WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: piCore 6.0 Beta200  (Read 7538 times)

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7026
    • My Community Forum
piCore 6.0 Beta200
« on: December 16, 2014, 11:25:30 PM »
After having issues with latest 3.17.y/3.18.y kernels I moved back to a more stable longterm 3.14.y Please try, specially WiFi and audio and report your findings.

http://repo.tinycorelinux.net/6.x/armv6/release_candidates/

This is a beta level cut. If you decide to help test, then please test carefully. We don't want anyone to lose data.

Since this is an beta cut, although the team has worked through several preview cuts, we ask that only experienced users test. This cut is not for production use. The features in any beta may change before a public release candidate is available.

Note that the fltk library has been updated to 1.3.3 to enable unicode. fltk-1.1 and 1.3 can be installed at the same time, and old apps using 1.1 will continue to work.

We appreciate testing and feedback.

Changelog for 6.0 Beta200:

* kernel updated to 3.14.23


Changelog for 6.0 Beta100:

* kernel updated to 3.18.0


Changelog for 6.0 Beta2:

* kernel updated to 3.17.4
* RPi firmware updated to December 3 release
* serial terminal now started by default
* preinstalled components updated


Changelog for 6.0 Beta1:

* kernel updated to 3.17.3
* glibc updated to 2.20
* gcc updated to 4.9.2
* e2fsprogs base libs/apps updated to 1.42.12
* util-linux base libs/apps updated to 2.25.2
« Last Edit: December 16, 2014, 11:49:29 PM by bmarkus »
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline meo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 563
Re: piCore 6.0 Beta200
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2014, 04:59:52 AM »
Hi bmarkus!

Tried this new beta and downloaded wifi. Switched to a wifi adaptor (netgear) and it worked out just fine. It took just a few moments to download compile-essentials.tcz. Good work!

Kind greetings,
meo
"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire

Offline gavinmc42

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
Re: piCore 6.0 Beta200
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2014, 10:06:16 PM »
i2cdetect not working, get the message

Error: could not open file '/dev/i2c-1 .....

got i2c-tools.tcz loaded etc
had no problem with beta2


Offline gavinmc42

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
Re: piCore 6.0 Beta200
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2014, 11:29:49 PM »
Checked Beta200, had issues even mounting in Linux to add/resize partitions.
Same problem Beta100.

Gone back to Beta2

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7026
    • My Community Forum
Re: piCore 6.0 Beta200
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2014, 11:30:21 PM »
Load the i2c /dev driver:

Code: [Select]
sudo modpobe i2c-dev
This will create the two i2c entries in /dev.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7026
    • My Community Forum
Re: piCore 6.0 Beta200
« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2014, 11:32:43 PM »
Checked Beta200, had issues even mounting in Linux to add/resize partitions.
Same problem Beta100.


Please provide details of the mounting issue. What do you mean 'even'?
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline gavinmc42

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
Re: piCore 6.0 Beta200
« Reply #6 on: December 19, 2014, 12:03:20 AM »
I use Windows 7 + Diskimager to put img on SDcard.
Then use my Linux Mint 17 box and Gparted to increase 2nd partition to make room for i2c-tools and busybox-httpd plus run scripts.
Add 3rd partition sized to rest of SDcard for logs.

Try to do this with Beta100/200 and the two partitions don't mount automatically in Linux.

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7026
    • My Community Forum
Re: piCore 6.0 Beta200
« Reply #7 on: December 19, 2014, 12:12:15 AM »
Try to do this with Beta100/200 and the two partitions don't mount automatically in Linux.

Which two out of three? Are you saying, that only mmcblk0p1 mounted?

Anyhow, only one partition automounted, where /tce found, never ever two in the base system. Can you mount them manually and do you see /tce?
« Last Edit: December 19, 2014, 12:16:02 AM by bmarkus »
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline gavinmc42

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
Re: piCore 6.0 Beta200
« Reply #8 on: December 19, 2014, 12:48:50 AM »
Both beta/100/200 SSH img partitions don't mount automatically in Linux.
Some orange? icon next to them, not sure what that means yet.

