WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: [wheezy] pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work  (Read 4977 times)

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: [wheezy] pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work
« Reply #15 on: August 17, 2014, 12:19:20 PM »
Thanks.

"udevadm trigger" added to pulseaudio.deb2sce.


Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: [wheezy] pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work
« Reply #16 on: August 18, 2014, 09:59:52 AM »
I am also having the startup script of pulseaudio add the current user to the "pulse" and "pulse-access" groups.

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: [wheezy] pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work
« Reply #17 on: August 22, 2014, 01:37:13 AM »
I am also having the startup script of pulseaudio add the current user to the "pulse" and "pulse-access" groups.
I think that was already done (the groups thing).
After re-importing I get
Code: [Select]
jls@eeepc:~$ pulseaudio
pulseaudio: relocation error: /usr/lib/libpulsecore-2.0.so: symbol pa_format_info_free2, version PULSE_0 not defined in file libpulse.so.0 with link time reference
jls@eeepc:~$
dCore user

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: [wheezy] pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work
« Reply #18 on: August 22, 2014, 06:43:06 PM »
I don't see that error on a fresh import of pulseaudio.

Below is an old but maybe useful observation on a simliar issue:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/pulseaudio/+bug/474714

I do have a large desktop installed after a fresh pulseaudio, I will try again with a minimal one and report back if I see anything.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2014, 06:45:27 PM by Jason W »

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: [wheezy] pulseaudio doesn't work
« Reply #19 on: August 24, 2014, 03:47:48 PM »
after the nth re-import I'm again at the point where pulseaudio doesn't find any card :-[
dCore user

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: [wheezy] pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work
« Reply #20 on: August 26, 2014, 05:29:42 PM »
I will try and familiarize myself with pulseaudio and dig deeper.  But what I find helps the most is to have a Wheezy install and test Wheezy versus dCore as that helps to isolate issues.  If you have a Wheezy install or can install it, that would be of much use in troubleshooting. 

Thanks.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: [wheezy] pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work
« Reply #21 on: August 27, 2014, 10:19:37 AM »
On both a Wheezy install and a freshly imported pulseaudio on dCore, pulseaudio starts without errors on my machine.

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: [wheezy] pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work
« Reply #22 on: August 31, 2014, 05:15:07 AM »
also in my installation but pulseaudio doesn't see any card
dCore user

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: [wheezy] pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work
« Reply #23 on: September 05, 2014, 07:57:26 AM »
with the latest dCore cut pulseaudio works!  ;)
dCore user