WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Can't Play Audio CD  (Read 7026 times)

Offline ordep

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Can't Play Audio CD
« on: February 22, 2016, 07:21:20 PM »
Unable yet to play an audio CD.

In alsamixer all needed controls are up.

aplay -l
Code: [Select]
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC662 rev1 Analog [ALC662 rev1 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: ALC662 rev1 Digital [ALC662 rev1 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

aplay track01.cdda.wav (extracted from CD)
Code: [Select]
ALSA lib conf.c:3512:(snd_config_hook_load) cannot stat file/directory /usr/local/share/alsa/cards/aliases.conf
ALSA lib pcm.c:2239:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.default
aplay: main:722: audio open error: No such file or directory

xmms tells me
Quote
Please check that you soundcard is configured properly
You have the correct output plugin selected

So what am I missing?

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14568
Re: Can't Play Audio CD
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2016, 08:49:45 PM »
There was an example of a similar problem in a recent thread:

http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,19621.msg121576.html#msg121576


Offline ordep

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: Can't Play Audio CD
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2016, 07:39:33 PM »
Thanks!
Just now listening to an audio CD on xmms.

And after 3rd track xmms crashed and does not come-up anymore.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14568
Re: Can't Play Audio CD
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2016, 09:52:43 PM »
do you get an error message when you try to run xmms from a terminal window?

Offline ordep

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: Can't Play Audio CD
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2016, 11:54:46 PM »
do you get an error message when you try to run xmms from a terminal window?

No messages whatsoever.

On reboot xmms started again then hang configuring drive on "check drive". Had to use xkill.

I have it installed as OnDemand.
« Last Edit: February 23, 2016, 11:58:38 PM by ordep »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14568
Re: Can't Play Audio CD
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2016, 12:09:43 AM »
xmms needs to be configured for alsa, so it's possible that loading it ondemand might cause problems if it is loaded before alsa is installed/configured.

Offline ordep

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: Can't Play Audio CD
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2016, 08:33:28 PM »
Made a new install for version 7.0

xmms is playing audio CD nicely except there is no sound.

aplay plays as well w/o any error messages, except there is no sound.

alsamixer all controls are up, same for volume in xmms.

Now I am at a loss. ???

Code: [Select]
$ sudo slocate /mnt/sdb4/tce/optional/alsa*
/mnt/sdb4/tce/optional/alsa-config.tcz.dep
/mnt/sdb4/tce/optional/alsa-config.tcz.md5.txt
/mnt/sdb4/tce/optional/alsa-config.tcz
/mnt/sdb4/tce/optional/alsa-config.tcz.dep
/mnt/sdb4/tce/optional/alsa-config.tcz.md5.txt
/mnt/sdb4/tce/optional/alsa-modules-4.2.9-tinycore.tcz.dep
/mnt/sdb4/tce/optional/alsa-modules-4.2.9-tinycore.tcz.md5.txt
/mnt/sdb4/tce/optional/alsa-modules-4.2.9-tinycore.tcz
/mnt/sdb4/tce/optional/alsa-modules-4.2.9-tinycore.tcz.dep
/mnt/sdb4/tce/optional/alsa-modules-4.2.9-tinycore.tcz.md5.txt
/mnt/sdb4/tce/optional/alsa-plugins.tcz.dep
/mnt/sdb4/tce/optional/alsa-plugins.tcz.md5.txt
/mnt/sdb4/tce/optional/alsa-plugins.tcz
/mnt/sdb4/tce/optional/alsa-plugins.tcz.dep
/mnt/sdb4/tce/optional/alsa-plugins.tcz.md5.txt
/mnt/sdb4/tce/optional/alsa.tcz.dep
/mnt/sdb4/tce/optional/alsa.tcz.md5.txt
/mnt/sdb4/tce/optional/alsa.tcz
/mnt/sdb4/tce/optional/alsa.tcz.dep
/mnt/sdb4/tce/optional/alsa.tcz.md5.txt

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14568
Re: Can't Play Audio CD
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2016, 09:03:05 PM »
A couple of suggestions based on recent posts and my hardware:

* you might have to mute the headphones channel to get sound out of the speakers
* hdmi might be the default device rather than the speakers
* you might need to load the alsa-config extension before the alsa extension (this requires editing the alsa-config dep file locally)

What does "aplay -l" output?

