WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Cannot run firefox on Corepure64 V6.1  (Read 4311 times)

Offline jackhsu0104

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Cannot run firefox on Corepure64 V6.1
« on: March 23, 2015, 06:35:37 PM »
I cannot run firefox and opera on corepure64 6.1, because there are many librarys that is not 64bit, such as libpng, libtiff, ssl3, libexpat...

I think corepure is not that pure.




Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14585
Re: Cannot run firefox on Corepure64 V6.1
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2015, 11:54:06 PM »
Are you mixing extensions from core and corepure64?

If you run both, then you need to keep the extensions separate in /tce and /tce64 or similar.

Offline jackhsu0104

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Cannot run firefox on Corepure64 V6.1
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2015, 04:18:18 AM »
No, I am not mixing the extension.
Because Corepure64 iso didn't include the install_tc.tcz , I used coreplus(32bits) to do the format and system install, then
I added corepure64.gz and vmlinuz64 to boot folder.
After that, All I did is obtain extension using Apps or tce-load -wi.

Do you mean that tce-load get the extension from wrong sources?


Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14585
Re: Cannot run firefox on Corepure64 V6.1
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2015, 12:22:39 PM »
As long as you didn't download any extensions with coreplus before you installed and booted corepure64, things should be OK - unless you specifically changed the name of the /tce folder, both core and corepure put extensions in the same place...

I don't use firefox, but opera12 works fine in corepore64 and the 64-bit versions of  libpng, libtiff, libexpat, etc are all there in the corepure64 repo.

Offline jackhsu0104

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Cannot run firefox on Corepure64 V6.1
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2015, 06:10:31 PM »
Opera12 cannot run on my environment nither, thank you for the reply.
Now I know the files in repo is correct and I can download them by myself and won't do source compile again.


Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Cannot run firefox on Corepure64 V6.1
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2015, 01:27:05 AM »
Firefox is working fine in tinycore versions 5.x & 6.x in x86 and x86_64 architectures.

Quote
I used coreplus(32bits) to do the format and system install
  The "System Install" part of that equation is likely where the plan went astray


The local extension store for each architecture should be separate and your boot config needs to identify the store.   As explained above /tce and /tce64 is an excellent plan.

I use the following core archives to build my corepure64 systems from http://tinycorelinux.net/6.x/x86_64/release/distribution_files/

rootfs64.gz 
modules64.gz
vmlinuz64

Using the existing partition I'd start over with a clean install using the above system files and suggested extension store path to prevent mixing  architectures.





 
« Last Edit: March 26, 2015, 01:31:09 AM by coreplayer2 »

Offline jackhsu0104

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Cannot run firefox on Corepure64 V6.1
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2015, 07:46:23 PM »
Thank you,  I have change the boot option from tce:uuid"........" to tce64:uuid"......", now it works.