WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: zram - swap-device in ram  (Read 2512 times)

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1026
zram - swap-device in ram
« on: March 01, 2016, 07:43:21 AM »
hi friends,

in earlier installations of tinycore i had a swap-device in the memory.
later this zram-feature disappeared.

is there a reason for that?

thank you for your replies.

Offline patrikg

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 448
Re: zram - swap-device in ram
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2016, 10:42:03 AM »
Take a look at your bootcodes(kernel cmdline args).

http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/wiki:boot_codes_explained
http://distro.ibiblio.org/tinycorelinux/faq.html#bootcodes

The contents of the boot command line are visible in /proc/cmdline.

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1026
Re: zram - swap-device in ram
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2016, 03:10:24 PM »
hi patrikg,

there a bootcodes for using a swapfile, no swap at all and a bootcode for avoiding zram.

tinycore swapfile{=hda1}       Scan or Specify swapfile
tinycore noswap                      Do not use swap partition
tinycore nozswap                    Skip compressed swap in ram

so zram was the default swap in the former configurations.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
Re: zram - swap-device in ram
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2016, 10:24:41 PM »
zram swap was disabled early in dCore as I could not get it working.  I will revisit it and see if I can find what the issue was, as it was and still is enabled in the dCore kernel config.

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1026
Re: zram - swap-device in ram
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2016, 08:52:55 AM »
... that sounds really good :-)

Offline kevinfish

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: zram - swap-device in ram
« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2016, 01:16:43 PM »
is this working yet?

If so how do I get it on my machine?

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
Re: zram - swap-device in ram
« Reply #6 on: June 26, 2016, 01:38:14 PM »
Not now, but when time allows I will revisit it.