WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: piCore-7.0alpha8  (Read 4586 times)

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9444
Re: piCore-7.0alpha8
« Reply #15 on: November 13, 2015, 02:41:45 AM »
Reported the bug to busybox?
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Online andyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 405
Re: piCore-7.0alpha8
« Reply #16 on: November 13, 2015, 07:30:08 AM »
Upon further research it may be because that option that wasn't compiled in. Where can I find the compile options that have been used for busybox VI? It still seems like it would be easier to port the vim extension.

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6870
    • My Community Forum
Re: piCore-7.0alpha8
« Reply #17 on: November 13, 2015, 07:46:14 AM »
Upon further research it may be because that option that wasn't compiled in. Where can I find the compile options that have been used for busybox VI? It still seems like it would be easier to port the vim extension.

Which option are you referring to?

Regarding vim, user contribution welcome adding tcz's to repo :)

Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Online andyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 405
Re: piCore-7.0alpha8
« Reply #18 on: November 13, 2015, 11:57:57 AM »
These options. A user submission for vim will be forthcoming.

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9444
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6870
    • My Community Forum
Re: piCore-7.0alpha8
« Reply #20 on: November 15, 2015, 12:08:26 AM »
BusyBox config for piCore-7.0alpha8 is here:

http://tinycorelinux.net/7.x/armv7/releases/RPi2/src/busybox/

@andyj

Which vi releted config changes do you propose for next BusyBox build to fix your issue?


« Last Edit: November 15, 2015, 12:13:49 AM by bmarkus »
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Online andyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 405
Re: piCore-7.0alpha8
« Reply #21 on: November 15, 2015, 04:33:09 AM »
Looking at the options that are apparently enabled along with the source code that produces the list given by "vi -H" I can't be sure that the regex substitute command is in fact enabled because it sure doesn't look like it's working. I'll have to do some testing to see where the problem is. If all the configuration options are on and it doesn't work then it would sure look like a bug.

Offline Gerrelt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
Re: piCore-7.0alpha8
« Reply #22 on: November 18, 2015, 01:16:24 PM »
I've installed squeezelite using my tutorial on this version, and everything seems to work (haven't tested wifi yet).
One thing was a bit different compared to earlier versions, I had to manually load snd-bcm2835 to make the onboard sound device work.

In the end I've used this command to make "stick" after a reboot:

Code: [Select]
echo "/sbin/modprobe snd-bcm2835" >> /opt/bootlocal.sh
sudo filetool.sh -b

I am not saying this is a problem or bug, I understand it if you left it out on purpose. It's just something I noticed.
my Raspberry Pi page: http://raspberry.gerrelt.nl

Offline sbp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • piCorePlayer homepage
Re: piCore-7.0alpha8
« Reply #23 on: November 18, 2015, 10:45:47 PM »
I've installed squeezelite using my tutorial on this version, and everything seems to work (haven't tested wifi yet).
One thing was a bit different compared to earlier versions, I had to manually load snd-bcm2835 to make the onboard sound device work.

In the end I've used this command to make "stick" after a reboot:

Code: [Select]
echo "/sbin/modprobe snd-bcm2835" >> /opt/bootlocal.sh
sudo filetool.sh -b

I am not saying this is a problem or bug, I understand it if you left it out on purpose. It's just something I noticed.

Hi Gerrelt.

The onboard audio card is now enabled by:
audio=on
in the config.txt

Steen

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6870
    • My Community Forum
Re: piCore-7.0alpha8
« Reply #24 on: November 18, 2015, 10:56:07 PM »

Hi Gerrelt.

The onboard audio card is now enabled by:
audio=on
in the config.txt


Steen@, do you advice to add

audio=on

to the default config.txt?

@Gerrelt

In the beginning alsa-modules-KERNEL.tcz had a startup script to modprobe built-in audio but it caused issues users with external USB sound devices, so it was removed in 5.x sometime. In details built-in audio become the default #0 sound device instead of the external #1 and it required extra steps from the user.
 


Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline Greg Erskine

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
Re: piCore-7.0alpha8
« Reply #25 on: November 19, 2015, 02:01:18 PM »
Hi Gerrelt,

Here is the Device Tree documentation for the Raspberry Pi.

https://github.com/raspberrypi/documentation/blob/master/configuration/device-tree.md

I think you need to add:

dtparam=audio

or

dtparam=audio=on

to config.txt

regards
Greg

Online andyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 405
Re: piCore-7.0alpha8
« Reply #26 on: November 19, 2015, 02:28:58 PM »
What I don't see in that doc is: Here's a list of the available overlays, here's what they do/enable, and here's why you would care or not.

Offline Greg Erskine

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
Re: piCore-7.0alpha8
« Reply #27 on: November 19, 2015, 02:42:11 PM »
What I don't see in that doc is: Here's a list of the available overlays, here's what they do/enable, and here's why you would care or not.

Hi andyj,

It is fully documented here: /mnt/mmcblk0p1/overlays/README on every piCore image. On Raspbian its /boot/overlays/README I think??

regards
Greg

Offline Paul_123

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 377
Re: piCore-7.0alpha8
« Reply #28 on: November 21, 2015, 10:39:15 AM »
I typically do an in place upgrade, so my onboot.lst file contains references to KERNEL, rather than specific kernel versions.   Extensions with a reference to KERNEL do not load from within onboot.lst

tce-bootload just reports that it is not available.  it appears KERNEL is not expanded properly.   The odd thing is that it does properly expand references to KERNEL when in the .dep files.


Offline sbp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • piCorePlayer homepage
Re: piCore-7.0alpha8
« Reply #29 on: November 21, 2015, 10:54:40 AM »
I typically do an in place upgrade, so my onboot.lst file contains references to KERNEL, rather than specific kernel versions.   Extensions with a reference to KERNEL do not load from within onboot.lst

tce-bootload just reports that it is not available.  it appears KERNEL is not expanded properly.   The odd thing is that it does properly expand references to KERNEL when in the .dep files.

I have observed the same - I don't know if this Is different from previous versions.
If possible it would be handy to use KERNEL in the onboot lst