WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: VirtualBox: Making it Run!  (Read 20110 times)

Offline dondamiano

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
« Reply #15 on: February 27, 2010, 10:39:18 AM »
Hello,
thank you Kingdomcome and Juanito for the answer !
Here is what I did, I wrote down everything :

- Create TinyCore VirtualMachine in my Windows Host.
- Boot it with tinycore_2.9rc5.iso.

- In TinyCore I installed the following (feel free to tell me if I installed something useless for VBox to run).
  NB : indented packages are dependencies.

Make

Qt-4.5-base
  glib2
  openssl.0.9.8.h
  qt-4.5-base
linux-header-2.6.29.1-tinycore
libQt3Support.so.4
XLibs_support
gcc
   gcc_libs
SDL
   libmad
SDL-dev
python-dev
   python
      sqlite3
      openssl-0.9.8h (already installed)
      tcl_tk
coreutils


- Downloaded VirtualBox-3.1.4-57640-Linux_x86.run
- chmod 777 VirtualBox-3.1.4-57640-Linux_x86.run
- sudo ./VirtualBox-3.1.4-57640-Linux_x86.run

- created a snapshot just in case...

got this error when installing :
gcc: error trying to exec "as": execvp: No such file or directory

installed binutils

-in order to recompile VirtualBox kernel module :
  /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup   
Compilation ok this time.

- get the usual message :
(Cannot change vboxusers for device /dev/vboxdrv)

sudo addgroup vboxusers

got a super-long-error saying that libGL.so.1 cannot be found.

- installed :
bzip2
glew
libglade
   expat2
   glib2
   graphics-libs-1
   libxml2
   fontconfig
   ttf-bitstream
   gtk2
   atk
   cairo
   pango
   pixman
libglade-dev
freeglut
   Xorg-7.4


- Finally :
$ VirtualBox
and it's seems to be working !!!

I created a Test VM and launched an ArchLinux iso and it looked fine !

Thanks a lot !

Just one things is bugging me, I still have this error :
ps: invalid option --'U'
   BusyBox v.1.14.3 (2009-11-14 10:19:18 PST) multi-call binary

Usage: ps

Report process status

Options:
      -o col1,…

Xlib: extension "GenericEvent Extension" missing on disly ":0.0".


Probably nothing, but is there a way to use the "original" ps instead of busybox' ?

Also would it be possible, or is it too complicated, to create an extension or a kind of script which would install VirtualBox automatically by downloading all the dependencies ? Or at least a virtualbox-dependencies package ? Because it's a pain to load everything manually... (it took me half of the day).

Take care

dondamiano

Offline Kingdomcome

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
« Reply #16 on: February 27, 2010, 03:41:24 PM »
I was under the assumption that we would need to wait for 2.9 to become final for some dev files to be updated.  The fact that you have a running VM is quite excellent news.   I already have a build script ready to build an extension, although Im not sure if I am going to have time to properly create an extension for the repo until the end of next week.

Offline dondamiano

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
« Reply #17 on: February 27, 2010, 03:59:24 PM »
Just for the curious !
Note to self : running Vbox into a virtualized Vbox environnement is not the best idea...
It took about half an hour to load DSL Live CD !!! But loaded it is.

Excellent news about the extension.

Keep on the good work.

dondamiano

Offline Kingdomcome

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
« Reply #18 on: February 27, 2010, 06:49:02 PM »
Just one things is bugging me, I still have this error :
ps: invalid option --'U'
   BusyBox v.1.14.3 (2009-11-14 10:19:18 PST) multi-call binary
Usage: ps
Report process status
Options:
      -o col1,…
Xlib: extension "GenericEvent Extension" missing on disly ":0.0".
Probably nothing, but is there a way to use the "original" ps instead of busybox' ?

Install procps.tcz and see if that error disappears.  If it remains, you may have to remove the symlink /bin/ps and recreate a symlink pointing to /usr/local/bin/ps.

One thing I didnt see in your process was a mention of qt-opengl.  That is a dependency of the OSE version that is not currently in the TC repo.  Do you recall seeing any mention of qt-opengl during your building?

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10814
Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
« Reply #19 on: February 27, 2010, 07:25:05 PM »
I was under the assumption that we would need to wait for 2.9 to become final for some dev files to be updated.

Depending on what you're trying to do, it's true - some dev files will need to be updated once 2.9 is final.

