WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: [SOLVED] Installing Tiny Core on an EFI Laptop  (Read 4934 times)

Offline Lee

• My Core wiki user page
[SOLVED] Installing Tiny Core on an EFI Laptop
« on: August 12, 2015, 02:46:22 PM »
I've got an interesting situation that has me stumped primarily because I'm a total noob about EFI.

I recently was given a fairly late model (maybe a year and a half old) HP laptop that is in very good shape except that the screen is physically broken.  It has a decent cpu, plenty of RAM and a decent sized hard disk.  Even the battery works - you don't often see that in a hand-me-down laptop!

It seems a shame to toss it, but it also seems a shame to drop the better part of hundred dollars on a new LCD (especially considering I've had bad experiences doing surgery on laptops in the past) for something that will be essentially a toy.

So it seems like this would make a nice low-power headless web server or something like that if I install TC on it... but...

• it has Windows 8 installed (maybe 8.1)
  • it uses EFI booting
  • an external monitor works but does not activate until after any opportunity to access the system setup screens has gone by - the first visible display is the Windows 8 log in screen
  • The original owner (a relative) has apparently forgotten their Windows login password - the one they said to try doesn't work
  • chntpw seemed to work for resetting the password (I put the drive in a different system for that) but I still can't log in
  • the system currently does not seem to even try to boot from a CD or from a USB stick

On the "plus" side...
  • there's a small but apparently completely unused partition on the drive
  • one of the utilities I was playing with (probably chntpw) seemed to indicate that secure boot is turned off - although that would have been determined from looking only at the hard drive, which was in a different system at the time