WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7  (Read 36790 times)

Offline jgrulich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 341
    • GRULICH DESIGN - R&D Lab.
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #15 on: January 18, 2016, 12:50:30 AM »
@ Paul_123,

please share the build setup you've used to let Béla to check it and modify if needed to be in line with his TC repo needs.

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7179
    • My Community Forum
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #16 on: January 18, 2016, 01:29:47 AM »
perl5.tcz updated to 5.22.1 in 7.x repo, 64-bit integers enabled.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline Paul_123

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 842
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #17 on: January 18, 2016, 05:44:29 AM »
Let me know exactly which Perl options you need and I will rebuild it.

First, it needs to be perl 5.20  (5.22 is not supported yet)

-Duse64bitint
(multi threading enabled, I'm not at home to look at the correct Configure switch)

Perl needs report the architecture as
arm-linux-gnueabihf-thread-multi-64int


Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7179
    • My Community Forum
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #18 on: January 18, 2016, 06:03:38 AM »
Hi,

would be suprized if an 5.20 script wouldn't run on 5.22 with few are without any mods at all.

Now it supports 64-bit int type and reports armv7l-linux-thread-multi-64int

It has all the features you need. If the apps need specific directory names, path, etc. than adjust the application :( For sure reported architecture and version string will stay for 7.x as it is now.


Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline Paul_123

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 842
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #19 on: January 18, 2016, 06:35:14 AM »
Hi,

would be suprized if an 5.20 script wouldn't run on 5.22 with few are without any mods at all.

Now it supports 64-bit int type and reports armv7l-linux-thread-multi-64int

It has all the features you need. If the apps need specific directory names, path, etc. than adjust the application :( For sure reported architecture and version string will stay for 7.x as it is now.

It's very picky.   It didn't work on my wandboard that was arm7 until I made it exactly as stated.   No worries, I can supply the custom perl to these guys.

Paul

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7179
    • My Community Forum
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #20 on: January 18, 2016, 07:22:36 AM »
Hi Paul

it is great. However it would be good to have an LMS as a TCZ for the stock piCore 7.0
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline Paul_123

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 842
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #21 on: January 18, 2016, 07:53:02 AM »
Hi Paul

it is great. However it would be good to have an LMS as a TCZ for the stock piCore 7.0

The perl is simple.....what we have to put some thought into is where the Sql database is stored. 

Also, what version of LMS.

Offline jgrulich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 341
    • GRULICH DESIGN - R&D Lab.
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #22 on: January 18, 2016, 12:50:54 PM »
Quote
It's very picky.   It didn't work on my wandboard that was arm7 until I made it exactly as stated.   No worries, I can supply the custom perl to these guys.

Yes, you're right. I've tested the updated version of perl 5.22, but no lucky. It still looks for the right one from some 5.20 and older.

I've tried to build the CPAN modules within the 5.20.1 version from 6.x distro, but it stops and requires to install yasm, or nasm. But it is not in the 7.x repo, or can't be found by search engine.


Offline sbp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • piCorePlayer homepage
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #23 on: January 18, 2016, 10:56:54 PM »

The perl is simple.....what we have to put some thought into is where the Sql database is stored. 

Also, what version of LMS.

This is great news. I agree that we need to consider how to build it the smartest way.

The LMS is relatively often updated, whereas the PERL version is rather stable.

So I still think it would optimal if we could build scripts that allowed us to update the LMS directly independent from the PERL. Maybe pull the files from the tar ball or GIT - like described here: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?99648-Howto-build-a-self-contained-LMS 


Offline Paul_123

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 842
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #24 on: January 19, 2016, 05:43:39 AM »
The LMS is relatively often updated, whereas the PERL version is rather stable.

So I still think it would optimal if we could build scripts that allowed us to update the LMS directly independent from the PERL. Maybe pull the files from the tar ball or GIT - like described here: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?99648-Howto-build-a-self-contained-LMS

I'll package up perl in it's own extension.   I recompiled it last night to move it to path /usr/local/perl5/   The extension will probably just be called perl5.20.3.tcz    Paths are all hard coded in perl, so as long as you call "/usr/local/perl5/bin/perl" it knows where everything is.

