WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Frugal install? Partitioning and full install?  (Read 2392 times)

Offline rabbish

Frugal install? Partitioning and full install?
« on: April 27, 2016, 08:59:23 PM »
Hi, I'm new to TC and have read about installing in corebook.pdf, but can't be sure I could understand correctly.

my questions are :
1. How does the frugal install work?
  1-1. I should defrag C:, D:, (etc.) drive before frugal install?
  1-2. By doing frugal isntall into a drive, ALL data that is in there originally will be deleted? ( I assume they won't be)
    1-2-1. Can I still boot win OS after TC was installed?  Specially, in case frugally installed into C: drive. 
             -->  Can I do dual boot of TC and win OS?
2. Is it worth to make a partition for TC and full install it into the new partition? (partitioning + full)
  2-1. The size of the partion is not important?   
3. Or, is it worth to make a partition and then frugal install into there? (partitioning + frugal)

I did backup important data but can't do mistake!
Please answer at least to 1-2-1! and if you could, to more.
Thanks in advance.

Offline Juanito

• Administrator
Re: Frugal install? Partitioning and full install?
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2016, 12:23:49 AM »
I take it that you want to use tc-install from the CorePlus iso to install tinycore?

If so, there are two choices:

* wipe the entire hard drive and install - I guess you don't want to do that.
* install to a partition - this will allow tinycore to coexist with windows.

If I recall correctly, the "install to a partition" option will also wipe all data from the partition in question.

You can dual boot windows and linux, but I believe you will need to manually adjust the boot loader to achieve this.

There is no need to defrag anything.

Offline rabbish

« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2016, 12:51:19 AM »
Hi, Juanito. thanks for your reply.