WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: setting up the MK802 II  (Read 4443 times)

Offline fangis

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 37
setting up the MK802 II
« on: May 23, 2014, 04:13:39 PM »
So I have bought a MK802II, and prepared a sdcard using the mksdcard.sh script. The installation went OK without any problems.

However:
I learned in another forum that some of the latest MK802ii devices were built using a different driver for Wifi - while it seems tinycore for mk802ii uses the module 8192cu for wireless, this one
seems to have a rtl8188eu module. (And yes, that`s the original model from Rikomagic ))

When reading about how to install wifi, it seems an easy task for 8192cu , but now that I will have to do it for another driver, i wonder if it will be as easy?

Would anyone know how to make wireless work for these latest MK802ii models?
I appreciate any help; actually I think i will be clueless on how to solve this problem.

Thank you!

Offline fangis

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: setting up the MK802 II
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2014, 04:54:34 PM »
update: i created a sd card with debian where 8188eu can be loaded and wifi works.
I tried to use this kernel instead of the uImage provided by tinycore. But it did not work.
maybe i can use 8188eu from my debian install, but I don`t know how :(

Offline fangis

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: setting up the MK802 II
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2014, 06:46:25 AM »
I dont know if anyone cares, but i decided to post my progress. Maybe this will be useful for someone in the future. Or not.

So now I have a fully functional system :) here is how I did:

I replaced the kernel with a more updated one. I used the kernel from Patwood, 3.4.67 I believe.

Then on boot I insmod module squashfs.ko or else tinycore extensions will not load correctly.

My usb ethernet dongle from china works: just find and insmod modules qf9700 and usbnet.

Usb tethering from an android phone works - insmod modules rndis_host, cdc_ether and usbnet

Wifi has worked! with module 8188eu.

X loads with some errors when unpacking xorg-fbdev, but also works. I am happy because the mini pc seems to get less warm using this system than when I used my debian image, so thank you to the developers. The heating problem is controlled by installing cpufrequtils and underclocking the CPU - I wanted to undervolt too, but I would need to rewrite a kernel it seems, so I am not going to try this so soon.

So, again a big thanks to everyone who has developed this, and have a nice day,

fangis

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9170
Re: setting up the MK802 II
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2014, 09:28:35 AM »
Hi fangis.  I only have an Allwinner A10 so I am not familiar with the MK802II. 

Offline fangis

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: setting up the MK802 II
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2014, 04:26:50 PM »
Thanks for the reply.

Well the mk802 is also an allwinner a10 !
Anyway, it was sort of fun to figure it all, now I feel I understand a lot more about how these things work.
I would like to suggest: maybe next tinycore a10 version could have a more recent kernel?

all the best
fangis

Offline beerstein

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 503
Re: setting up the MK802 II
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2014, 02:25:55 AM »
thank you for your post. I have a Cubieboard 1, which is A10 also. I am planning to set up Tiny Core or Core for this board.
Is there a repo where we can install extensions after successful boot?
Do you have a GUI, DE or WM installed on your setup?

Thanx
t(w)o be(ers) or not t(w)o be(ers) that is the question

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9170
Re: setting up the MK802 II
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2014, 03:15:59 AM »
If it is an A10, then the standard armhf repo should work.

Offline fangis

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: setting up the MK802 II
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2014, 07:49:49 AM »
Hello beerstein

have you read some readmes on repo.tinycorelinux.net/5.x/armv7 allwinner a10 directory? They explain there how to set up a graphical environment and other useful stuff

cheers
fangis

Offline beerstein

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 503
Re: setting up the MK802 II
« Reply #8 on: October 05, 2014, 12:03:31 AM »
yes I did - I also found other excellent material on the web on how to install a Window Manager and a Desktop Enviroment (WM and DE) CB1 has no WIFI and no bluetooth (BT). Will try to get it running and will post here.
t(w)o be(ers) or not t(w)o be(ers) that is the question

Offline fangis

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: setting up the MK802 II
« Reply #9 on: October 05, 2014, 05:33:00 AM »
Great! I will be interested on your progress as my current X setup seems a bit buggy.
Now my next challenge is finding out how to make a sleep or hibernation mode work. Installed pm-utils, and then I run pm-suspend which works... except that the mini pc never wakes up after that ;) If anyone was successful with a working sleep mode for a10 please let me know...

