WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: QEMU for 64bit?  (Read 12066 times)

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6957
Re: QEMU for 64bit?
« Reply #15 on: February 07, 2016, 09:42:31 PM »
Hi flyingfishfinger
Is your extension trying to start QEMU when it gets loaded? If so, that might be why it hangs since X isn't up yet.

Offline flyingfishfinger

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: QEMU for 64bit?
« Reply #16 on: February 07, 2016, 09:48:59 PM »
By "start" you mean open a VM? No, definitely not. All it's trying to do is load the tools. If it's not loaded, I can't execute any qemu-related commands.
Is there a way for me to debug what's making it hang?

R

Also,  I noticed that when I DO run a VM (after loading everything post-boot), it's quite a bit slower than running the same VM from my Ubuntu install on the same machine. It's using KVM in both instances, but there's definitely more lag and time to open programs and such under TC.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2016, 09:58:40 PM by flyingfishfinger »

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6957
Re: QEMU for 64bit?
« Reply #17 on: February 07, 2016, 10:02:21 PM »
Hi flyingfishfinger
Do any of the tools require that the network is up?

Offline flyingfishfinger

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: QEMU for 64bit?
« Reply #18 on: February 07, 2016, 10:11:29 PM »
Shouldn't, although I'm not sure how to check this. It works fine if there's no network cable or wireless attached post-boot, at any rate.

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6957
Re: QEMU for 64bit?
« Reply #19 on: February 07, 2016, 10:23:52 PM »
Hi flyingfishfinger
Is there a startup script in  /usr/local/tce.installed  for QEMU? Post it if there is.

Offline flyingfishfinger

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: QEMU for 64bit?
« Reply #20 on: February 07, 2016, 10:38:40 PM »
No, there isn't. Should there be?

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6957
Re: QEMU for 64bit?
« Reply #21 on: February 07, 2016, 10:53:27 PM »
Hi flyingfishfinger
Not necessarily. Startup scripts are used for things like setting up directories, copying files, setting permissions, etc. that
an extension may require.

Quote
Is there a way for me to debug what's making it hang?
Try adding  syslog  to the your boot loader. Then check  /var/log/messages  for clues.

Offline flyingfishfinger

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: QEMU for 64bit?
« Reply #22 on: February 07, 2016, 11:16:40 PM »
Did, here's the last bit (from the mounting of mydata) until the end:

Quote
Feb  7 23:00:07 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/mount /mnt/sda1
Feb  7 23:00:07 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/tar -C / -zxf /mnt/sda1//mydata.tgz
Feb  7 23:00:07 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/umount /mnt/sda1
Feb  7 23:00:07 box auth.notice su: + /dev/console root:tc
Feb  7 23:00:07 box authpriv.notice sudo:       tc : TTY=console ; PWD=/mnt/sdb1/tce/optional ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/mkdir -p /tmp/tcloop/qemu64
Feb  7 23:00:07 box authpriv.notice sudo:       tc : TTY=console ; PWD=/mnt/sdb1/tce/optional ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/mount qemu64.tcz /tmp/tcloop/qemu64 -t squashfs -o loop,ro,bs=4096
Feb  7 23:00:08 box user.debug kernel: e1000e 0000:00:19.0: irq 46 for MSI/MSI-X
Feb  7 23:00:08 box authpriv.notice sudo:       tc : TTY=console ; PWD=/mnt/sdb1/tce/optional ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/cp -ais /tmp/tcloop/qemu64/home /tmp/tcloop/qemu64/usr /
Feb  7 23:00:08 box user.debug kernel: e1000e 0000:00:19.0: irq 46 for MSI/MSI-X
Feb  7 23:00:08 box authpriv.notice sudo:       tc : TTY=console ; PWD=/mnt/sdb1/tce/optional ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/sbin/ldconfig
Feb  7 23:00:08 box daemon.info init: starting pid 3031, tty '/dev/tty1': '/sbin/getty -nl /sbin/autologin 38400 tty1'
Feb  7 23:00:08 box auth.info login[3031]: root login on 'tty1'
Feb  7 23:00:08 box authpriv.notice sudo:       tc : TTY=unknown ; PWD=/home/tc ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/usr/bin/tee /etc/sysconfig/backup
Feb  7 23:00:09 box user.info kernel: e1000e: eth0 NIC Link is Up 100 Mbps Full Duplex, Flow Control: Rx/Tx
Feb  7 23:00:09 box user.info kernel: e1000e 0000:00:19.0 eth0: 10/100 speed: disabling TSO

...I guess it does do something with the network device, then. I don't know enough to draw any conclusions from this though, unfortunately.

