WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Boot to CLI, not able to get GUI to start  (Read 11154 times)

Offline samuelp101

• Embedded101
Boot to CLI, not able to get GUI to start
« on: February 19, 2015, 11:16:24 AM »
I'm a newbie to TinyCoreLinux and Linux in general.  My Linux experience is limited to installing Debian & Ubuntu using instruction found online, and is not using Linux as part of my day to day activities.

I found TinyCoreLinux about 2 weeks ago, as part of my effort to dig deeper and learn Linux and really like what this small footprint package.

I try to launch TCL on an eBox-3300MX and not able to get the GUI to launch.  TCL boot to a command line interface.  I know the eBox-3300MX support different VESA video modes.  Here is the URL to the eBox-3300MX:
    http://www.compactpc.com.tw/product.aspx?act=detail&id=27

Note:  I use Core2USB to configure an USB flash storage.

I tried both CorePlus-6.0.iso (76MB) and TinyCore-6.0.iso (15MB) with the same result, using the Core

I am able to boot TCL to a GUI desktop, using VirtualBox as the test platform.

I found an old discussion thread on this forum, talking about the very same problem back in 2012 (it looks like testman resolved the problem.  However, the solution was not posted back to the forum thread.)
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,13945.0.html

Can I launch the GUI manually from the CLI?
Is there a log file where I can review what happen during the boot process?

Thanks for the help in advance!

Samuelp101

Offline Misalf

Re: Boot to CLI, not able to get GUI to start
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2015, 11:27:56 AM »
Make sure these extensions are loaded (via  tce-status -i  or look in  /tmp/tcloop/) :
Xvesa.tcz, Xlibs.tcz, Xprogs.tcz, aterm.tcz, flwm_topside.tcz, wbar.tcz

To start the GUI from CLI type  startx .

The boot code  waitusb=XX  might help (where XX is any number of seconds) in case your USB flash storage reacts too slow.