WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: WiFi: How to obtain a new DHCP-IP automatically after re-plugging USB-Wifi?  (Read 4166 times)

Offline vbs

I am using latest TC on RPi2 and I have the following problem:
After pulling my Wifi-USB-Adapter out and putting it back later then udhpc won't obtain a new DHCP-IP. So wlan0 is up but has no IP. When I manually run "udhcpc -i wlan0" to get a new IP then it works fine. But how can I trigger udhcpc automatically after wlan0 gets up? I searched quite a bit and fiddled around but cant find a solution. :(

So basically I am searching something that is similar to "/etc/network/if-up.d/" on other distros.

Many thanks!

Offline beerstein

hi: I am not an expert but I think you need a second DHCP server running in your network which assigns IP addresses in another IP range than your main router. Your main router fi may assign 192.168.0.1 - 192.168.0.49. Then you have your second DHCP server assign addresses between 192.168.0.50 and 192168..0.60.
Broadcasting also must not have the same IP, but I am not sure about this.
I do not know whether a static IP outside the main router/DHCP server address range might work?
t(w)o be(ers) or not t(w)o be(ers) that is the question

Offline vbs

Hm, probably I have phrased my problem poorly:
I dont need a different IP from a different IP range I just need to trigger udhcpc again to obtain an IP, because after plugging the Wifi-USB in it does not have an IP at all anymore. One solution probably would be to use a static IP for wlan0 so I dont need DHCP at all. But I dont want to switch to static IP. :(

Offline curaga

• Administrator
By default there is nothing watching for network interfaces appearing. You need to install some daemon to do that.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline jgrulich

• GRULICH DESIGN - R&D Lab.