Normally when img written by diskimager, I just pop it in the Linux box, resize 2nd partition and add the 3rd.
Then I stick it in the Raspberry Pi then filezilla/MC my scripts and changes, this bit I think I can automate once I learn more Linux.

Probably can automate the whole SD imaging process, guess it's time to learn dd.

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7026
    • My Community Forum
Re: piCore 6.0 Beta200
« Reply #9 on: December 19, 2014, 12:56:42 AM »
There are too many components used in the process. If you are using Linux (MINT?) to resize, why WINDOWS7 used to create image when it can be done on Linux with dd?

If you are using WINDOWS to create why another LINUX (MINT?) used instead of piCore itself to resize and create partitions? It has all necessary tools.

Please check what orange icon means.

Also check them on the Linux box with fsck before doing anything with them.

Published images created on TC 6.0 x86 ASUS notebook with buit-in card reader and tested on a Raspberry Pi box.

« Last Edit: December 19, 2014, 12:59:23 AM by bmarkus »
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline lykkedk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
Re: piCore 6.0 Beta200
« Reply #10 on: December 19, 2014, 10:04:29 PM »
Hi.

I just want to say, that i like the use of a long term kernel (Aug. 2016 for 3.14.y)

Right now i use a 3.16.3 with some homerolled .tcz.

I have something, on my mind asking for some time now, regarding the kernel version e.g 3.14.y
When i download the e.g 3.14.y version, it has to be at the moment, where it has the right version number (.y), otherwise the kernel could be 3.14.33, 3.14.23 or whatever.
Soo, how do you guys jump between theese version numbers, when the only download is e.g 3.14.y

I have my "own" copy of the kernel 3.16.3, that i use, if i need to build some special package of kernel modules. (Example i have a module.tcz witch contains modules only for the linux ir / lirc)... This i have made only for bringing the overall image/size speed of booting so low as possible in my system. I allways have to use this specific kernel version, when i have to do that, otherwise the modules come out with wrong numbers.

I hope, that i made my self clear enough in my quistion?, and now that i finally got some day's off, i am looking forward to play with this new betacut....

Besides all that, i wish all reading this a good christmas.

Regards;
   Jesper.

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7026
    • My Community Forum
Re: piCore 6.0 Beta200
« Reply #11 on: December 19, 2014, 10:39:14 PM »

Soo, how do you guys jump between theese version numbers, when the only download is e.g 3.14.y


I keep a copy of downloaded versions for later use. Regarding final version of piCore it will be uploaded to the repo.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline lykkedk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
Re: piCore 6.0 Beta200
« Reply #12 on: December 20, 2014, 01:22:33 AM »
Quote
I keep a copy of downloaded versions for later use. Regarding final version of piCore it will be uploaded to the repo.

Okay, i use same method, will continue to do so, further on  :)

RG; Jesper


Offline sbp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • piCorePlayer homepage
Re: piCore 6.0 Beta200
« Reply #13 on: December 20, 2014, 06:43:32 AM »
Hi Belá

I have tested both my wifi adaptors (Edimax (realtek) and radlink) and both are working fine with your new beta (3.14.23 kernel).

The only thing which is bothering me with this kernel is:
It seems not to be maintained by the raspberry developers. The last update in the 3.14.y kernel was 8 months ago whereas the current stable kernel (3.12.y) was updated 23 hours ago.

The 3.14.y kernel is somehow not used anymore at the raspberry github, where focus for the moment is on 3.12.y (stable) or on the two development branches 3.17.y (25 days ago) or 3.18.y (2 days ago).

So if we are not going to use a development branch then why not choose a stable kernel that is maintained at the moment (3.12.y)?

Steen

Offline meo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 563
Re: piCore 6.0 Beta200
« Reply #14 on: December 20, 2014, 06:53:54 AM »
Hi bmarkus!

Thanks for your incredible work on piCore! Since there has been a lot of laboring with different kernels lately, I did a checkup myself and I think "sbp" is right on this one. First a stable kernel that is and has been used for quite some time and then the rest of the software needed for the piCore.

Keep up the good work bmarkus,
meo
"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire