General TC > General TC Talk

Interested journalist with a few questions

(1/4) > >>

interestedjournalist:
Hi there,

I'm a freelance technical journalist writing a review/overview/brief history of Tiny Core Linux for an online news site. I have a few questions for  the developers/users, if you'd be willing to bear with me:

1. Who are the ideal users of Tiny Core Linux? Developers using the system as a base and "remixing" it for other purposes? General-purpose computing users? Those looking for a "dumb" cloud terminal?

2. I know the system is optimized to be run "live" in RAM but an installation image is also provided. The official e-book seems to discourage installation. But for those who want persistence of data/installed applications, wouldn't installation be ideal? It seems a little... convoluted to try to maintain persistence over "live" sessions if installing Tiny Core would simplify this.

3. How are security updates done? How frequently does the distribution put them out?

4. Roughly how strong/involved would you say the development community is? Do one or more people end up doing the "core" (no pun intended) of the work with a few others contributing as much as they can with the time they have? Are there a number of people who do "one-off" contributions and are not heard from again?

5. What were the main goals and achievements of the 7.0 distribution over the last version of the 6.x series? I see that there is, for example, a newer version of busybox, an updated glibc and a new kernel, but what would you say are the major changes?

6. Once 7.0 comes out, what are the team's goals for the project going forward?

7. Is this forum the best place to participate in Tiny Core's development? Or is there a collaborative source code repository on a site such as GitHub to work with?

8. What type of help does the project most need?

Thanks so much for your patience! Tiny Core Linux is a fascinating Linux distribution.

Take care,
Adam

Misalf: