WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Install on Hyper-V - can't mount sda0 in v5.0+  (Read 3463 times)

Offline Hadlock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Install on Hyper-V - can't mount sda0 in v5.0+
« on: February 07, 2015, 11:39:37 PM »
I spent about an hour trying to get this to work, someone in 2013 on the forums said you had to set the drive to IDE in VMWare for it to work, so I was playing around with different combinations of DVD on IDE on controller 0 and 1, positions 0 and 1, SCSI also, finally realized that was in 2013. Downloaded and swapped in the 5.7 release. No luck. Downloaded and swapped in the 4.x release. Success! However now the network adapter doesn't work in this version  :-\



Only changes between the working network/no sda0 in 6.0 and broken network/found sda0 were swapping out the ISO in the Hyper-V settings.

Windows Hyper-V Server 2012 R2

Offline Hadlock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Install on Hyper-V - can't mount sda0 in v5.0+
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2015, 11:45:10 PM »
It looks like this was identified in the TC 5.0 alpha testing but got lost in the shuffle:

http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,15676.30.html

Quote
problem solved.  hv_storvsc driver needs to be loaded separately from scsi-3.8.10-tinycore.tcz . Can we please have that driver included in core.gz ?

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10974
Re: Install on Hyper-V - can't mount sda0 in v5.0+
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2015, 01:32:47 AM »
As the current version is 6.0, a change to the 5.x series is unlikely - you can easily remaster it though. We can do this change for 6.1.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline Hadlock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Install on Hyper-V - can't mount sda0 in v5.0+
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2015, 12:15:27 PM »
Thanks! When it makes it in to the latest nightly please let me know and I would be happy to test for you. This would make a great starting point for building up Hyper-V virtual appliances. Hyper-V server is free if you would also like to do some testing directly.

Thanks again.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14619
Re: Install on Hyper-V - can't mount sda0 in v5.0+
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2015, 07:31:34 AM »
v6.1rc reissued with hv_storvsc in the base - please test and let us know if it works

Offline Hadlock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Install on Hyper-V - can't mount sda0 in v5.0+
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2015, 06:24:13 PM »
This is resolved in the latest RC of 6.1 please close thanks.