WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: languageONE extension for CorePlus64  (Read 7515 times)

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11220
Re: languageONE extension for CorePlus64
« Reply #15 on: September 24, 2016, 09:27:33 PM »
Hi roger@languageONE.com.au
Quote
error writing to file /mnt/sda1/Users/roger/languageone/assemble.sh
Read-only file system
When you create an extension it is packed into a  squash file system  which is read only.

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11220
Re: languageONE extension for CorePlus64
« Reply #16 on: September 24, 2016, 09:33:22 PM »
Hi roger@languageONE.com.au
You might also want to take the time to read the core book:
http://tinycorelinux.net/book.html

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14545
Re: languageONE extension for CorePlus64
« Reply #17 on: September 24, 2016, 09:47:19 PM »
If you build your extension like this:

/tmp/pkg/usr/local/bin/GUImakeONE.sh
/tmp/pkg/usr/local/bin/assemble.sh
...

and then:
Code: [Select]
$ cd /tmp
$ sudo mksquashfs pkg/ languageONE.tcz
$ sudo chown tc:staff languageOne.tcz

When languageOne.tcz is loaded (tce-load -i languageONE), tinycore will make symlinks like this:

/usr/local/bin/GUImakeONE.sh -> /tmp/tcloop/languageONE/usr/local/bin/GUImakeONE.sh
/usr/local/bin/assemble.sh -> /tmp/tcloop/languageONE/usr/local/bin/assemble.sh
...

..and since /usr/local/bin is in $PATH, the scripts will be found and run.

Offline roger@languageONE.com.au

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: languageONE extension for CorePlus64
« Reply #18 on: September 24, 2016, 09:51:59 PM »
I think I kinda get that but I haven't created a file system, I have mounted an existing ext4 file system. I have then copied what was installed via
the extension. From /usr/local/languageONE to /mnt/sda1/Users/roger/languageONE.
So...If I am booting off the harddisk, does TinyCore consider the disk (partition?) as read only. In that case how do I access any
other file systems on the disk/network ???? ???

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14545
Re: languageONE extension for CorePlus64
« Reply #19 on: September 24, 2016, 10:04:14 PM »
Does tinycore have the appropriate permissions to read the mounted ext4 partition?

If you want to copy the contents of an extension, do it like this:
Code: [Select]
$ cd /tmp
$ mkdir image pkg
$ sudo mount /tmp/languageONE.tcz /tmp/image
$ sudo cp -rp /tmp/image/usr /tmp/pkg
$ sudo umount /tmp/image

You can then edit the contents of the extension under /tmp/pkg/usr

Offline roger@languageONE.com.au

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: languageONE extension for CorePlus64
« Reply #20 on: September 25, 2016, 12:08:46 AM »
Sorry but the above also could not find the file....

What did work though, was to move everything to a different partition (NOT the one that TinyCore booted)
Does that help you to figure out what is happening.

Also "Does tinycore have the appropriate permissions to read the mounted ext4 partition?", How do I tell this

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14545
Re: languageONE extension for CorePlus64
« Reply #21 on: September 25, 2016, 01:15:46 AM »
tinycore has the following users/groups:

tc:staff
root:staff
root:root

..so if the partition is owned by a user other than tc, you may need to be root to read/write.

"ls -l /mnt/sda1" will show the user/group

Offline roger@languageONE.com.au

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: languageONE extension for CorePlus64
« Reply #22 on: September 26, 2016, 04:11:19 PM »
Hi guys..

I have rearranged languageONE's directory structure to make it more TinyCore friendly. Everything now runs fine on my system.
I did however try to install submitqc5 and alternately submitqc and both returned a status of fail. I have though gone ahead and
emailed the package without the extra file and hope that's okay. If you need me to do anything please let me know

Thanks
roger@languageONE.com.au

Offline roger@languageONE.com.au

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: languageONE extension for CorePlus64
« Reply #23 on: September 26, 2016, 04:29:44 PM »
err guys. My email was bounced back with the following error.

The mail system

<tcesubmit@gmail.com>: host gmail-smtp-in.l.google.com[74.125.204.26] said:
    552-5.7.0 This message was blocked because its content presents a potential
    552-5.7.0 security issue.

What do I need to do  ???

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11220
Re: languageONE extension for CorePlus64
« Reply #24 on: September 26, 2016, 05:19:46 PM »
Hi roger@languageONE.com.au
I take it you created a  tar  archive as outlined here:
http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/wiki:creating_extensions#send_to
The Wiki used to say to  bcrypt  the file with the password  tinycore  prior to submitting, so try that.

Offline roger@languageONE.com.au

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: languageONE extension for CorePlus64
« Reply #25 on: September 26, 2016, 06:17:12 PM »
Rich..

am "bcrypt"ing each file and then "tar"ing them

languageONE.tcz
languageONE.tcz.dep
languageONE.tcz.info
languageONE.tcz.list
languageONE.tcz.md5.txt

of "bcrypt"ing the final
languageONE.tar.gz

Thx.
P.S. What country are you guys in ??

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11220
Re: languageONE extension for CorePlus64
« Reply #26 on: September 26, 2016, 06:27:11 PM »
Hi roger@languageONE.com.au
Tar the files first, then bcrypt the tar file. I'm from Long Island, New York.

Offline roger@languageONE.com.au

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: languageONE extension for CorePlus64
« Reply #27 on: September 26, 2016, 06:29:29 PM »
Thx mate, I'll try that again
cheers

Offline roger@languageONE.com.au

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: languageONE extension for CorePlus64
« Reply #28 on: September 26, 2016, 07:47:11 PM »
Guys..

seems to have gone thru this time.
Keep me "in the loop" eh

Cheers
Roger

Offline roger@languageONE.com.au

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: languageONE extension for CorePlus64
« Reply #29 on: September 28, 2016, 05:18:48 AM »
Hey guys, how are we going with this one. Anything I need to do to help