I had
su tc -c "tce-load -i qemu64.tcz"
 in the bootsync.sh, but it behaves the same way as when I try loading it with onboot. I'll look if that version produces a different message log..

Update: Here's the version where it's in onboot.lst instead:

Quote
Feb  7 23:25:01 box authpriv.notice sudo:       tc : TTY=console ; PWD=/mnt/sdb1/tce/optional ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/mkdir -p /tmp/tcloop/qemu64
Feb  7 23:25:01 box authpriv.notice sudo:       tc : TTY=console ; PWD=/mnt/sdb1/tce/optional ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/mount qemu64.tcz /tmp/tcloop/qemu64 -t squashfs -o loop,ro,bs=4096
Feb  7 23:25:01 box authpriv.notice sudo:       tc : TTY=console ; PWD=/mnt/sdb1/tce/optional ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/cp -ais /tmp/tcloop/qemu64/home /tmp/tcloop/qemu64/usr /
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: probe_mask set to 0x1 for device 17aa:20ac
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.debug kernel: snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: irq 47 for MSI/MSI-X
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.warn kernel: usb 2-4: Warning! Unlikely big volume range (=511), cval->res is probably wrong.
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.warn kernel: usb 2-4: [14] FU [Digital In Playback Volume] ch = 6, val = -8176/0/16
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: usbcore: registered new interface driver snd-usb-audio
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: thinkpad_acpi: ThinkPad ACPI Extras v0.25
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: thinkpad_acpi: http://ibm-acpi.sf.net/
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: thinkpad_acpi: ThinkPad BIOS 7NETC2WW (2.22 ), EC 7MHT25WW-1.03
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: thinkpad_acpi: Lenovo ThinkPad X61, model 7673JBB
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: thinkpad_acpi: detected a 16-level brightness capable ThinkPad
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: thinkpad_acpi: radio switch found; radios are enabled
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: thinkpad_acpi: This ThinkPad has standard ACPI backlight brightness control, supported by the ACPI video driver
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.notice kernel: thinkpad_acpi: Disabling thinkpad-acpi brightness events by default...
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: thinkpad_acpi: rfkill switch tpacpi_wwan_sw: radio is unblocked
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: thinkpad_acpi: Standard ACPI backlight interface available, not loading native one
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: thinkpad_acpi: Console audio control enabled, mode: monitor (read only)
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: input: ThinkPad Extra Buttons as /devices/platform/thinkpad_acpi/input/input7
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: sound hdaudioC0D0: autoconfig: line_outs=1 (0x12/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0) type:speaker
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: sound hdaudioC0D0:    speaker_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: sound hdaudioC0D0:    hp_outs=1 (0x11/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: sound hdaudioC0D0:    mono: mono_out=0x0
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: sound hdaudioC0D0:    inputs:
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: sound hdaudioC0D0:      Internal Mic=0x15
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: sound hdaudioC0D0:      Dock Mic=0x1c
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: sound hdaudioC0D0:      Mic=0x14
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: input: HDA Intel Dock Mic as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0/input8
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: input: HDA Intel Mic as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0/input9
Feb  7 23:25:03 box user.info kernel: input: HDA Intel Headphone as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0/input10
Feb  7 23:25:03 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/chown tc:staff -R /home/tc/.config/nano
Feb  7 23:25:03 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/chmod 644 /home/tc/.config/nano/nanorc
Feb  7 23:25:06 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/chown -R root.staff /usr/local/tce.installed
Feb  7 23:25:06 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/chmod -R 775 /usr/local/tce.installed
Feb  7 23:25:07 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/sh
Feb  7 23:25:07 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/cp /usr/local/share/wbar/dot.wbar /usr/local/tce.icons
Feb  7 23:25:07 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/chown root.staff /usr/local/tce.icons
Feb  7 23:25:07 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/chmod g+w /usr/local/tce.icons
Feb  7 23:25:07 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/mv /tmp/wbar.2273 /usr/local/tce.icons
Feb  7 23:25:07 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/chmod g+w /usr/local/tce.icons
Feb  7 23:25:07 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/mv /tmp/wbar.2283 /usr/local/tce.icons
Feb  7 23:25:07 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/chmod g+w /usr/local/tce.icons
Feb  7 23:25:07 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/mv /tmp/wbar.2291 /usr/local/tce.icons
Feb  7 23:25:07 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/chmod g+w /usr/local/tce.icons
Feb  7 23:25:07 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/mv /tmp/wbar.2299 /usr/local/tce.icons
Feb  7 23:25:07 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/chmod g+w /usr/local/tce.icons
Feb  7 23:25:07 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/mv /tmp/wbar.2309 /usr/local/tce.icons
Feb  7 23:25:07 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/chmod g+w /usr/local/tce.icons
Feb  7 23:25:07 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/mv /tmp/wbar.2317 /usr/local/tce.icons
Feb  7 23:25:07 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/chmod g+w /usr/local/tce.icons
Feb  7 23:25:08 box authpriv.notice sudo:     root : TTY=console ; PWD=/ ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/ln -s /usr/local/etc/udev/rules.d/90-alsa-restore.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/
Feb  7 23:25:08 box daemon.info init: starting pid 2830, tty '/dev/tty1': '/sbin/getty -nl /sbin/autologin 38400 tty1'
Feb  7 23:25:08 box auth.info login[2830]: root login on 'tty1'
Feb  7 23:25:08 box authpriv.notice sudo:       tc : TTY=unknown ; PWD=/home/tc ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/usr/bin/tee /etc/sysconfig/backup
Feb  7 23:25:08 box user.debug kernel: e1000e 0000:00:19.0: irq 43 for MSI/MSI-X
Feb  7 23:25:09 box user.debug kernel: e1000e 0000:00:19.0: irq 43 for MSI/MSI-X
Feb  7 23:25:10 box user.info kernel: e1000e: eth0 NIC Link is Up 100 Mbps Full Duplex, Flow Control: Rx/Tx
Feb  7 23:25:10 box user.info kernel: e1000e 0000:00:19.0 eth0: 10/100 speed: disabling TSO

