WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Core v7.1rc1  (Read 1998 times)

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9153
Core v7.1rc1
« on: May 08, 2016, 11:55:54 PM »
Team Tiny Core is pleased to announce that Tiny Core 7.1 rc1 is available for public testing:

http://repo.tinycorelinux.net/7.x/x86/release_candidates/
http://repo.tinycorelinux.net/7.x/x86_64/release_candidates/

This is a release candidate. If you decide to help test, then please test carefully. We don't want anyone to lose data.

We appreciate testing and feedback.

Changelog for 7.1 rc1:
* mountables.sh: move the rebuildfstab call to mnttool, from dentonlt
* tc-config: put syslogd -L after -R, from andyj

Also in conjuction with the above in Xprogs:
* mnttool: refresh automatically, by dentonlt
* mnttool: move rebuildfstab call here from mountables.sh

Offline chattrhand

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: Core v7.1rc1
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2016, 06:42:00 AM »
Hi TinyCoreTeam

Just trying out tc v7.1rc1 I downloaded firefox_getLatest.tcz
It worked and installed firefox v 46.0.1 and I appended a firefox.tcz to onboot.lst as required.

Firefox doesn't start. Neither via wbar nor via desktop menu, start via aterm returns a message:

tc@box:~$ firefox
XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /tmp/tcloop/firefox/usr/local/firefox/libmozgtk.so:
libgtk-3.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Couldn't load XPCOM.
tc@box:~$

Hope that it helps to fix it.

Btw. the QtWeb browser works fine.
thanks
TinyCore, SliTaz, LinuxMint, Tails, Mac ...

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9153
Re: Core v7.1rc1
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2016, 06:45:55 AM »
I'm not sure this has anything to do with the tc-7.1 base, but it looks like you need to load gtk3

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1444
Re: Core v7.1rc1
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2016, 06:53:54 AM »
Yep, not related to the new RC.
Firefox requires GTK version 3 since the latest update. ):
coreplayer2 is aware of this and is willing to fix  firefox_getLatest.sh  soon (if the fix is not already on its way).
For now, you could edit your .dep file to include  gtk3.tcz , and if gtk themes matter, also add  gnome-themes-standard.tcz .
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline chattrhand

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: Core v7.1rc1
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2016, 08:11:45 AM »
hello Junito, Misalf,

thanks for your hints. Will try it.

TinyCore, SliTaz, LinuxMint, Tails, Mac ...

Offline meo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 563
Re: Core v7.1rc1
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2016, 12:24:19 PM »
Hi guys!

Have fooled around with this new RC today and it feels just fine! Keep up the good work!

Have fun using TC on your computer,
meo
"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire

Offline chattrhand

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: Core v7.1rc1
« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2016, 10:46:17 PM »
Hello Juanito, Misalf,

a manual install of gtk3.tce did help, now firefox is working fine. Thank you very much!

chattrhand
TinyCore, SliTaz, LinuxMint, Tails, Mac ...

Online andyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
Re: Core v7.1rc1
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2016, 08:22:01 AM »
In tc-config syslog is started before hostname is set. This causes syslog to send an IP address instead of the name. Can we move setting the hostname to before starting syslog? It doesn't look like it should break anything.

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9436
Re: Core v7.1rc1
« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2016, 01:08:47 AM »
« Last Edit: May 15, 2016, 01:10:32 AM by curaga »
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Online andyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
Re: Core v7.1rc1
« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2016, 04:29:55 PM »
@curaga

Yes that patch helped (I wasn't expecting "some assembly required"  ::)). Might I also suggest the following for /usr/bin/sethostname:


--- /usr/bin/sethostname
+++ usr/bin/sethostname
@@ -12,7 +12,12 @@
 echo $HOSTNAME >/etc/hostname
 hostname -F /etc/hostname
 rm -f /etc/hosts
-cat >/etc/hosts <<EOT
+# add entries for each UP interface
+for a in /sys/class/net/[ew]*; do
+        e=$(basename $a)
+        ifconfig $e | grep -q '^[[:space:]]*UP ' && ifconfig $e | grep 'inet addr:' | cut -c21- | cut -d\  -f1 | sed "s/$/ $HOSTNAME/"
+done >/etc/hosts
+cat >>/etc/hosts <<EOT
 127.0.0.1 $HOSTNAME localhost localhost.local
 
 # The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts

This adds an entry for each UP interface to /etc/hosts. I realize it might be an issue if using DHCP and the address changes, but I haven't gone down that rabbit hole yet. Is my request http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,19923.0.html for an updated busybox with a larger syslog buffer going to be in the next release?


Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9436
Re: Core v7.1rc1
« Reply #10 on: May 16, 2016, 12:02:20 AM »
Yeah, with dhcp I don't think the hosts addition would be good.

Busybox, that's up to Juanito.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9153
Re: Core v7.1rc1
« Reply #11 on: May 16, 2016, 02:17:08 AM »
CONFIG_FEATURE_SYSLOGD_READ_BUFFER_SIZE=512 planned for tc-7.1rc2
« Last Edit: May 16, 2016, 02:20:08 AM by Juanito »

Offline aswjh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: Core v7.1rc1
« Reply #12 on: May 16, 2016, 04:51:16 PM »
Can reduce boot time:
Code: [Select]
--- /tmp/tcloop/Xlibs/usr/bin/setupdesktop
+++ /usr/bin/setupdesktop
@@ -8,7 +8,7 @@
 fi
 
 DESKTOP=`cat /etc/sysconfig/desktop`
-[ `which "$DESKTOP"_initmenu` ] &&  sudo "$DESKTOP"_initmenu
+[ `which "$DESKTOP"_initmenu` ] &&  sudo "$DESKTOP"_initmenu &
 
 FREEDESKTOP="/usr/local/share/applications"
 if [ "$(ls -A $FREEDESKTOP 2>/dev/null)" ]; then
@@ -19,4 +19,4 @@
        done
 fi
 
-[ -n "$ICONS" ] && "$ICONS".sh
+[ -n "$ICONS" ] && "$ICONS".sh &