WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Install and run SSH in dCore?  (Read 1905 times)

Offline blinklet

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Install and run SSH in dCore?
« on: May 31, 2016, 10:03:23 AM »
Hi,
I've been working with dCore for a few weeks. I cannot get SSH (or any service) to start in dCore.

I import and load SSH
$ sudo sce-import ssh
$ sudo sce-load ssh

Then I start the ssh server with the command
$ sudo /etc/init.d/ssh start

I see no error message but SSH does not start.
netstat -an command does not show tcp listening to any ports
ps -ef command shows ssh is not running.

How do I get ssh server working in dcore?

Note: I also tried dropbear
Dropbear works. But why won't standard SSH server work? I am trying to get network services working and SSH is the first attempt. I also cannot get quagga daemons to work but thought starting with SSH would be a simpler case to solve...

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
Brian
« Last Edit: May 31, 2016, 10:12:22 AM by blinklet »

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9304
Re: Install and run SSH in dCore?
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2016, 10:15:51 AM »
Which dCore port are you using?  I have ssh running and log into my box remotely all the time.

Offline blinklet

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Install and run SSH in dCore?
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2016, 11:18:37 AM »
I am amusing dCore xenial from the release candidates.
Which version are you using?

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9304
Re: Install and run SSH in dCore?
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2016, 11:49:13 AM »
I have used ssh on all the others.  I will boot dCore-xenial and see what is happening.  .

Offline blinklet

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Install and run SSH in dCore?
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2016, 05:01:17 PM »
If it makes a difference, I am running dCore in a virtual machine (VirtualBox).

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9304
Re: Install and run SSH in dCore?
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2016, 06:38:29 PM »
Oh, ok.  I will check that out and see if there is anything I can do.

Offline blinklet

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Install and run SSH in dCore?
« Reply #6 on: June 03, 2016, 08:12:18 AM »
I imported, loaded, and started OpenSSH (the ssh package) in dCore-jessie and it worked.
So maybe a xenial issue?

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9304
Re: Install and run SSH in dCore?
« Reply #7 on: June 03, 2016, 11:19:58 AM »
It appears to be a dependency list issue regarding dCore-xenial, at least when used on a virtual machine though that should not matter.  I have ssh working on it, I will test some more before I ask you to try it again on a fresh VM session.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9304
Re: Install and run SSH in dCore?
« Reply #8 on: June 03, 2016, 11:46:25 AM »
"sce-import ssh && sudo /etc/init.d/ssh start" is working fine in a Virtualbox session of dCore-xenail.  "pgrep ssh" and "netstat -an" give expected results.  Please re-test.

Offline blinklet

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Install and run SSH in dCore?
« Reply #9 on: June 05, 2016, 08:09:52 AM »
Thanks. I will try again.

Offline blinklet

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Install and run SSH in dCore?
« Reply #10 on: June 06, 2016, 04:27:52 PM »
I tried this again on dCore xenial and it worked. I don't know what was wrong before... but it works now.
Thanks for looking into this.
Brian

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9304
Re: Install and run SSH in dCore?
« Reply #11 on: June 06, 2016, 06:11:35 PM »
Simply missing dependencies as our dep gathering routine differs from Debian/Ubuntu, we can add them on our end.  Thanks for your time and testing.

Offline donquixote2u

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Install and run SSH in dCore?
« Reply #12 on: August 02, 2016, 08:38:13 PM »
I've got frustrated with broken dependencies in the Tiny Core extensions, and so I'll have a go at mastering the art of package builds when I have a spare day or five! 

Meanwhile i've turned to dCore and the good old Debian repos as an alternative, and it's worked a treat;  so thank you Jason for your work on a brilliant fork.

But now having installed openssh-server I'm having trouble making its config persistent;  I had to "sudo passwd tc" to set a password the client could enter, but I can't work out how to hold it. Some users of TC suggested /usr/local/etc needed to be in /opt/filetool.lst but that doesn't seem to even exist in dCore;

Can anyone help me with the correct folders I need to back up to keep my ssh server available on reboot?

Offline Onyarian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 332
Re: Install and run SSH in dCore?
« Reply #13 on: August 02, 2016, 11:44:52 PM »
Hi,
/etc/shadow and /etc/passwd in /opt/.filetool.lst if I'm not wrong.

That's for dCore-trusty (Ubuntu versión of dCore),  you don't say wich version of dCore are you using.

Enviado desde mi D5503 mediante Tapatalk
« Last Edit: August 02, 2016, 11:53:08 PM by Onyarian »

Offline donquixote2u

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Install and run SSH in dCore?
« Reply #14 on: August 03, 2016, 01:17:54 AM »
Hi,
/etc/shadow and /etc/passwd in /opt/.filetool.lst if I'm not wrong.

That's for dCore-trusty (Ubuntu versión of dCore),  you don't say wich version of dCore are you using.

Enviado desde mi D5503 mediante Tapatalk

ah, that's what I thought - sorry for not specifying,  my version is Jessie, but same locations there;  I think I'd tried them, but didn't seem to work, I'll have another play with them.  Thanks for replying.