WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Custom binaries not working?  (Read 973 times)

Offline arrakis

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Custom binaries not working?
« on: April 10, 2016, 09:50:51 PM »
I copied over a 64-bit binary i built and tried executing it but I get file not found errors. Any ideas?

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9390
Re: Custom binaries not working?
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2016, 11:30:20 PM »
sudo ln -s /lib /lib64

It would be preferable to build on Core though. Otherwise you may have all kinds of library version mismatches.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline arrakis

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Custom binaries not working?
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2016, 01:59:22 AM »
I got the binary working with the above command, thank you! All my libraries are statically linked in the binary, would this still make a difference on Pure64?

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9390
Re: Custom binaries not working?
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2016, 10:46:12 AM »
A static binary wouldn't need that link ;) At least libc was dynamic in that case.

But yeah, if the libs are static, it's reasonably safe.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline labeas

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: Custom binaries not working?
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2016, 09:09:30 AM »
Let's look at this in greater detail:

If I x64-compile where the source is a USBstik, so the x64-Object
is created on that USBstik; but first I needed to X64-complile the
<lib sub directory> on the same USBstik.

So assume that 2 lib-objects and the main binary were created;
where do I move these to, on the different USBstik, which TC64
boots from, so that they are loaded to RAM, when TC64 boots from
this 2nd mentioned USBstik?

Has my TC64-basic got a compiler ? I'm now in M$ to get WiFi
access so I can't look-to-see, by eg. `which gcc` .


Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9009
Re: Custom binaries not working?
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2016, 09:52:36 AM »
It's a little difficult to understand what you are asking - there is no compiler in the base corepure64, you need the compiletc extension and it's dependencies.

As mentioned earlier, it would probably be easier for you to run corepure64 in a vm on windows and get the extensions that way.