WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: [wheezy] pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work  (Read 4975 times)

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
« Last Edit: August 16, 2014, 03:57:46 AM by jls_legalize »
dCore user

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2014, 07:59:15 AM »
The latest skype does not work with pulseaudio?  I don't use skype so I can't test, more information on what is not working would be helpful.  Thanks.

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2014, 04:23:58 PM »
pulseaudio makes the sound card silent
dCore user

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2014, 06:20:05 PM »
Try this command to launch skype:

PULSE_LATENCY_MSEC=30 skype



Also maybe try:

Code: [Select]
From http://pc-freak.net : In file/etc/pulse/default.pa substitute the line :

load-module module-udev-detect

with

load-module module-udev-detect tsched=0

Then restart Pulseaudio server.


Taken from the Debian Skype page.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2014, 06:23:51 PM by Jason W »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10928
Re: pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2014, 08:12:38 PM »
You could also try killing the pulseaudio daemon and re-starting it in debug mode to look for error messages:
Code: [Select]
$ pulseaudio -k
$ pulseaudio -vv

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2014, 08:00:31 AM »
after starting console-kit-daemon as root, pulseaudio starts, but oNLy with dummy output.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2014, 08:58:43 AM by jls_legalize »
dCore user

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: [wheezy] pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work
« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2014, 03:58:56 AM »
I've attached the pulseaudio.log
dCore user

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: [wheezy] pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work
« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2014, 04:41:49 AM »
Does this issue occur when running a Debian install of wheezy?  Testing on a wheezy install would help in knowing if it is a Debian issue or a dCore issue.

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: [wheezy] pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work
« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2014, 12:58:28 PM »
On the same machine (eepc 901) I've also elive installed, where pulse works, I attach also the pulse log of elive.
But few days ago I managed to get pulse working on dCore but I couldn't reproduce the success, maybe some libs are missing?

PS. pulse makes sound working also on terminology
dCore user

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: [wheezy] pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work
« Reply #9 on: August 16, 2014, 01:35:33 PM »
Ok, I will look into it.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: [wheezy] pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work
« Reply #10 on: August 16, 2014, 05:27:29 PM »
I can load pulseaudio and start it with no errors after starting console-kit-daemon.

Alsamixer shows up one channel of pulseaudio, and speaker-test seems to give normal terminal output, just no sound.  Pavucontrol also gives normal readings.  I will dig deeper.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: [wheezy] pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work
« Reply #11 on: August 16, 2014, 05:41:41 PM »
I booted into my Ubuntu Trusty hard drive install, and could not even get pulseaudio to start (apt-get install pulseaudio; pulseaudio --start).  It complained of missing config files, I even followed their wiki and no luck.  That tells me that on Debian/Ubuntu it is not easy to get pulseaudio running.  I will try some more in the near future as time permits.

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: [wheezy] pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work
« Reply #12 on: August 17, 2014, 02:39:22 AM »
isn't pulseaudio enabled by default in ubuntu?
dCore user

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: [wheezy] pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work
« Reply #13 on: August 17, 2014, 03:04:30 AM »
the solution is of course thanks to arslanserc  ;)
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,11632.msg61791.html#msg61791
Code: [Select]
sudo udevadm trigger
dCore user

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: [wheezy] pulseaudio is needed by the latest skype, but it doesn't work
« Reply #14 on: August 17, 2014, 03:10:04 AM »
this is because pulse audio package has got files in
Code: [Select]
lib/udev/rules.ddirectory.
this situation could be automatically checked and solved by the importsce script adding on top the sce.installed file the
Code: [Select]
udevadm trigger
line
dCore user