WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Projects?  (Read 10302 times)

Offline Sliver X

Projects?
« on: June 03, 2016, 11:07:11 PM »
I recently started playing with Tiny Core 7.1 after not having used it since the 5.x series (To build a graphical recovery partition system for a bunch of Windows 7 machines I took care of at a previous job), and am pretty impressed so far. I initially started building a dedicated emulator setup from the minimal Core setup and ended up making a fairly functional (For the bulk of what I do on a daily basis, at least) general desktop:

For emulation I compiled and built a TCZ for Mednafen 0.9.38.7 and AdvanceMenu (An emulator frontend) and also the compositor Compton.

AdvanceMenu is tied to a shell script I wrote for my Ubuntu install (Hence why there's entries for emulators no available for TC currently) that allows running ROMs directly from 7zip files and other things:

Code: [Select]
#Multi-Emulator Launcher Script
###############################
#2016 Sliver X

#DECOMPRESSION FUNCTIONS: 7zip, RAR and Zip
###########################################

#Get File Extension of file passed to script.
ExtensionTest=$(echo $1 | sed 's/.*\.//')

#Check if it's compressed. If so, decompress to a temp directory.
case $ExtensionTest in

#It's a 7zip!
7z)
mkdir ~/romtemp
7z x "$1" -o"$HOME/romtemp"
;;

#It's a RAR!
rar)
mkdir ~/romtemp
rar x "$1" "$HOME/romtemp"
;;

#It's a Zip!
zip)
mkdir ~/romtemp
unzip "$1" -d "$HOME/romtemp"
;;

#It's not compressed in a method we care about!
*)
NotCompressed=$(echo "1")
;;

#End CASE test.
esac

#DETERMINE ROM TYPE
###################

#Check if the called ROM was decompressed by our script or not.
case $NotCompressed in

#The ROM was not decompressed by us. Assign "$1" to $ROM and make $ROMPath blank (Not needed).
1)
ROMPath=$(echo "")
ROM=$(echo "$1")
;;

#We decompressed the ROM. Go to temp directory and set is as $ROM and $ROMPath as our temp directory.
*)
cd ~/romtemp