WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: getFlash needs update?  (Read 2669 times)

Offline ttz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
getFlash needs update?
« on: April 02, 2016, 12:09:13 PM »
Web site message:

Code: [Select]
You don't have the latest version of Adobe Flash Player.
This web site makes use of Adobe® Flash™ software. You have an old version of Adobe Flash Player that cannot play the content we've created.


What I did:

Code: [Select]
tce-load -i getFlash11
sqlite3.tcz: OK
nspr.tcz: OK
nss.tcz: OK
libgpg-error.tcz: OK
libgcrypt.tcz: OK
libssh2.tcz: OK
libidn.tcz: OK
curl.tcz: OK
aterm: Cannot set locale
getFlash11.tcz: OK


Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4238
Re: getFlash needs update?
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2016, 12:14:39 PM »
Run it and reboot.

Offline ttz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: getFlash needs update?
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2016, 12:18:12 PM »
getFlash11 is ondemand...

Reboot would obliterate anything not onboot, right?

Offline ttz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: getFlash needs update?
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2016, 12:44:56 PM »
Perhaps I should just follow directions.

Run it and reboot.

What "run it" means to me:

Code: [Select]
>pwd
/mnt/sdb1/tce/ondemand


>lsa
firefox_getLatest  getFlash11


>./getFlash11
aterm: bad option "Setup,"
aterm: bad option "and"
aterm: bad option "Create"
aterm: bad option "flash11.tcz""

Usage v1.00.01 :(utmp,transparency,fading,NeXT scrollbar,XGetDefaults)...
...
...

Offline thane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
Re: getFlash needs update?
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2016, 01:43:54 AM »
I have getFlash11 in OnDemand also. The following works for me (in a terminal):

$ tce-load -i getFlash11

$ getFlash11.sh

This creates an updated version of flash11.tcz. I have flash11.tcz in onboot.lst and the updated version is started when I reboot.

Offline thane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
Re: getFlash needs update?
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2016, 11:28:45 PM »
<Bump>

Firefox is blocking Flash 11 with a warning about the plugin being outdated. When I tried getFlash11 to update Flash, I got a message "Error: Downloading source. Exiting."

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2475
Re: getFlash needs update?
« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2016, 07:24:28 AM »
I have getFlash11 in OnDemand also. The following works for me (in a terminal):

$ tce-load -i getFlash11

$ getFlash11.sh

This creates an updated version of flash11.tcz. I have flash11.tcz in onboot.lst and the updated version is started when I reboot.

That's one method, alternatively simply select the desktop menu item (OnDemand > getFlash11) then after getFlash11 is loaded select (Applications > getFlash11) from desktop menu items, check that flash11.tcz in listed in onboot.lst and reboot..


Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2475
Re: getFlash needs update?
« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2016, 07:26:28 AM »
<Bump>

Firefox is blocking Flash 11 with a warning about the plugin being outdated. When I tried getFlash11 to update Flash, I got a message "Error: Downloading source. Exiting."
please try again,  as the update works fine for me

Offline thane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
Re: getFlash needs update?
« Reply #8 on: April 14, 2016, 08:41:51 AM »
Your method for running getFlash11 works :).

However, I still get the error message when I do.

Heading out the door now, but when I get home I'll delete and re-download getFlash11. Maybe something got corrupted...

Offline thane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
Re: getFlash needs update?
« Reply #9 on: April 14, 2016, 08:53:27 PM »
Deleted and re-downloaded getFlash11 and still get the error. I wonder if maybe getFlash11 connects to different sites depending on location (I'm in Hawaii) and the one it tries from here has problems? Or maybe some weird firewall issue with my web service provider? Firefox works fine though...hmm

Offline thane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
Re: getFlash needs update?
« Reply #10 on: April 16, 2016, 03:54:22 PM »
Just to see what would happen, I downloaded coreplayer2's old getFlash11.sh script and commented out the part that does the download, then manually downloaded the Flash 11 tar.gz file from the Adobe website using Firefox. When I ran the script it gave me an error at the busybox tar "can't open install_flash_player_11_linux.i386.tar.gz': No such file or directory". However the file is there in home/tc. Spelling and everything look right. And actually, nothing looked wrong with download step either, URL spelling was the same as in the browser etc. Go figure...

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2475
Re: getFlash needs update?
« Reply #11 on: April 16, 2016, 10:41:48 PM »
@thane   

nice troubleshooting but I'm not sure I follow...

Also iirc home/tc  might not be the correct path ? 

Also I can't duplicate, getFlaash11 still downloads and installs the latest version as expected.

What do you suspect is causing your issue?


Offline thane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
Re: getFlash needs update?
« Reply #12 on: April 17, 2016, 12:01:14 AM »
It's possible home/tc is not the correct path, but I'm fuzzy on reading scripts and not sure what would be...

At this point I'm leaning toward it being an issue on my box or maybe with wherever getFlash11 is connecting to when trying to download the source code. Like I said I didn't see anything obviously wrong with e.g. the URL reference.

Offline thane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
Re: getFlash needs update?
« Reply #13 on: April 17, 2016, 07:12:21 PM »
Yes, the path was the problem. I was finally able to upgrade Flash 11 with a modified version of coreplayer2's getFlash11.sh script from (IIRC) November 2015. Downloaded the Flash 11 tar file manually from the Adobe website and changed the script to skip its own download step and instead copy the manually downloaded file to the correct directory for the script to install from.

As coreplayer2 pointed out though, this still doesn't explain why I'm having this issue when other users apparently aren't. I suspect that either my setup is corrupted on some deep level (no signs of this otherwise however) or that because of my location the getFlash11 extension is attempting to download from an Adobe site/mirror that is having a problem. Again though no indication of this from other users on the web. ???
« Last Edit: April 17, 2016, 07:21:14 PM by thane »

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1540
Re: getFlash needs update?
« Reply #14 on: April 17, 2016, 07:56:13 PM »
Any problem downloading manually via the link provided by getFlash11.sh?
Code: [Select]
curl -s 'https://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/download/?installer=Flash_Player_11.2_for_other_Linux_(.tar.gz)_32-bit&standalone=1'  | grep -o 'https://fpdownload.adobe.com/get/flashplayer/pdc/11.2.*/install_flash_player_11_linux.i386.tar.gz'
Because here it works.
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)