WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: How to install Dosbox into Microcore for a Pseudo-vintage DOS machine?  (Read 10674 times)

Offline amgh

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: How to install Dosbox into Microcore for a Pseudo-vintage DOS machine?
« Reply #30 on: February 08, 2015, 09:59:02 AM »
Hi again!

Sorry for my late update.

After spending time tinkering around this interesting Tiny Core Base with Dosbox, I managed to run it with the minimum possible extensions.

Yes, as advised before, I had to use a graphical desktop environment to load Dosbox. 

I'm now running intel video firmware, Xorg3D, and OpenBox. Also installed Alsa. Dosbox works fine now with sound, even though when running dosbox from the terminal give an error message about the mixer device.

Currently these are the onboot.lst items :

firmware-iwlwifi.tcz
xf86-video-intel.tcz
xf86-input-keyboard.tcz
xf86-input-mouse.tcz
xf86-input-synaptics.tcz
Xorg-7.7-3d.tcz
Xprogs.tcz
openbox.tcz
wbar.tcz
vim.tcz
xfe.tcz
xfi.tcz
tc-install.tcz
alsa-config.tcz
alsamixergui.tcz
aterm.tcz
dosbox.tcz
firefox-official.tcz
wifi.tcz

(Some are not needed for Dosbox, but just copied and pasted the list.)


Finally, I have read of starting an X based program by including the script in the /home/tc/.X.d.

May I ask how do I add Dosbox here? Should I make a file? If so what will be the filename? And the command should be "dosbox &"?

{(I have read the FAQ about staring an  X program on boot, but I am not able to understand how to do it.

"How do I start X apps on boot?
Add them to files in /home/tc/.X.d, one per file, backgrounded. Here's how to start Opera at boot:

opera &")}

Thank you again.


Offline nitram

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1052
Re: How to install Dosbox into Microcore for a Pseudo-vintage DOS machine?
« Reply #31 on: February 08, 2015, 10:41:53 AM »
Quote
Finally, I have read of starting an X based program by including the script in the /home/tc/.X.d.

May I ask how do I add Dosbox here? Should I make a file? If so what will be the filename? And the command should be "dosbox &"?
Yes just create a file in .X.d, mine is simply called startup_xd (name it anything) and contents are:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
fluff &
firefox &
conky &
Just looked at my permissions and it's not even executable, still works fine.

Can't comment on Dosbox, just place into your .X.d file whatever command starts Dosbox in terminal.

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6579
Re: How to install Dosbox into Microcore for a Pseudo-vintage DOS machine?
« Reply #32 on: February 08, 2015, 11:01:07 AM »
Hi amgh
Quote
May I ask how do I add Dosbox here? Should I make a file? If so what will be the filename? And the command should be "dosbox &"?
Just create a file containing:
Code: [Select]
dosbox &in your  /home/tc/.X.d  directory. The name of the file doesn't matter, call it whatever makes you happy.
Quote
Finally, I have read of starting an X based program by including the script in the /home/tc/.X.d.
Actually it's not a script, just a text file.

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6579
Re: How to install Dosbox into Microcore for a Pseudo-vintage DOS machine?
« Reply #33 on: February 08, 2015, 11:09:34 AM »
Hi nitram
There's no need for the:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/shin your startup file. The last line in  .xsession  reads the contents of any files found in  .X.d  and executes the contents of each line found.

Offline nitram

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1052
Re: How to install Dosbox into Microcore for a Pseudo-vintage DOS machine?
« Reply #34 on: February 08, 2015, 02:51:33 PM »
Noted - thanks Rich.

Offline amgh

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: How to install Dosbox into Microcore for a Pseudo-vintage DOS machine?
« Reply #35 on: February 09, 2015, 07:49:54 AM »
Thank you very much. I have managed to start Dosbox on boot from the explanations given above!
Thank you everyone for your patience and persistence in guiding me!




( Should I start a new thread for the issue below? :

There is one more problem :

I'm starting a sudo dosbox, instead of normal user, i.e. "sudo dosbox &" in the text file I placed in /home/tc/.X.d

Problem is I can't seem to retain my edited dosbox.conf file - it reverts back to the default configuration file everytime I reboot the system. How can I save the configuration or prevent it reverting to the default dosbox.conf file (for this dosbox run as a su)? (My regular dosbox user configuration is maintained after reboot, so no problem there.)

Thank you again.)

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6579
Re: How to install Dosbox into Microcore for a Pseudo-vintage DOS machine?
« Reply #36 on: February 09, 2015, 07:55:48 AM »
Hi amgh
With  sudo  you are running as root so it looks for the config under  /root  instead of  /home/tc. Add a config under root and add that to
your backup.

Offline amgh

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: How to install Dosbox into Microcore for a Pseudo-vintage DOS machine?
« Reply #37 on: February 09, 2015, 08:21:08 AM »
Thank you very much, Rich!

Everything regarding my Dosbox issues is now taken care of.

Thank you everyone, for your valuable help!