Same hangup with both variants...

Thanks for your continued help!

R
« Last Edit: February 07, 2016, 11:31:44 PM by flyingfishfinger »

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10065
Re: QEMU for 64bit?
« Reply #23 on: February 08, 2016, 01:33:52 AM »
Why does your extension contain /home? If that overwrites the provided files, it could cause issues like this. Another guess would be running out of RAM, but I guess your extension isn't that big vs your RAM.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Online Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11106
Re: QEMU for 64bit?
« Reply #24 on: February 08, 2016, 03:34:27 AM »
What's open-vm? Haven't seen it anywhere...
Sorry - I meant your qemu extension

Offline flyingfishfinger

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: QEMU for 64bit?
« Reply #25 on: February 08, 2016, 08:01:54 PM »
Progress!
You're right, I shouldn't have zipped up the /home directory in the extension. I followed the directions for making one, and there was a QEMU-related file in the directory so I left it in.
Removed it, fixed permissions (755) and voila, no longer hangs on boot! I'm writing this from inside the VM, as it happens!

Always more questions though  ::) :
- Is there a spice client for TC? The graphics performance is kind of terrible, and I'd like to be able to start the VM on boot so I can just connect to it once the desktop shows up. I wrote this whole sentence before it appeared in the box, for example.
- There doesn't seem to be a cpufreq-util in the 64-bit category. Is that correct?
- I'm having trouble with my screen resolution, but that's probably a better question for a new thread.


R

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6957
Re: QEMU for 64bit?
« Reply #26 on: February 08, 2016, 08:23:59 PM »
Hi flyingfishfinger
Quote
... I'd like to be able to start the VM on boot so I can just connect to it once the desktop shows up.
Create a file under  /home/tc/.X.d  containing the command to start QEMU. Something like:
Code: [Select]
qemu-x86_64 options &

Online Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11106
Re: QEMU for 64bit?
« Reply #27 on: February 08, 2016, 09:06:55 PM »
There doesn't seem to be a cpufreq-util in the 64-bit category.

That's true, but an element of cpufreq functionality is built into the base - Curaga can probably provide more details.

Offline flyingfishfinger

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: QEMU for 64bit?
« Reply #28 on: February 08, 2016, 09:17:35 PM »
Rich: What's the difference between doing that and putting it bootsync?

Also, I found that this doesn't seem to work if you're using SDL. The machine will start before X, but I don't know how to connect to an SDL session after that.
What kind of VNC clients are there for corepure64? I didn't see any in the list.
In trying to build the spice client, spice-protocol, cyrus-sasl and vala-tools don't seem to exist. Will look into it further.

R

Online Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11106
Re: QEMU for 64bit?
« Reply #29 on: February 08, 2016, 09:20:04 PM »
What's the difference between doing that and putting it bootsync?

In ~/.X.d it will not start until after X has started.