As for LMS
At home, on my main server, I have the full git tree downloaded, and I run LMS from that tree.  When I want to update, I just run git pull.

What I did to run LMS in piCore, was just download the tarball from git, extract it.   The CPAN files that are in the default git, work fine.    Then  edit the first line of both slimserver.pl, and scanner.pl to point at the special version of perl.   Then start the system.

Is there any reason that we would not just build an extension with the latest LMS and then put the slimserver.conf and data folders in the backup set  versus putting the whole tree in a persistant partition?

Offline Paul_123

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 842
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #25 on: January 19, 2016, 01:34:29 PM »
Well I think I'm answering my own questions....but

Tarball Download is 170MB compressed.   Once I pull all of the binaries for other architectures out of the tarball, it is 25MB compressed.   So I don't think we want to pull from the git site.......but a 25MB extension is going to use a good chunk of extra ram.

I know there are cache folders created and thumbnails too......so this may work best if we load this on a disk partition.

Thoughts??




Offline Paul_123

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 842
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #26 on: January 19, 2016, 05:34:48 PM »
Here is a link to the perl 5.20.3 extension

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/qj0hrk42tiepokl/AAApIaR9_mpmmHor0SZPPGhZa?dl=0

I did start LMS, and run a full music scan, attach players and play some MP3 and Flac files.

Offline bhan

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #27 on: January 20, 2016, 02:45:55 PM »
Hi Paul,
I spend a lot of time to get  LMS running on TinyCore but didn't succeed.
I would appreciate it very much if you would create an LMS extenstion and make it available in Dropbox or better in the TinyCore repo so everyone can benefit from your hard work.
Best regards

Offline jgrulich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 341
    • GRULICH DESIGN - R&D Lab.
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #28 on: January 21, 2016, 04:52:40 AM »
The LSM extension is not the issue, I'll provide the link to my .tcz, but the issue is still the perl, which doesn't still work, even that one perl-5.20.3.tcz provided by Paul. Still there need to be some hidden imp which waste all our effort and time.
I'll start again from scratch, means clean piCore-7.0 image and store all the steps and hope that together we will find it.

Offline jgrulich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 341
    • GRULICH DESIGN - R&D Lab.
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #29 on: January 21, 2016, 06:55:55 AM »
You may download .tcz here: http://grulich.eu/files/logitechmediaserver.tcz

The setup was:
Code: (bash) [Select]
sudo ar -x logitechmediaserver_7.9.0.deb
sudo mkdir pkg
sudo tar xvf data.tar.gz -C pkg

Than I've removed all the CPAN and bin files related to another than arch platform and perl older than 5.20.

Than added the startup script and made the .tcz:
Code: (bash) [Select]
sudo mkdir -p pkg/usr/local/tce.installed
sudo cp logitechmediaserver-pi pkg/usr/local/tce.installed/logitechmediaserver
sudo chmod -R 775 pkg/usr/local/tce.installed
sudo chown -R root:staff pkg/usr/local/tce.installed
mksquashfs pkg /etc/sysconfig/tcedir/optional/logitechmediaserver.tcz -noappend

Load the tcz:
Code: (bash) [Select]
tce-load -i logitechmediaserver

When tried
Code: (bash) [Select]
sudo /usr/sbin/squeezeboxserver

I got the error "File not found" It was, because the modified perl is not linked to /bin. Correction:
Code: (bash) [Select]
sudo ln -sf /usr/local/perl5/bin/perl /usr/bin

Than the Slim need to be linked:
Code: (bash) [Select]
sudo ln -sf /usr/share/perl5/Slim  /usr/local/perl5/lib/5.20.3

But still the
Code: (bash) [Select]
sudo /usr/sbin/squeezeboxserver

reports the error that the CPAN models can't be loaded.