AM »
Hi,

I'd really like to get Flash 10 working under firefox in tc2.1rc1.  First I installed firefox, oss and ran firefox.  I ran the oss sound test, works.  Quit firefox, then I installed getFlash10.tce, ran firefox and went to youtube to try to play a video.  Youtube reports:


"Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player"

Firefox has javascript turned on by default.  I'm stumped.  Any suggestions on how to get flash 10 to work under tc2.x?

Thanks

Edit:  never mind.  I didn't realize that you have to run the getFlash10 application AFTER installing getFlash.tce extension via the app browser.  Works fine now.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2009, 05:26:01 AM by 3rail »

Offline thane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 657
Re: (solved) just can't getFlash10 to pass the youtube test
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2009, 12:47:44 PM »
Not a high priority, but a nice to know:

I'm booting off a CD and using a USB stick for persistence. I've installed the Flash10 tcz in TCL 2. It works OK for shorter videos, but when I tried a 1-hour+ one it froze up after about 40 minutes. It may be the buffering is filling up RAM (512 M).

Is there any way to use the USB stick for buffering, or maybe I need to create a swap file? Or the problem is something different?

Offline 3rail

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
Re: (solved) just can't getFlash10 to pass the youtube test
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2009, 07:16:37 PM »
revisit in v2.2 on a new machine:

root@box:/home/tc# /usr/local/bin/getflash10.sh
Connecting to fpdownload.macromedia.com (72.247.178.70:80)
Length: 4044751
install_flash_player 100% |*******************************|  3949k 00:00:00 ETA
tar: install_flash_player_10_linux/libflashplayer.so: not found in archive
cp: cannot stat 'install_flash_player_10_linux/libflashplayer.so': No such file or directory

Not sure what went wrong, this used to work great?

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: (solved) just can't getFlash10 to pass the youtube test
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2009, 11:01:42 PM »
It appears that Macromedia has changed the archive.
Was: install_flash_player_10_linux/libflashplayer.so
Now: libflashplayer.so

Now no lead in directory.
The getFlash10.tce will need to be edited to reflect this change.

EDIT: New getFlash10.tce posted to reflect the Macromedia change.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2009, 11:23:14 PM by roberts »
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline 3rail

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
Re: (solved) just can't getFlash10 to pass the youtube test
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2009, 04:48:49 AM »
Thanks, Robert!

Offline Hankster

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: (solved) just can't getFlash10 to pass the youtube test
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2009, 02:51:11 AM »
I'm getting the same error at YouTube, which is: "Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player"

I'm using TC 2.5, and I load FireFox.tcz 3.5.5, getFlasn10.tcz. I get the same error with Opera.tcz (v9 I think).

I wish I knew which modules to load, on a virgin TC2.5 install, in the AppBrowser, to run a browser with Flash. And sound.

This notebook is about a year old, it works fine on generic Puppy 4.3 for Flash, Sound on SeaMonkey.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9707
Re: (solved) just can't getFlash10 to pass the youtube test
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2009, 04:37:09 AM »
Make sure to restart firefox if you ran the getflash script while firefox was running.

Also, you have to run getflash10.tce from the menu once it is installed, and after running it you have to load the flash extension from your tce directory.

Offline c.monty

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: (solved) just can't getFlash10 to pass the youtube test
« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2010, 10:54:15 AM »
Make sure to restart firefox if you ran the getflash script while firefox was running.

Also, you have to run getflash10.tce from the menu once it is installed, and after running it you have to load the flash extension from your tce directory.

hi jason W!

I'm sorry but I can't follow your recommendations.
I've installed the required packages, however I found instructions telling me file "libflashplayer.so" should be stored in plugin folder of browser (/usr/local/firefox-official/plugins), but I can't locate this file.

what needs to be set up in order to make flash work?

THX

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9707
Re: (solved) just can't getFlash10 to pass the youtube test
« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2010, 02:17:10 PM »
If you have installed and run getFlash10.tcz as well as installed firefox.tcz then the files should be where they are supposed to be.

Offline c.monty

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: (solved) just can't getFlash10 to pass the youtube test
« Reply #9 on: March 07, 2010, 05:05:49 AM »
I have installed TCL on HD.

From "AppBrowser" I've installed Firefox first and then getFlash10 (not "on demand").
Then I reboot the PC.

I don't know how to check if getFlash10 is running.

In any case, youtube videos are not available, and file "libflashplayer.so" is not available.
However, other libflash files are there.

THX

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2135
Re: (solved) just can't getFlash10 to pass the youtube test
« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2010, 05:10:09 AM »
do u see flash.tcz in your tce dir? If yes, is this extension loaded on boot?
dCore user

Offline c.monty

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: (solved) just can't getFlash10 to pass the youtube test
« Reply #11 on: March 07, 2010, 06:15:39 AM »
do u see flash.tcz in your tce dir? If yes, is this extension loaded on boot?

there's no file "flash.tcz" anywhere on the system.
however, file "getFlash10.tcz" is stored in /tce/optional


Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2135
Re: (solved) just can't getFlash10 to pass the youtube test
« Reply #12 on: March 07, 2010, 06:23:52 AM »
if u have getflash.tcz installed then u also have an entry under application in the flwm menu, run the command and the u'll see flash10.tcz in your tce dir
dCore user

Offline maro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1228
Re: (solved) just can't getFlash10 to pass the youtube test
« Reply #13 on: March 07, 2010, 02:32:57 PM »
@c.monty: The 'getFlash10.tcz' extension is only required once to download the library from Adobe / Macromedia. You have to execute a script (i.e. getflash10.sh) just once, which then creates the 'flash10.tcz' extension. Please note that this detour is required AFAIK for legal reasons. After the creation of 'flash10.tcz' you should have no need to keep 'getFlash10.tcz' around at all. In your case seem to have the 'getFlash10.tcz' extension, but might have never done the download.

So, please make sure that:
  • you have run 'getflash10.sh'. This downloads the library, creates the 'flash10.tcz' extension, copies it to your extension download directory, and install the 'flash10.tcz' extension,
  • you should now restart Firefox and check that flash is working,
  • you might afterwards remove the 'getFlash10.tcz' extension from your system, since you should have no further need for it

Offline c.monty

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: (solved) just can't getFlash10 to pass the youtube test
« Reply #14 on: March 09, 2010, 11:21:39 PM »
MANY THANKS to maro!!!
 :D

THIS was the final solution.