WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Make a bond0 in Micro Core Linux?  (Read 10240 times)

Offline apuboard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Make a bond0 in Micro Core Linux?
« on: December 03, 2015, 11:48:42 PM »
I would like to bond two ethernet connections. From what I've read you can do it with
Code: [Select]
ifenslave but this is not installed on Micro Core Linux.
Is there an other easy way to do this? Or can anybody help me to install it?

Offline apuboard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Make a bond0 in Micro Core Linux?
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2015, 12:22:36 AM »
Update
So I found out that the busybox which is on the Micro Core is an older version and it doesn't contain ifenslave. The newer one does.
Can I install ifenslave directly from busybox with busybox --install [-s] [DIR] or can I update the busybox version anyhow?

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10957
Re: Make a bond0 in Micro Core Linux?
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2015, 01:57:28 AM »
You need to rebuild busybox to add applets. It may be easier to build ifenslave the standalone package.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline apuboard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Make a bond0 in Micro Core Linux?
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2015, 02:07:19 AM »
Where can I get it from?. Firstly it's not in the tce-ab. Can I use any ifenslave and then compile it(I never compiled a programm before)? And I just downloaded the busybox-1.24.2 wouldn't it be easier to just update the busybox(I didn't updated a busybox either, so I don't know how hard this would be)? Or do you know an other/easier way to bond two ethernet interfaces?
« Last Edit: December 04, 2015, 02:12:09 AM by apuboard »

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: Make a bond0 in Micro Core Linux?
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2015, 02:16:03 AM »
  Question what do you want to do with interfaces. Maybe bridging would work.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline apuboard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Make a bond0 in Micro Core Linux?
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2015, 02:18:26 AM »
I would like to catch the traffic which goes through it, like a hub. I would put it between router and pc and catch it like that. Would that work?

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: Make a bond0 in Micro Core Linux?
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2015, 02:50:46 AM »
You can put two Ethernet interfaces to a bridge and monitor traffic with pcap than analyze with WireShark. No need for bonding.

Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline apuboard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Make a bond0 in Micro Core Linux?
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2015, 02:53:53 AM »
I just found a good tutorial which could work for me :http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/linux-bond-or-team-multiple-network-interfaces-nic-into-single-interface.html
But It's based on CentOS and I can't find all the files I need.
Where do I have to make these files?
Code: [Select]
/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-bond0
/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth1

Offline apuboard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Make a bond0 in Micro Core Linux?
« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2015, 02:56:14 AM »
You can put two Ethernet interfaces to a bridge and monitor traffic with pcap than analyze with WireShark. No need for bonding.


So it does monitor the excact same thing? Is it easier to make a bridge then?

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: Make a bond0 in Micro Core Linux?
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2015, 03:01:11 AM »
For bridging everything is available in the repo. Easier? No idea, never used bonding. As usual, with Linux there are several ways to solve a problem. In a bridge you save the same traffic at the interfaces. With pcap you can use whatever filtering you want. It is well documenting, planty of docs, tutorials, ...

Also check this Forum, bridging was discussed few weeks ago.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline apuboard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Make a bond0 in Micro Core Linux?
« Reply #10 on: December 04, 2015, 03:23:53 AM »
You mean there are tools avalaible in the tce-ab and if there are some, how are these called?
I found oen which was made by curaga (net-bridging-3.16.6-tinycore64). Can I use this one?
Everytime I download something from tce-ab the file is empty when I open it in /usr/local/tce.installed$. How can I even use them?

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: Make a bond0 in Micro Core Linux?
« Reply #11 on: December 04, 2015, 03:46:28 AM »
Learn how TC works. Read Core book http://distro.ibiblio.org/tinycorelinux/corebook.pdf

Learn what is bridging and how to monitor, analyze traffic with pcap/WireShark or others tool, use Google

And of course establish your target, why are you doing it and what do you want to check.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline apuboard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Make a bond0 in Micro Core Linux?
« Reply #12 on: December 04, 2015, 04:21:38 AM »
I really would like to know how to install these extension. Well I can download them but why are these files empty am I looking in the wrong folder(/usr/local/tce.installed$)? I already checked  the tce-ab script. I also looked at hte core documentation and they are using load, which is also used i the script. I know that I have to copy it to the sbin directory but why copy an empty file?

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1702
Re: Make a bond0 in Micro Core Linux?
« Reply #13 on: December 04, 2015, 04:31:17 AM »
/usr/local/tce.installed  contains startup scripts of loaded extensions. If an extension doesn't come with a start up script, an empty file is created.

Extensions are loop mounted at  /tmp/tcloop .
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Online Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11178
Re: Make a bond0 in Micro Core Linux?
« Reply #14 on: December 04, 2015, 06:33:32 AM »
Hi apuboard
You might want to read through this:
http://www.mjmwired.net/kernel/Documentation/networking/bonding.txt

It states:
Quote
129   1.2 Bonding Control Utility
130   -------------------------------------
131   
132       It is recommended to configure bonding via iproute2 (netlink)
133      or sysfs, the old ifenslave control utility is obsolete.