WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: no backup device has been selected use cntpanel  (Read 826 times)

Offline ishak

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 10
no backup device has been selected use cntpanel
« on: September 15, 2016, 05:43:58 AM »
Hello again
i use vmware to boot TCL 7,2 from 16 mb iso file, and when i want to save my apps after shotdown a message sad:
 no backup device has been selected use cntpanel…
in my appbrwose TCE:/tmp/tce/optional   
I change it TCE:…/fd0/tce a message sad:
errors occurred during backup See: /tmp/backup_status

how can i fix it, i use a vertual15gb scsi hdd
 I need your help,sorry for my bad english and my qeustions

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1450
Re: no backup device has been selected use cntpanel
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2016, 06:13:01 AM »
Extensions (apps) won't get saved if you boot off of CD. The CD's boot loader config uses the  cde  boot code, which indicates that Tiny Core is booted off of non-writable media and thus downloads extensions to  /tmp/tce/optional , which is in RAM and lost after reboot.

Use  tc-install  to properly install Tiny Core.
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1450
Re: no backup device has been selected use cntpanel
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2016, 06:19:57 AM »
The backup feature is another story. It's meant for saving personal settings like configuration files and the users home folder.
Everything listed in  /opt/.filetool.lst  will be stored in an archive at the specified location. Default is  /etc/sysconfig/tcedir/mydata.tgz .
I think you can specify it using  filetool  or via boot codes  tce=  and  mydata= .
/etc/sysconfig/backup_device  and  /etc/sysconfig/mydata  contain respective values.
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline ishak

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: no backup device has been selected use cntpanel
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2016, 06:22:17 AM »
Thanks for rep
But how can i use tc-install are thees an app or what?
Sorry i am new in linux

Offline ishak

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: no backup device has been selected use cntpanel
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2016, 06:36:21 AM »
I know now that is an app, i will try it

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9160
Re: no backup device has been selected use cntpanel
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2016, 07:10:15 AM »