Offline Onyarian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 336
Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
« Reply #20 on: February 28, 2010, 11:41:36 AM »
It seems that, finally, the extension is coming soon.

Good news!!  :D :D


Offline dondamiano

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
« Reply #21 on: February 28, 2010, 02:17:42 PM »
Kingdomcome,
I reinstalled today to make the install persistant with boot parameters :
tce= hda1 opt=hda1 home=hda1. It works fine for the extensions.

But it turns out it'll need some scripting for VirtualBox... According to the VBox user manual, the .run script :
• It builds the VirtualBox kernel module (vboxdrv) and installs it.
• It creates /etc/init.d/vboxdrv, an init script to start the VirtualBox kernel module.
• It creates a new system group called vboxusers.
• It creates symbolic links to VirtualBox, VBoxSDL, VBoxVRDP, VBoxHeadless and VBoxManage in /usr/bin.
• It creates /etc/udev/60-vboxdrv.rules, a description file for udev, if that is present, which makes the module accessible to anyone in the group vboxusers.
• It writes the installation directory to /etc/vbox/vbox.cfg.

Apart from the /opt/VirtualBox folder, nothing remains after a reboot. Do you think this is something that can be "fixed" in a way or another ?

The OpenGL extension you refer to was freeglut. I installed it and it worked, but it turns out Xorg (which is dependent of it) was the one who really fixed my problem.

While I was reinstalling, I tried to use only the necessary extensions from my previous post.
The ones necessary (at least for me) to have a working environment for VirtualBox are the following (indented are dependencies) :

make
Qt-4.5-base
  glib2
  openssl.0.9.8.h
  qt-4.5-base
linux-header-2.6.29.1-tinycore
binutils
gcc
   gcc_libs
python-dev
   python
      sqlite3
      openssl-0.9.8h (already installed)
      tcl_tk
XVesa
Xorg-7.4   
   expat2
   fontconfig
   openssl-0.9.8m
   pixman
SDL
   libmad

Hope this answers you question and will help in the extension development.

PS : I already did the trick for ps after installing procps, I was wondering if they could replace BusyBox' binaries or symlink automatically. Anyway, this doesn't prevent VBox from running, so the priority is low on this one.

Take care !

dondamiano

Offline Kingdomcome

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
« Reply #22 on: March 05, 2010, 12:36:54 PM »
Well folks, I have great news.  VBox OSe runs quite well on TC 2.9.  I still have some tweaking and testing to do, but I expect to have the extensions submitted to the repo this weekend.  I was unable to get the latest versions working (3.1.x), but 3.0.12 compiled and ran just as it should.  The problem with 3.1.x has to do with the kernel modules and may require a kernel update before it will work (although I have not researched this.) I believe kernel incompatibility is keeping the guest additions from working as well, but I will report in that thread as well.  For now, I will leave this screencap of TC running inside TC.

 

Offline baz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 216
Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
« Reply #23 on: March 05, 2010, 12:42:02 PM »
HIP! HIP! ...

Offline Onyarian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 336
Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
« Reply #24 on: March 05, 2010, 01:41:38 PM »
... HURRA!  :D :D

Offline Kingdomcome

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
« Reply #25 on: March 07, 2010, 11:55:34 AM »
Posted!

Offline Onyarian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 336
Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
« Reply #26 on: March 09, 2010, 11:48:49 AM »
Thanks!

goes like a charm!


Offline Kingdomcome

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
« Reply #27 on: March 09, 2010, 04:27:02 PM »
Great news.  Thanks for the feedback.


Kingdomcome

Offline PhantomTramp

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
« Reply #28 on: March 10, 2010, 06:29:26 AM »
Kingdomcome,

When you install the additions, can you use seamless mode? For some reason that option is greyed out for me. I'm not complaining, these extensions rock as far as I'm concerned.

I'm trying to get Firefox to run seamless in a Tiny Core guest with Windows XP as the host. Hopefully the drive-by malware downloads won't happen with this setup.

You might see where I'm going w/ this...

The Tramp

Offline Kingdomcome

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
« Reply #29 on: March 10, 2010, 06:48:12 AM »
PhantomTramp,

   I submitted an updated additions modules extensions yesterday that hopefully has a fix for this.  The problem is with the permission of the vbox devices. Please trying upgrading to the latest version of the modules extension and if that doesnt work you can use the the commands listed here.