WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: waveshare 3.5 touchscreen how to get working in picore  (Read 4906 times)

Offline jgrulich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • GRULICH DESIGN - R&D Lab.
Re: waveshare 3.5 touchscreen how to get working in picore
« Reply #15 on: March 16, 2016, 12:49:32 PM »
Good, the issue was probably in the modules.
You don't need to use any additional script at startup.
Run the script, or the missing corresponding steps from it and do "sudo backup" and "sudo reboot".
Than it will work at startup.



Offline madmax6

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: waveshare 3.5 touchscreen how to get working in picore
« Reply #16 on: March 16, 2016, 11:18:10 PM »
thanks jgrulich dat worked i had to use your simple script for startup, the screen works even after reboot.
so i think i'm alright with it, but my question is how to point jivelite to the screen.
when i start up i can see black screen with text,  but i wan't to see jivelite image of wat is playing, can you help me to set jivelite to the screen?

Offline jgrulich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • GRULICH DESIGN - R&D Lab.
Re: waveshare 3.5 touchscreen how to get working in picore
« Reply #17 on: March 17, 2016, 07:28:48 AM »
@madmax6
seems that we may close the issue with the tft setup.

Sorry, I don't use jivelite. I've tested to redirect it to the /dev/fb1, but no lucky.
Guess that it's question on the piCorePlayer guys in the another forum:
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,14634.90.html#lastPost
I'll post there this request.

Offline jgrulich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • GRULICH DESIGN - R&D Lab.
Re: waveshare 3.5 touchscreen how to get working in picore
« Reply #18 on: March 18, 2016, 12:10:16 AM »
Have it !!!
Hence the Jivelite is hardcoded to the HDMI, as a last resort I've used the fbcp utility which simply copy /dev/fb0 to /dev/fb1.
The setup is simple:
1) remove fbcon=map:10, or use fbcon=map:0 in the cmdline.txt
2) install rpi-vc.tcz
3) download fbcp into the /opt directory
4) place the /opt/fbcp at the end of the bootlocal.sh
5) sudo backup

And reboot. That's all.

Offline madmax6

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: waveshare 3.5 touchscreen how to get working in picore
« Reply #19 on: March 18, 2016, 02:28:35 AM »
Wow that's great news.
So we have to install rpi-vci.tz and then use framecopybuffer?
Something like this?
sudo apt-get install -y cmake
git clone https://github.com/tasanakorn/rpi-fbcp
mkdir -p rpi-fbcp/build
cd rpi-fbcp/build
cmake ..
make
sudo install fbcp /usr/local/bin/fbcp

Offline jgrulich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • GRULICH DESIGN - R&D Lab.
Re: waveshare 3.5 touchscreen how to get working in picore
« Reply #20 on: March 18, 2016, 03:08:49 AM »
Yes, that's it.

Offline jgrulich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • GRULICH DESIGN - R&D Lab.
Re: waveshare 3.5 touchscreen how to get working in picore
« Reply #21 on: March 18, 2016, 11:53:04 AM »
The fbcp has slow refresh rate and for the Jivelite VU Meter it's not useful.
Better is to use raspi2fb:
https://github.com/AndrewFromMelbourne/raspi2fb
and set the raspi2fb --daemon --fps 20
Than it's nearly same fast as the LCD at HDMI.
It consumes roughly 10% of the CPU at RPi 1.

Offline jgrulich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • GRULICH DESIGN - R&D Lab.
Re: waveshare 3.5 touchscreen how to get working in picore
« Reply #22 on: March 20, 2016, 12:43:34 AM »
The TFT works well, but the touchscreen has wrong calibration and mirrored the X axis.
Don't know how to adjust it. Hence the xorg is not running, the standard calibration can't be used.
There need to be some other way how to calibrate the ads7846 module, or additional setup when the module is loaded.
The initial setup is done when the module is loaded with overlay, but it is not enough.

Offline madmax6

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: waveshare 3.5 touchscreen how to get working in picore
« Reply #23 on: March 20, 2016, 06:30:37 AM »
Oke i will give it a try tommorow, doesn't read 99config.d?

Offline jgrulich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • GRULICH DESIGN - R&D Lab.
Re: waveshare 3.5 touchscreen how to get working in picore
« Reply #24 on: March 20, 2016, 01:51:09 PM »
I've tested whatever around /etc/X11 like setup, but no luck.

Offline jgrulich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • GRULICH DESIGN - R&D Lab.
Re: waveshare 3.5 touchscreen how to get working in picore
« Reply #25 on: March 20, 2016, 11:29:31 PM »
Hence it doesn't run under the xorg, the regular x-window calibration can't be used.
Guess that Jivelite uses general /dev/input/mice for the cursor. But it is OR function from mouse0 - regular mouse and mouse1 - touchscreen. Than I need to somehow recalibrate the mouse1 only to match.

Offline madmax6

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: waveshare 3.5 touchscreen how to get working in picore
« Reply #26 on: March 21, 2016, 07:09:16 AM »
how did you install raspi2fb in tiny core, dpkg install doesn't work?

Offline jgrulich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • GRULICH DESIGN - R&D Lab.
Re: waveshare 3.5 touchscreen how to get working in picore
« Reply #27 on: March 22, 2016, 12:59:19 AM »
I've used this link: https://github.com/AndrewFromMelbourne/raspi2fb/archive/master.zip
Installed compile-essentials, rpi-vc and followed the building steps.

Offline patrikg

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
Re: waveshare 3.5 touchscreen how to get working in picore
« Reply #28 on: March 22, 2016, 02:15:03 AM »
A great tip for github.

When getting from github this master.zip file, you may use this file.
If you don't have support for zip in linux.
Linux have more support for gzip and tar.

Code: (bash) [Select]
https://github.com/AndrewFromMelbourne/raspi2fb/archive/master.tar.gz

Offline madmax6

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: waveshare 3.5 touchscreen how to get working in picore
« Reply #29 on: March 22, 2016, 02:48:05 AM »
i've done that, downloaded the zip file unpack it and use winscp to copy to raspberry home/tc folder.
but the commands on tinycore differ from raspbian, how did you install this?