Offline fangis

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: setting up the MK802 II
« Reply #10 on: October 05, 2014, 05:38:51 AM »
by the way: I think i have created this thread in the wrong place - it should have been on allwinner a10 section, if any admin would like he can put it there. thanks

Offline beerstein

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 503
Re: setting up the MK802 II
« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2014, 02:59:55 PM »
Hi fangis:
Today I tried to create an A10 dCore using the $ sudo ./mkSDcard sdc command.  The README file says: sdd but should this be rather /dev/sdc  or so?
The script worked ok at the beginning  and let me select my cubieboard1 A10. But at the end I got the following error:
Formatting /dev/
mkfs.vfat 3.0.3 (18 May 2009)
mkfs.vfat: /dev/sdc1 contains a mounted file system.
/dev/sdc:
hdparm: BLKRRPART: Device or resource busy
mount: applet not found
Mount failed! - Abort
tc@box:~/cb2$
Do I need to mount or unmount the sd card?
Before starting,  my CorePlus had trouble to recognize the sd card in the adaptor.

How did you create the microSD?
t(w)o be(ers) or not t(w)o be(ers) that is the question

Offline fangis

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: setting up the MK802 II
« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2014, 04:16:12 PM »
Hello beerstein

I am no expert, anyway if i remember correctly -

before any of these copies do a fdisk -l
this command will show which drive is actually the one you want to make the sdcard, or else
you may end up copying over something else and losing data everywhere.
I believe it was mksdcard sdx where x is corresponding drive letter, i dont remember if i had to use full path /dev/sdx
Anyway it seems you used a mounted file system and this is why got errors, I think it has to be unmounted for it to succeed, do
sudo umount /dev/sdx or sdx1 or whatever is mounted at the moment - to see what is mounted type mount

take care
fangis

p.s a bit off topic - I managed to boot linux on my a13 tablet! I am happy. Although not TC...

Offline beerstein

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 503
Re: setting up the MK802 II
« Reply #13 on: October 14, 2014, 08:39:12 AM »
Hi angis:
I was able to produce a bootable uSD card for the CB1. Half using the script, half using the commands from the script within the terminal cli. It booted and had a network connection. But when I tried to set the tce-setdrive the system offered me nanda, nandd, nandc,nande and nandi partitions to put tce on. Wow! I expected a mmblk0px on the sd card. These nand partitions are on the internal NAND memory of Cubiboard1.  So I selected nandi and that was a booboo.
I was able to install the X debian/sce extensions but could not start the flwm windows manger. I also was not able to start the installed mc (midnight commander.
I think the CB1 could not find the extensions. Now my CB1 also does not boot to Android on NAND any more nor from sd cards. It is a brick. I will try to revive it with a Phoenixsuit NAND install
Have you been able to install a WM on your dCore A10 CB1 ?
best regards
t(w)o be(ers) or not t(w)o be(ers) that is the question

Offline fangis

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: setting up the MK802 II
« Reply #14 on: October 15, 2014, 06:43:46 AM »
hi there

Mine is mk802 not cb, but I believe its the same since its a10.
I did not install to nand since i was afraid to brick android image which is installed there. so i did not have this kind of problem.
anyway i think before reinstall you could try to set command line parameter tce=nandx (or where you instaled extensions) in file uEnv.txt and then it can probably detect your extensions installed

hope this helps
for X i installed Xprogs flwm_topside wbar xorg-fbdev and fluxbox. I am not sure this is the most optimal but that worked for me

good luck