WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Getting a browser to work  (Read 2843 times)

frankt

Getting a browser to work
« on: October 28, 2015, 06:23:25 PM »
New tc user, having a problem getting any browser to work. Installed 6.4 tc on old laptop, Compaq, Presario 1200, 60MBytes RAM, 60 GBytes hard drive, on a USB connected to sda1. Have a 128 MBytes swap partition on hda. Have wireless a pcmcia card. It does connect to the internet, as I can run app to select and add extensions.

Tried dillo, firefox, chrominum, and opera. I can't connect to any url with dillo. dillo doesn't do anything. firefox gives an error and says that it will send a bug report to mozilla. Choice to quit or restart firefox. Restart doesn't do anything. Chrominum must be too large to run, and it just sets there. Opera doesn't allow any other url to be input.

Any helpful suggestions are welcome.

I'm a retired software engineer from the vaccum tube days. Running Lubuntu 14.04 LTS on my hp desktop. So my skill level is still considered newbe.

Offline Rich

• Administrator
Re: Getting a browser to work
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2015, 06:37:46 PM »
Hi frankt
With only 60 Mbytes of RAM I'm not sure any browser will run. The one thing that you could try is the  nozswap
boot code to maximize available RAM.

Offline gerald_clark

• TinyCore Moderator
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2015, 08:19:28 PM »
Also using persistent opt and home by using opt= and home= boot codes will reduce RAM consumption.
Please read the book.

Offline coreplayer2

« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2015, 09:40:38 PM »
According to this spec sheet the notebook may have 128MB  Ram which may not be be sufficient for most full featured browsers
http://www.engadget.com/products/compaq/presario/1200/specs/

Also Firefox typically recommends 512MB ram and an SSE2 supporting processor  (have done for quite some time)  I've never tested Firefox on less than that.