WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Via Network Modules  (Read 8200 times)

Offline robc

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
Via Network Modules
« on: December 11, 2008, 04:27:32 PM »
I haven't been able to get my NIC to connect to my network. The NIC is a Via VT6122 chip. I have used the via_velocity module, this creates the eth0 device and I can configure the port with ifconfig but I get the message:
Quote
eth0: Link auto-negotiation speed 1000M bps full duplex
eth0: failed to detect cable link

I downloaded and compiled VIA's driver from VIA Arena but the results were the same.
According to this post: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=420432 the via_velocity module uses the crc_ccitt module. Is this module built into the kernel or was it removed? Is there something that I'm missing?

dmesg:
Quote
e100: Intel(R) PRO/100 Network Driver, 3.5.23-k4-NAPI
e100: Copyright(c) 1999-2006 Intel Corporation

after loading via_velocity module:
Quote
VIA Networking Velocity Family Gigabit Ethernet Adapter Driver Ver. 1.14
Copyright (c) 2002, 2003 VIA Networking Technologies, Inc.
Copyright (c) 2004 Red Hat Inc.
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:02:05.0[A] -> Link [LNKC] -> GSI 11 (level, low) -> IRQ 11
eth0: VIA Networking Velocity Family Gigabit Ethernet Adapter

After loading velocityget module from VIA Arena:
Quote
VIA Networking Velocity Family Gigabit Ethernet Adapter Driver Ver. 1.36
Copyright (c) 2002, 2003 VIA Networking Technologies, Inc.
eth0: VIA Networking Velocity Family Gigabit Ethernet Adapter

lspci -v:
Quote
02:05.0   Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6120/VT6121/VT6122 Gigabit Ethernet Adapter (rev 11)
   Subsystem: VIA Technologies, Inc. Unkown device 0110
   Flags: 66MHz, medium devsel, IRQ 11
   I/O ports as dc00 [size=256]
   Memory at dfeff000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256]
   Capabilities: <access denied>
   Kernel modules: via-velocity

"Never give up! Never surrender!" - Commander Peter Quincy Taggart

"Make it so." - Captain Picard

Offline robc

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
[SOLVED] Re: Via Network Modules
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2008, 10:47:55 AM »
I was able to get my NIC to work. I ended up compiling and installing ethtool (http://sourceforge.net/projects/gkernel/) and forced the NIC to communicate at 100baseT full duplex using the velocityget v1.36 module from VIA Arena.

I think this module should replace the via-velocity one since it is updated and actually supports the hardware it was designed for...though I may have to submit an ethtool package for those who don't have ipv6 equipment (including myself).

So now I'll put together this package for ethtool, unless anyone objects
"Never give up! Never surrender!" - Commander Peter Quincy Taggart

"Make it so." - Captain Picard

Offline ^thehatsrule^

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1726
Re: Via Network Modules
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2008, 11:54:04 AM »
What happens if you try to force the connection setting with the included kernel modules?

(Sounds like something is still going wrong if it can't auto-negotiate, though)

Offline robc

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
Re: Via Network Modules
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2008, 12:45:56 PM »
I tried to use ethtool and force the speed and duplex to 100 full with the included via-velocity module, but ethtool gave me this error:
Quote
Cannot set new settings: Invalid argument
  not setting speed

I tried this again just now with the base norestore options and only loaded my ethtool-6 extension and got the same results when I used the native via-velocity module. I then rmmod via-velocity, installed my velocityget module extention, modprobe velocityget. After that the ethtool was able to set the parameters of the NIC and I was able to establish a connection with my network and be able to download extensions using the appbrowser.

I emailed these 2 extensions to the tcesubmit
"Never give up! Never surrender!" - Commander Peter Quincy Taggart

"Make it so." - Captain Picard

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10424
Re: Via Network Modules
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2008, 01:01:04 PM »
I think hats meant the module options, see "modinfo via-velocity"
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline robc

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
Re: Via Network Modules
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2008, 01:13:21 PM »
oh...why didn't I think of that?  :-[

ok....I can use
Code: [Select]
modprobe via-velocity speed_duplex=2in bootlocal.sh

Thank you for the advice, that is a lot easier then what I did
"Never give up! Never surrender!" - Commander Peter Quincy Taggart

"Make it so." - Captain Picard