WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: DNS Not working after TC_Install to USB  (Read 4939 times)

Offline drendar

DNS Not working after TC_Install to USB
« on: August 30, 2015, 03:28:24 PM »
Hi There,

I wonder if someone can assist...  I'm new to TC, but know my way around RHEL and Ubuntu, so not a total noob :-)

Running TC in a virtualbox guest with an 8Gb virtual USB drive inserted.

Basically, I boot from CorePlus CD, choose (for example) the fluxbox option.  Go to TC_Install and follow the instructions.  The only changes I make really are adding "kmap=qwerty/uk vga=789" to the bootvars.  I choose to install everything except the Wireless networking bumpf, as I don't need that.

Upon then booting from the USB, APPs will not work, reporting "Error, check network, mirror or writable extension directory"

A bit of digging shows that DNS lookups are failing, and APPs is throwing "wget: bad address ftp.vim.org"

Note that DNS and installing apps when booting from coreplus CD works fine.

Also networking is up and running.  I can ping my server, SSH, and I can bring up web pages in chromium using the IP address instead of FQDN

I'm guessing there's something not working in the DHCPClient area, but I've no idea where to start looking, and I've been at this for hours now, bed is calling.

Could anyone please provide me with a little nudge in the right direction?

Many Thanks,

(P.S  Holy crap these captchas are hard to read!)

Offline gerald_clark

• TinyCore Moderator
Re: DNS Not working after TC_Install to USB
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2015, 03:42:47 PM »
Use bridge mode, not NAT.  Then DHCP and DNS from your router will work.

Offline curaga

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2015, 12:58:57 AM »
You don't say if you're still running in vbox, or if the usb install is on real hw but the cd was in vbox?
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline drendar