WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Larger console font  (Read 3838 times)

Offline gavinmc42

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
Larger console font
« on: March 02, 2015, 06:34:46 PM »
Hi guys,

I want to increase the console font size, change colours etc.
resize reports the number of columns and row, works on hdmi and remote ssh xterm
loadfont , loads new fonts.
Any commands I missed?

How do I make them larger?
Need to have large text, ie 40 columns x 16 row etc

printenv gives
TERM=linux  - for hdmi
TERM=xterm  - for remote ssh


Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10314
Re: Larger console font
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2015, 08:05:11 PM »
Hi gavinmc42
Quote
How do I make them larger?
Need to have large text, ie 40 columns x 16 row etc
How about switching to a lower resolution, this should make everything larger. I believe 320 x 200 was 40 columns. Try using the
vga=  boot code with the value 781, 782, or 783.

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10694
Re: Larger console font
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2015, 11:58:44 PM »
Fonts over SSH depend on your SSH client's config.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline gavinmc42

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
Re: Larger console font
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2015, 12:24:01 AM »
What about on HDMI/DVI monitor?
Want to emulate LCD screen on monitor.
128x64 LCD or 4 x 16, or 4 x 20 LCD

Seen setfont command used but it's not in busybox or tcz

Not sure how video out on piCore works, framebuffer?

Offline gavinmc42

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
Re: Larger console font
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2015, 07:45:06 PM »
Hi Bela,

Came across comline.txt options -  fbcon=font:VGA8x16
so far VGA8x16 and VGA8x8 fonts work

What fonts did get compiled into the linux kernel framebuffer console?


Offline gavinmc42

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
Re: Larger console font
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2015, 09:08:52 PM »
Busybox has fbset

My monitor is 1280x1024, to double font size I do,  fbset -xres 640 -yres 512
Fonts are a bit chunky but good enough for a demo
Back to a 80x32 screen, hmm green txt? flashback.

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7174
    • My Community Forum
Re: Larger console font
« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2015, 10:02:43 PM »
Hi Bela,

What fonts did get compiled into the linux kernel framebuffer console?

Do not know, check kernel settings. Kernel built with default.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline gavinmc42

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
Re: Larger console font
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2015, 10:07:34 PM »
Retro terminal look 8)

Edit PS1 in .profile to get green text:)

PS1='\[e[1;32m\]\u@\h:\w\$  '

fbset -xres 320 -yres 256
40 columns 16 rows , gives large text

hmm  wonder how much GPU memory needed now?
Good for model A's.

Offline gavinmc42

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
Re: Larger console font
« Reply #8 on: March 04, 2015, 11:02:29 PM »
http://wiki.bash-hackers.org/scripting/terminalcodes

useful escape codes for changing colours, foreground/background etc
http://misc.flogisoft.com/bash/tip_colors_and_formatting

Feel like I have gone back in time :o

Offline gavinmc42

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
Re: Larger console font
« Reply #9 on: March 15, 2015, 07:56:02 PM »
500h x 400v res works too and seems about optimal.
Font not perfect but easy to read from a distance.
Gives about 60 x 25 lines.
Had a bit of fun playing with escape commands colour coding.