WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Make X11 output to framebuffer display.  (Read 5946 times)

Offline ferite

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Make X11 output to framebuffer display.
« on: August 30, 2014, 11:07:08 AM »
Hi. I'm trying to making Work a tiny (2.8") USB display with TinyCore. Up to now, I have been able to build the driver and load that as kernel module. Now I need to set this display as the "main display". The display vendor gives a X11 config file (named "10-disp.conf") example that looks like that:

Code: [Select]
Section "Device"
         Identifier     "RPUSBDispFB"
         Driver         "fbdev"
         Option         "fbdev"   "/dev/fb1"
EndSection


Section "Screen"
    Identifier "RPUSBDisp"
    Device "RPUSBDispFB"
    DefaultFbBpp 16
    SubSection "Display"
       Visual "TrueColor"
    EndSubSection
EndSection


Section "InputClass"
    Identifier "RPUSBTouch"
    MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
    Driver "evdev"
EndSection

The manual says that this file should be placed on  X11's config folder and then X11 should be restarted. I have some questions:

1. What would be the equivalent of /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d in TinyCore?.
2. Should I rename the file?
3. What would be the equivalent to commnad "service lightdm restart" in tinycore?.

Thanks

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1702
Re: Make X11 output to framebuffer display.
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2014, 08:03:25 PM »
@ 1
/usr/local/share/X11/xorg.conf.d

And add that folder to your 'backup'.
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10957
Re: Make X11 output to framebuffer display.
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2014, 01:20:11 AM »
There is no display manager. Kill the current X server (with killall, or ctrl-alt-backspace, or the exit applet) and run startx.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline ferite

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Make X11 output to framebuffer display.
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2014, 08:51:34 AM »
Hi:

I renamed de file as "xorg.conf.d" and placed it in /usr/local/share/X11/. Then I added the folder to the backup file. However when I restart the system, the X output still being directed to the video card, and there is not image on the display. What can I be doing wrong?.

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1702
Re: Make X11 output to framebuffer display.
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2014, 12:51:32 PM »
"xorg.conf.d"  is the folder, not the file.

/usr/local/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-disp.conf

« Last Edit: September 01, 2014, 12:53:05 PM by Misalf »
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline ferite

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Make X11 output to framebuffer display.
« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2014, 02:44:54 PM »
Hi:

I created both directories:

/usr/local/share/X11/xorg.conf.d

/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d

Pasted on them the 10-disp.conf config file. Double checked that the display is being recognized as "/dev/fb1" as it is defined in the file.

Added both to backup. However the result is the same.

By the way. On my persistence file I have included the file /etc/sysconfig/Xserver whose only content is Xvesa. I don't now if it is related.

Thanks.

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1702
Re: Make X11 output to framebuffer display.
« Reply #6 on: September 01, 2014, 03:07:19 PM »
Quote
By the way. On my persistence file I have included the file /etc/sysconfig/Xserver whose only content is Xvesa. I don't now if it is related.
You don't need to do that. In fact, you should not.
When the Xvesa, Xorg or Xfbdev extension gets loaded, its start script writes the respective value into that file. Your backup will override this feature.
« Last Edit: September 01, 2014, 03:11:47 PM by Misalf »
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline ferite

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Make X11 output to framebuffer display.
« Reply #7 on: September 01, 2014, 04:17:32 PM »
According to your sugestion, I removed "Xvesa" from the backup. It keeps loading the X system like before.

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11178
Re: Make X11 output to framebuffer display.
« Reply #8 on: September 01, 2014, 04:54:22 PM »
Hi ferite
Have you checked  /var/log/Xorg.0.log  for errors or warnings?

Offline ferite

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Make X11 output to framebuffer display.
« Reply #9 on: September 01, 2014, 05:31:48 PM »
Hi Rich.

There is not Xorg.0.log inside /var/log/.

thanks

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11178
Re: Make X11 output to framebuffer display.
« Reply #10 on: September 01, 2014, 06:15:32 PM »
Hi ferite
I think you need to be running Xorg for this to work. Did you install the Xorg extension?

Offline ferite

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Make X11 output to framebuffer display.
« Reply #11 on: September 01, 2014, 06:32:39 PM »
Hi Rich:

That would be Xorg-7.7-bin.tcz?. How can I check if a package is installed allready?.

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: Make X11 output to framebuffer display.
« Reply #12 on: September 01, 2014, 06:43:40 PM »
Look in /usr/local/tce.installed.

Offline ferite

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Make X11 output to framebuffer display.
« Reply #13 on: September 01, 2014, 07:24:00 PM »
Hi Rich.

You were right. After installing Xorg (According to /usr/local/tce.installed, I ended installing Xorg-7.7, Xorg-7.7-bin, Xorg-fonts, xorg-server, Xprogs besides of Xvesa, wich I think was there before), the standard display did not start normally, but showed a message:

"failed in waitforX"

and the $ prompt. There I typed startx, and the desktop started on the miniDisplay!.

Offline ferite

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Make X11 output to framebuffer display.
« Reply #14 on: September 02, 2014, 04:17:55 PM »
Hi:

After having configured the display with my system, I noted that the image seems to lack one of the chrome components, as the image color is altered as follows:

Normal image:



Imagen on the display:



I am wondering if there is some place where I can tuning the RGB components of the output.

Thanks.