WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Bridge PiCore  (Read 3839 times)

Offline Paul_123

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
Bridge PiCore
« on: June 10, 2015, 05:52:13 AM »
Is there a complete set of modules available for download?  piCore 6.1-beta1   (armv6)     or can we get an extension with the Kernel modules for Bridging?   

Also need the utilities: brctl and ebtables   

Paul

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: Bridge PiCore
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2015, 06:33:36 AM »
Hi Paul,

I will add bridgin module to the repo. However all kernel modules are available at

http://tinycorelinux.net/6.x/armv6/release/src/kernel/
http://tinycorelinux.net/6.x/armv7/release/src/kernel/
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline Paul_123

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
Re: Bridge PiCore
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2015, 12:17:08 PM »
Didn't think to look in the release folder.  Thanks



Offline Paul_123

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
Re: Bridge PiCore
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2015, 08:28:22 PM »
I grabbed the modules.......and made an extension and loaded it.

The bridge kernel module loads....that's a good start.   bridge.ko depends on llc.ko and stp.ko

But I wouldn't waste your time for the moment.   Seems that wifi-eth bridgeing is just too glitchy, with stock drivers and kernel.   

I'm going to test with a full Raspbian distribution before trying to proceed with piCore

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: Bridge PiCore
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2015, 11:27:34 PM »
net-bridging kernel modules added to armv6/armv7 repo.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline Paul_123

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
Re: Bridge PiCore
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2015, 10:18:36 AM »
Well after reading about so many failures, I have it working under the latest Raspbian,   Now to get it working under piCore.

Other than a wpa_supplicant.conf, this is the only thing needed.  in raspbian.   

/etc/network/interfaces
Code: [Select]
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

iface eth0 inet manual

auto wlan0
iface wlan0 inet manual

wpa-iface wlan0
wpa-conf /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

auto br0
iface br0 inet dhcp
   bridge_ports wlan0 eth0
   bridge_stp off
   bridge_maxwait 5

wpa-bridge br0

I realize that piCore doesn't use this sort of interface, but I'm not sure what all is being executed from this configuration.  Is this all being handled with ifplugd?




Offline Paul_123

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
Re: Bridge PiCore
« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2015, 01:10:35 PM »
Well this handles the start up of the bridge. and it seems to be working fine.

Added "nodhcp" to the command line, to keep eth0 from starting automatically.

Added the following to bootlocal
Code: [Select]
ifconfig eth0 up
ifconfig wlan0 up

brctl addbr br0
brctl addif br0 wlan0 eth0
brctl stp br0 off
ifconfig br0 up
sleep 5s        #Sleep to allow the kernel to setup the bridge
wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -bbr0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf &
sleep 5s        #Sleep to let the wifi authenticate
udhcpc -i br0

I need to look through the wifi.sh script to see what error traps are in there for wifi.


Oh and PS, the rtl8192cu driver still has the power save problem with the edimax wifi that I use.  But they did fix the driver so that adding
Code: [Select]
options 8192cu rtw_power_mgnt=0 rtw_enusbss=0
to modprobe.conf disables power save.
« Last Edit: June 13, 2015, 01:13:48 PM by Paul_123 »

Offline Paul_123

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
Re: Bridge PiCore
« Reply #7 on: June 14, 2015, 02:32:38 PM »
net-bridging kernel modules added to armv6/armv7 repo.

The bridging kernel modules are not dependent on normal net filter modules.  They are only dependent on the IPV6 modules.

Can you update the dependencies.

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: Bridge PiCore
« Reply #8 on: June 14, 2015, 10:53:48 PM »
Modules in net/bridge/netfilter depending on netfilter, current .dep is correct. It is another question what is the best location for them, maybe moving them from bridging to netfilter would be better.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline Paul_123

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
Re: Bridge PiCore
« Reply #9 on: June 15, 2015, 05:52:36 AM »
Modules in net/bridge/netfilter depending on netfilter, current .dep is correct. It is another question what is the best location for them, maybe moving them from bridging to netfilter would be better.

net/bridge/netfilter files are in extension net-bridging-3.18.10-piCore+.tcz   yes, these are needed.

net/netfilter and net/ipv4/netfilter are in extension netfilter-3.18.10-piCore+.tcz    and the bridging modules are not dependent on these.   I have removed this extension from my system and verified.

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: Bridge PiCore
« Reply #10 on: June 15, 2015, 06:34:00 AM »
Use modinfo on any module in net/bridge/netfilter and look for dependency line.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline Paul_123

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
Re: Bridge PiCore
« Reply #11 on: June 15, 2015, 07:04:45 AM »
Then it must be that I'm only using bridge.ko, so the netfilter stuff is not needed.    I would imagine that if I loaded br_netfilter.ko, others would be needed.

Just leave as is then, thanks