Offline ordep

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: Can't Play Audio CD
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2016, 10:18:03 PM »
A couple of suggestions based on recent posts and my hardware:

* you might have to mute the headphones channel to get sound out of the speakers
* hdmi might be the default device rather than the speakers
* you might need to load the alsa-config extension before the alsa extension (this requires editing the alsa-config dep file locally)

What does "aplay -l" output?

* headphones are muted
* hdmi how would I change that?
* that was done
Code: [Select]
~$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC662 rev1 Analog [ALC662 rev1 Analog]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: ALC662 rev1 Digital [ALC662 rev1 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Code: [Select]
~$ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by    Tainted: G 
snd_usb_audio          86016  0
snd_hda_codec_realtek    45056  1
snd_usbmidi_lib        20480  1 snd_usb_audio
snd_hda_codec_generic    36864  1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_rawmidi            16384  1 snd_usbmidi_lib
snd_seq_device         12288  1 snd_rawmidi
snd_hda_intel          20480  3
snd_hda_codec          53248  3 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep              12288  2 snd_usb_audio,snd_hda_codec
snd_hda_core           24576  4 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                49152  5 snd_usb_audio,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_core
snd_timer              20480  2 snd_pcm
snd                    36864 15 snd_usb_audio,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_usbmidi_lib,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore              12288  1 snd

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14568
Re: Can't Play Audio CD
« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2016, 10:27:21 PM »
It doesn't look like you have hdmi, so you don't have to worry about that.

As long as the "master" is un-muted by alsamixer, it looks like things should work?

Did you try modifying your alsa-config dep file locally to remove the dep on alsa? Once done, reboot then load alsa-config followed by alsa.

Offline ordep

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: Can't Play Audio CD
« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2016, 11:51:01 PM »
It doesn't look like you have hdmi, so you don't have to worry about that.

As long as the "master" is un-muted by alsamixer, it looks like things should work?

Did you try modifying your alsa-config dep file locally to remove the dep on alsa? Once done, reboot then load alsa-config followed by alsa.

Did as suggested, rebooted, xmms started to play for a split second then hang. xkilled.
Rebooted and extracting extensions stopped at soundtouch. Got only into console. In mc deleted soundtouch.
Rebooted, extracting extensions stopped at sdl-sound. Can get into console. No X.
Seems I am screwed now  :'(

If I will recover I will forget about xmms and see if sound will play in firefox..

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14568
Re: Can't Play Audio CD
« Reply #11 on: February 26, 2016, 12:02:38 AM »
When something like this happens, it's better to boot with the boot codes "base norestore".

Deleting extensions like that will cause problems if other extensions depend on them - it would be better to remove extensions from onboot.lst.

For the few seconds xmms played did you hear any sound?

Were you using Xvesa, Xfbdev or Xorg-7.7?

I've never, ever managed to crash xmms  :P

Offline ordep

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: Can't Play Audio CD
« Reply #12 on: February 26, 2016, 12:32:59 AM »
When something like this happens, it's better to boot with the boot codes "base norestore".

Deleting extensions like that will cause problems if other extensions depend on them - it would be better to remove extensions from onboot.lst.

For the few seconds xmms played did you hear any sound?

Were you using Xvesa, Xfbdev or Xorg-7.7?

I've never, ever managed to crash xmms  :P

There was a sound.

Possibly Xorg-7.7

And I saw it crash or hang now quite a few times.  ::)

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: Can't Play Audio CD
« Reply #13 on: February 26, 2016, 04:39:52 AM »
How much RAM does the system have?
Run memtest86.

Offline ordep

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: Can't Play Audio CD
« Reply #14 on: February 26, 2016, 06:31:07 PM »
How much RAM does the system have?
Run memtest86.

There is no memtest86, however:
Code: [Select]
$ free
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:       2062100     826224    1235876     198180      54376     440752
-/+ buffers/cache:     331096    1731004
Swap:       505264          0     505264